Krystina & Nelli
Member Since 2018
Nelli and I have a new vet who did not originally prescribe Lantus, the one and only insulin we’ve had...
Rx came from an ER vet whom she saw days before “new/current” vet entered our lives.
She was prescribed Lantus (vial) Rx: one unit, a month ago (06/21).
Our current vet told me when we initially had our first appointment with him that “he doesn’t usually use Lantus” (which means never has/does?).
A week or so later I, without advise, bumped her up to 1 1/2 units.
He advise me last week (fast forward 10+ days) when I contacted him that her BG was at 499 to increase her dose from two units to three units. This was last Friday July 27th.
She continues to be lethargic, weak and, unable to finish her business in litter box without laying down in it... an effort to walk (stumbling) 8ft without lying down
.
Today is the first successful day I have been able to draw blood on her ear and check her BC with the Alpha track2.
So far today...
1. 6a (pre insulin): BG 273
2. 11:30a: BG 327
3. 2:49p: BG 302
4. 5:16p: BG 399
One more reading left...
I would LARGELY appreciate some input as to...
I have used this Forum throughout this (feeling helpless) experience with Nelli being on insulin.
Unfortunately we have a “new” Vet (who is the best GP vet we’ve had OTHER THAN her Cardio vet ), which I do not feel completely confident that he is properly experienced with Lantus/ feline diabetes.
Nelli’s diabetes should be better controlled by now?
We thank you in advance for you input
.
Krystina and Nelli
Rx came from an ER vet whom she saw days before “new/current” vet entered our lives.
She was prescribed Lantus (vial) Rx: one unit, a month ago (06/21).
Our current vet told me when we initially had our first appointment with him that “he doesn’t usually use Lantus” (which means never has/does?).
A week or so later I, without advise, bumped her up to 1 1/2 units.
He advise me last week (fast forward 10+ days) when I contacted him that her BG was at 499 to increase her dose from two units to three units. This was last Friday July 27th.
She continues to be lethargic, weak and, unable to finish her business in litter box without laying down in it... an effort to walk (stumbling) 8ft without lying down
Today is the first successful day I have been able to draw blood on her ear and check her BC with the Alpha track2.
So far today...
1. 6a (pre insulin): BG 273
2. 11:30a: BG 327
3. 2:49p: BG 302
4. 5:16p: BG 399
One more reading left...
I would LARGELY appreciate some input as to...
I have used this Forum throughout this (feeling helpless) experience with Nelli being on insulin.
Unfortunately we have a “new” Vet (who is the best GP vet we’ve had OTHER THAN her Cardio vet ), which I do not feel completely confident that he is properly experienced with Lantus/ feline diabetes.
Nelli’s diabetes should be better controlled by now?
We thank you in advance for you input
Krystina and Nelli