tortie58 said:This morning the 2 hr before shot is. 86.4 Should I shoot her? I am giving her food now
tortie58 said:This morning the 2 hr before shot is. 86.4 Should I shoot her? I am giving her food now
MelanieAndRacci said:Catann,
That's wonderful news!
Tortie, are you there? Please do as Catann said and test tonight if you gave that shot. I hope you didn;t. Rosie could go too low anywhere from 3 to 7 or 8 hours from now. Did you copy the hypo info?
Melanie & Racci
MelanieAndRacci said:You will get help in the tight regulation section of the Lantus group if you need help and no one is here. At this point, anyone experienced can help you because it will not be a dosing question. Rosey may go too low though (under 50) If you see her heading that way, let us know.
I will be around for a while yet but I will be going to take care of Racci now. She gets her shot in less than an hour so I have to go get her stuff ready for testing and all her meds & dinner. I'll be back afterwards though. I'll be awake for a few hours yet and around for a while once I'm done with Racci.
Melanie & Racci
tortie58 said:Thanks for all the replies.
I am using the Lantus Pen since Dec with gradual increment of dosage over the mths. My current dosage is BID 3 units (should be 0.3ml if taken in syringe ? I am not sure because it's a 3 units from the fixed measurement fron Pen)
squeem3 said:tortie58 said:Thanks for all the replies.
I am using the Lantus Pen since Dec with gradual increment of dosage over the mths. My current dosage is BID 3 units (should be 0.3ml if taken in syringe ? I am not sure because it's a 3 units from the fixed measurement fron Pen)
If you use an insulin syringe with the pen, which everyone here does, you measure 0.03 ml not 0.3 ml (which would be 30 units).
Can you buy 3/10 cc (aka 30 unit) insulin syringes in HK? The markings on the side of the insulin syringe look like this:
![]()
It's preferable to use the half unit marked insulin syringes (scale on left side of picture) but you can certainly use the whole unit marked ones if that is all you can get.
MommaOfMuse said:3 units is 3 units it doesn't matter if it is from the syringes or from the pen, it is still 3 units. When speaking of a medical dose measurement, a unit is a form of measure. It is no different that measuring an inch on a tape measure or a yard stick...and inch is still an inch, thus a unit is still a unit...Hopefully that makes sense, not enough coffee yet this morning.![]()
Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
MommaOfMuse said:3 units is 3 units it doesn't matter if it is from the syringes or from the pen, it is still 3 units. When speaking of a medical dose measurement, a unit is a form of measure. It is no different that measuring an inch on a tape measure or a yard stick...and inch is still an inch, thus a unit is still a unit...Hopefully that makes sense, not enough coffee yet this morning.![]()
Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
Julia & Bandit said:On a U-100 syringe with half unit markings (like the one on the left with the picture), The "5" is 5 units, so 3u would be the 3rd little line on the right side. However, with this low number and the diet change you'll probably need to reduce the dose--possibly down to 1u or 1.5u.
cat(2)_steamMelanieAndRacci said:Hi Tortie,
Rosey's numbers look good. She may have gone very low at the +6 time though. You want to be careful about that. How does she feel today?
Melanie & Racci
MelanieAndRacci said:Hi Tortie,
She's starting to get some nice consistent lower numbers now. 3 units is a large dose. You might want to try lowering her nighttime dose to 2.5u to play it safe. She will probably have crazy numbers again for a few days but don't worry and don't change it for 3 days. Her shelf has to adjust before you can decide if it's a good dose or not.
Racci gave me a good scare with a hypo just a little bit ago. I have to test again. ttyl
Melanie
Catannc said:You might want to read up on something called Somogyi Effect, it might explain your 525...can anyone with a little experience weigh in on this? I would CALL YOUR VET and give him your recent test data and see if he wants to adjust the dosage. In any case I would NOT recommend you increase insulin dosage because of this 525, if anything you might want to try a lower dose for a few days as others are recommending.
"Somogyi Effect (Rebound)
When a diabetic experiences hypoglycemia, the body tries to compensate. While it generally doesn't have to, the liver is capable of producing glucose. The "signal" is glucagon, produced in the body in response to low blood sugar. Some vets treat hypoglycemia by injecting glucagon, which will keep the liver producing glucose for quite a while. The length of time it keeps putting out glucose is probably tied to the severity and/or duration of the hypoglycemia (or the size of the glucagon injection), but it can last 72 hours. The liver will generally kick in when BG levels get below 60, but in some it may happen at a higher level.
True Somogyi effect is quite rare in cats. Since they are obligate carnivores, their liver enzymes and glucose production ares different than that of humans and dogs.
Any hypoglycemic episode, whether or not you observed it, may be followed by some degree of rebound for some unknown length of time. It will show up as BG spikes happening before the insulin tails off, if you're doing blood tests. If you're using dipsticks, you'll see a high reading at a time when you're not even supposed to see traces. The spikes are almost as bad for the cat's long term health as sustained high BG levels, so they should be stopped. Besides the other things damaged by high blood glucose, the poor old liver gets extra stress, and the long-suffering kidneys are thrown into overdrive again.
Unfortunately, the instinct is to increase insulin when we see high BG levels. If they are caused by rebound, the answer is to decrease insulin.
So how do you know whether to give more insulin or less? First you decide whether or not there is any possibility that hypoglycemia is occurring -- if the cat is unregulated and never has a BG reading below 200, you're probably not seeing rebound.
If hypoglycemia is an unconfirmed possibility, simply decrease the insulin by 20% for three days and see if the spikes disappear. Since food causes blood glucose to rise, it's impossible to differentiate a Somogyi spike from a post-peak food spike -- another argument in favor of restricted feeding."
Catannc said:I linked this post to the lantus sub-board, hopefully someone will be along shortly if you can stay online and wait a few minutes?
Yes, sub-q fluids can indeed bring down BGs as they dilute the blood.tortie58 said:I gave her Sub-q at +9 and tested her at +11 which got a lower reading than +6 where her nadir was. Can it be the water input which brought down her bg?
That is an excellent idea - not only a +6, other spot checks will paint a better picture. Also, do not feed after +10 as it may artificially inflate the PS number.tortie58 said:I am thinking about staying up one night doing a test on the PM+6 reading
Yes, sub-q fluids can indeed bring down BGs as they dilute the blood.]Hi there Tortie ~O) I saw Catanncs request in Lantus Land (the Lantus ISG) for eyes over here. . . [quote="tortie58 said:I gave her Sub-q at +9 and tested her at +11 which got a lower reading than +6 where her nadir was. Can it be the water input which brought down her bg?
That is an excellent idea - not only a +6, other spot checks will paint a better picture. Also, do not feed after +10 as it may artificially inflate the PS number.tortie58 said:I am thinking about staying up one night doing a test on the PM+6 reading
So, did you shoot 3u 2 hours ago?tortie58 said:My time is now +2 after the PM shot
tortie58 said:Yes, sub-q fluids can indeed bring down BGs as they dilute the blood.]Hi there Tortie ~O) I saw Catanncs request in Lantus Land (the Lantus ISG) for eyes over here. . . [quote="tortie58 said:I gave her Sub-q at +9 and tested her at +11 which got a lower reading than +6 where her nadir was. Can it be the water input which brought down her bg?
3u is a substantial dose. it may be too high. What was your kittys BG at diagnosis?
Why the sub-q's? are there other health issues?That is an excellent idea - not only a +6, other spot checks will paint a better picture. Also, do not feed after +10 as it may artificially inflate the PS number.tortie58 said:I am thinking about staying up one night doing a test on the PM+6 reading
Please do not shoot blind (no test). Although Lantus dosing is based primarily on nadir, it is important to get a PS before shooting.
Is your kitty eating exclusively wet low carb?
Without being familiar with your situation, just looking at your ss, I recommend some more tests to see what is going on.
I also strongly recommend you read about the various protocols for Lantus.
Pop over to the Lantus TR forum and take a look at the informational posts at the top of the board - and ask questions.
There is a ton of tribal knowledge there![]()
Sandy and Black Kitty said:So, did you shoot 3u 2 hours ago?tortie58 said:My time is now +2 after the PM shot
What is your geographic location?
Marjorie and Gracie said:I'm also popping over from lantus ISG. Do you have some updated test numbers for us? Usually boiled chicken is very low carb and she may need some higher carb food depending on her numbers.
Could you please test and post?
Most cats "bounce" when they first start out. We use that term to keep it from being confused with a chronic rebound (Somogyi) which has not been documented in cats. It takes some monitoring during the cycle in order for us to see if she is going low and bouncing back up from the liver releasing counterregulatory hormones and glycogen into the blood. If you are home today and able to get tests every couple of hours, it would give us an idea of what she may be doing.
Is that possible?