Lantus Readings

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen1218

Member Since 2017
My boy, Rudy, switched from 5 units of ProZinc to 2 units of Lantus today. His sugar is sky high now.

Preshot reading - 202.
+2.5 - 314.
+4.5 - 424.

What the hell? Is this normal? This can't be normal.
 
Hello and welcome aboard.

Typically we switch from Prozinc to a similar dose of Lantus, but I wouldn't recommend you do that without seeing a spreadsheet first. From today's numbers, he could also be bouncing from whatever numbers he got into last night on Prozinc. Also, Lantus is a depot insulin, it can take a few days before the depot is full and you see the full potential of a dose.

Since you did reduce the dose so much, I strongly recommend regular testing for ketones.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top