bev5477
Member Since 2011
Hi, I'm new to this board and have a 13 yr. old male (Gus) cat who was diagnosed about 4 weeks ago. After extensive reading and studying about Lantus dosage, I'm afraid that Gus's dose is too low and being increased too slowly. My vet has acknowledged that Gus is his first patient to be on Lantus. He started him off at 1.5U when the protocol calls for 3U to start for a cat of his weight (13lbs). Over the course of the 4 weeks, I've been able to prod this doc to increasing the dose to 3U. Gus has had consistently 'HI' BG levels at each testing. I test him 4x/day. I've taken it upon myself to begin testing for ketones. This wasn't suggested by the vet, but I've learned a lot by researching this site. I am suspiscious that Gus may have ketones present and that this may be the reason for nadirs of >600. I am following a strict high protein diet with Gus and am frustrated by his lack of response. I see that in cases such as this, it is reccommended to hold the dose for 3 days and then to increase by .5U. I'm hesitant to be so over the top assertive with this vet because I don't want to put him 'off' but I wonder if his lack of experience with this insulin is hindering Gus's regulation. I don't call his office often because, again, I don't want to be a pest about this. When the staff answers the phone, they sort of sigh and become quite overly patient when they hear my voice. I guess my questions are : Should I be overly concerned with Gus's resistance to regulation? Just how much input should I seek from my vet on this? Is this common with the relatively new advent of Lantus to the market? Thanks for any help.