Lantus Timing

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
In case I don't get home at the usual time for insulin tomorrow, I have a question. One of the vets told me that it is okay to give insulin an hour or two later. She said they used to give it on the weekends at 8 and 3 when they closed at 3. I'm not sure if she was using Lantus. I forgot to ask my regular vet but could call him and leave a message. Since I usually give it at 7-7:15 do I go back to that time the next morning? I ask because I have a vet appointment to check the BG at 2:30 based upon Max getting insulin at the usual time and I don't home test. One option MIGHT be to give .5 of a unit at night and then 1 unit in the morning like my vet had told me to do. I have been aiming for .75 each time but that is hard to measure, especially on the 1 unit markings that I have to use until I get my .5 ones next week. Actually I'm not sure the .5 are any easier. Thanks.
 
With Lantus, you have a half hour window each day to play with, meaning you can give a shot either 15 minutes difference at each shot time OR you can give one shot a half hour difference. Anything earlier/later than that results in a dose increase/decrease. Since you're not testing (at least not yet, right? ;-) ), I wouldn't feel comfortable suggesting anything different than the protocol says to keep Max as safe as possible (like splitting the dose or giving it even earlier or later than a half hour).

What you could do is move the shot time up a half hour tonight and then move it up again tomorrow night by a half hour so you'll be an hour "out of sync." Then, Friday, you can start moving it back down by a half hour and by Saturday you'll be back to your regular time.
 
No, it would also change. For example, let's say you give shots at 8/8 normally. Tonight, instead you would give it at 8:30. Tomorrow AM, also 8:30. Tomorrow PM would be 9. Friday morning would be 9 am, Friday night 8:30 PM, etc....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top