? Lantus users and Pancreatitis

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlexsisV

Member Since 2017
Anyone out here with a cat who is using Lantus and has Acute Pancreatitis?

Chai's details are below. I appreciate any and all feedback and suggestions.

My cat is Chai, who just turned 13, is a seal point Siamese, diabetic (diagnosed 2/2017) and has acute Pancreatitis (diagnosed 5/2017). He is purely indoor and our only pet. He is currently about 16-17 pounds, which is about right as he's a big cat. His father was large as well. He takes Lantus for Diabetes. He takes Cerenia and Buprenorphine when Pancreatitis is in town. We home monitor with Alphatrak2 before every shot and sometimes several times. Last curve was done 7/20/17 when we changed to dosing of 2.5 units x every 12 hours.

My spread sheet is located here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1PDQxV1TYs4eBTBZ8JPLZRvySkXolwgbXMChAS84vEtI

Chai's labs are here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-v3UIvB1jWmWDVjUUlPTThhWGs

Thank you!!
 
Many of the kitties here have had bouts of pancreatitis. In fact, it's sufficiently common that one of the members, Marje/Gracie put together a Primer on Pancreatitis.

Looking at Chai's spreadsheet, I'm not sure what you're basing your dosing strategy on. You may want to take a look at the two sticky notes at the top of the board that discuss dosing: the Tight Regulation Protocol and the Start Low Go Slow method. Regardless of which method you opt for, Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle and not on the pre-shot number. Unless a dose reduction is warranted, doses are held for 3 days (or 5 days if nadirs are consistently below 200). The reason that doses are held is that Lantus is a depot-type of insulin. Lantus is acidic and when injected, it forms microcrystals that deposit is the fat tissue. These crystals slowly dissolve giving Lantus it's gentle nature and long duration. Frequent changes in dose, destabilize the depot and can result in wonky numbers.

Reading over the sticky notes, while providing you with an overwhelming amount of information, will also give you a grounding in the use of Lantus. Please let us know if you have questions.

 
Which protocol are you following? Was Chai treated with steroids for the pancreatitis?

What specifically are your questions? It is a challenge dealing with both, but not impossible. I gave been at it since 10/16 and Gizmo had ckd as well.
 
My Max was diagnosed the end of 2013 he had chronic pancreatitis for 4 or 5 years prior to diagnosis. He may have had a couple acute episodes prior to diagnosis. I think that led to his becoming diabetic. I treated him for symptoms which were mostly inappetenceand possible pain at times. He was on lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top