Lantus No Shoot Number

Emma47

Member Since 2019
Harry is 30 minutes away from his next insulin shot. We just did his blood glucose and it was 137. Should we shoot or not? He’s on 1 unit of Lantus.
 
Thank you:) Should I just wait for it to go higher after his meal or wait till his morning dosage?
 
That’s up to you, I don’t know how it will affect your cat. I’m really just quoting the protocols listed in the yellow stickies. If you want more insight from experienced folk, you’ll have to set up a spreadsheet with blood sugar tests. There’s information about how to do this in the stickies as well. :)
 
Do not shoot at all tonight if under 150. It is advised that no shot be given if under 150.

Here is your thread from earlier today. Without a spreadsheet to look at, we only know that he had a 97 earlier today and previous tests have him staying in the 200 range. A spreadsheet would be incredibly helpful both to you and to the others on the forum.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/low-bg-pls-advise.218178/
 
Alright, thank you guys:) I’m working on getting the spread sheet up and his curve will be done on Monday when I get back from being out of town! Not to worry, my mom will be here this weekend to monitor and she’s been doing it with me all week so she knows what she’s doing!!
 
Hey guys! So another 12 hours later and Harry just read at 165!!! Still a nice number, I’m guessing I should give him his one unit? What should I do at this point?
 
I’m actually thinking of skipping one more time because we won’t be back today till like two hours before his next shot and I don’t quite feel comfortable shooting and having him go too low without us here. I’ll have my mom check his BG when she gets home tonight and depending on that she’ll shoot then! He seems to be doing quite good maintaining right now so that makes me happy and he went a nice BM last night!! His neuropathy in his legs seems to be bothering him the most so I ordered a supplement to start mending that. Huge thanks to everyone who has helped me, I truly couldn’t of done it without y’all.
 
Back
Top