Lantus pre shot suddenly low, what to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hi,

I'm sorry I don't have time to read all the info for lower numbers, this happened so fast and I wasn't expecting it! I've reduced my kittys food intake by 1 tablespoon of dry the last few days so expected numbers to be a bit better since the calories are now around her "ideal weight", she is mostly on wet food. I'm supposed to give my shot to Chyna right now, but when I tested her PMPS is at 113. This is the lowest we've been ever, today at AM +6 was 164 so I'm panicking a bit. I'm not sure if I should give the shot? Reduce the amount? Feed her her normal 1/4 can supper and then see? My spreadsheet is updated with all my data, please help:)
 
Hi,
After looking at her SS and profile, I would advise "skip the shot" tonight. There just isn't enough data to indicate how low she might go, and 113 is pretty low already.

See if others feel differently. I did not use Lantus on my sugarkitty, Bob. I used PZI. Experienced Lantus users might feel differently.

Carl
 
I will feed her dinner and skip the shot for tonight, thanks. I was getting a pre shot for each one on Caninsulin, but when we switched to Lantus the vet said she wanted a mini curve on Saturdays for the first four weeks and that during the week I could skip them (until she is lower). Which I don't really like, so I've been testing some anyways. I'll go back to pre shots now. The vet does want me to keep her on some dry food as well, even though I asked about all wet food and I've been doing research...I may yet wean her off. So I've been doing 3/4 can wet and 2 tablespoons dry Purina DM over 24 hours (until yesterday it was 3 tablespoons total) for now. She is getting:

Evo cat and kitten chicken/turkey wet food 1/4 can with each injection
Purina DM 1/8 can wet food and 1 tablespoon dry between shots (several people have said it's good to do a mid meal to keep glucose steady?)
 
Sounds like your vet is a little out of date. To keep her safe you really need totest before every shot as you have just discovered the reason tonite! Plus ditch the dry food, it's keeping her high. But make sure you do testing as her blood glucose could drop without it and she may need less insulin.

You might also want to get a +2 or +3 at night to see what she does then.

I free feed to keep the blood glucose steady, but make sure no food two hours before the shot as it can inflate the pre test results.

Wendy
 
I know, I really do like my vet though, she has even called me in the evening or her day off to check in. She wants me to go slow with food decreases and changes which I've been trying. I don't know what to do with kitty unregulated and hungry with high glucose...too much food raises the glucose and now all of a sudden she is much lower.

When I do the mini curve I've been making sure the food is taken away 2 hours before each test but during the week I leave the food out and only come home for lunch break if I have time, so I'm not sure when she has eaten, I have an automatic feeder on order online that should help with that. She had her 1/4 can wet "injection time" PM dinner with no injection. I just did a PM +2 and it's 88 even though she ate, so now I'm freaking out more. Do I just give her normal food amounts overnight? Hopefully I can figure out what to do with the morning pre shot number...
 
Ok, if you don't know what to do with the morning number, go onto this forum and post..http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9 there are a lot of very experienced members there who will advise on dose. Just mark the post with a question mark for a question and put "new member" on it. They may take a little while to respond so if you can test an hour before shot time then it will give them time to respond. I would post if she is under 200.

In fact I would love you to post there instead regularly where the members can really advise you and help get her regulated quickly.. But that's up to you.

She has got some nice numbers going on, you don't want to lose that momentum. Because you are testing it's a lot safer.. Does your vet know that? They might be more inclined to go faster on the food changes if they knew that. Please lose the dry food though.. Her numbers are looking good and dry could prevent or set back permanently any progress.

Feed her normal amounts overnight. Since she didnt get insulin tonite there is no need to panic, if anything she's sustaining these numbers herself and being able to graze on wet food will help that.
 
Thank you Wendy. I haven't had a lot of time to read all the great information, there is so much! I wasn't sure if I could post in "tight regulation" as I seem to be following the relaxed one, and I didn't even notice the icons up there:) I will get up super early so I can check all this before injection time, and leaving for work time. My vet is the one who suggested home testing and showed me how, and she has the link to my spreadsheet on here. I will work on changing the food over to all wet, Chyna certainly has no problem with it. I guess I'm so used to high glucose that the low numbers make me panic a bit, even though they are supposed to be around that range. She's jumping a bit and walking better too which makes me happy :razz:
 
I am not surprised to see the high number this morning, she probably bounced off that low green since she isnt used to low numbers either.

You can definately post on TR, its the most watched board, just maybe put "SLGS" in your signature so they wont keep hassling you about holding the dose too long etc.

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top