I replied on the other thread. YESI hope everyone is well. Pepper has been on his new dose of Lantus for over a month now and his numbers don't seem to be improving. Do you think I should increase his dose?
What do you mean 'hold a dose'?I replied on the other thread. YES
do not hold a dose for longer than a week. What protocol are you following? I assume SLGS because with TR you’d be increasing much faster
i give him his insulin twice a day, every 12 hours.What do you mean 'hold a dose'?
Hold a dose means how long you’ve been on the same dose. You’ve been “holding” the same dose for way too long without seeing results. Do not stay with the same dose longer than a week if it’s not working. Go up to 1.5What do you mean 'hold a dose'?
Hold not to be confused with withholding, which means not giving insulini give him his insulin twice a day, every 12 hours.
Hold a dose means how long you’ve been on the same dose. You’ve been “holding” the same dose for way too long without seeing results. Do not stay with the same dose longer than a week if it’s not working. Go up to 1.5
here please read:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
We adjust the dose by the nadir, lowest point in a cycle. You need to pick a protocol so you can follow its guidelines for dosing. Generally speaking, the ideal nadir range is 60-120 in a human meter. You want your cat to be under 200 most of the time. You want to start seeing blues and green in your ssThank you. I'll start tonight. Do you know what my goal numbers should be?
We adjust the dose by the nadir, lowest point in a cycle. You need to pick a protocol so you can follow its guidelines for dosing. Generally speaking, the ideal nadir range is 60-120 in a human meter. You want your cat to be under 200 most of the time. You want to start seeing blues and green in your ss
Read the link I posted above and decide which protocol works best for youThank you so much for your help.
Read the link I posted above and decide which protocol works best for you
Wow yes, Pepper has been on the same amount for a long time. It's rare for a kitty to stay on the same dose for more than a week. If nadir (lowest point in the cycle, when BG is at its lowest) is consistently above 150 after 7 days, increase by 0.25 units. If using Tight Regulation protocol, you increase after 3 days instead of 7.
Don’t feel terrible. You didn’t know and now you do. This is why we encourage people to pick a protocol because then you have clear guidelines you can follow. And posting and asking as many questions as neededI feel terrible. Thanks for your input.
Like Tiffmaxee said, you test enough you could follow TR if you’re up for a more aggressive protocol. Read up and let us know if you have any questions about either
They're not, promise.Both protocols seem confusing. I have to read them again after I get some sleep. Thanks to all.
Please give me your address so I can send you three dozen roses of appreciation!They're not, promise.Maybe some shut-eye will help. The (very summarized) basis for both is:
SLGS: Reductions under 90, increase after 7 days
TR: Reductions under 50, increase after 3 days
And TR requires at least 4 tests a day - that's both pre-shots and one mid-cycle test every cycle. And no dry food. No issue for you.
Get some rest!
Please give me your address so I can send you three dozen roses of appreciation!


TR is also the one with higher rate of remission if that means anything to yaPlease give me your address so I can send you three dozen roses of appreciation!
Do most people here use TR?TR is also the one with higher rate of remission if that means anything to ya
Probably, if I were to guess? SLGS is ideal for people who can't test often, but TR is an actual published protocol. TR is more aggressive in that it keeps the cat in better numbers and doesn't really give the body a chance to stay too long in higher numbers, which gives their pancreas the ability to stay in "healing numbers" longer, ultimately helping to achieve remission sooner. Nothing wrong with either one, just kinda depends on your lifestyle!Do most people here use TR?
I work 8 hours a day, so it might be impossible for me to implement TR.Please give me your address so I can send you three dozen roses of appreciation!
Not impossible! Here is a sticky all about doing TR on a full time schedule.I work 8 hours a day, so it might be impossible for me to implement TR.
You’ve been so helpful. Thank you so much.mNot impossible! Here is a sticky all about doing TR on a full time schedule.
HOWEVER, I'm not trying to push you into having to do TR, just showing that it is definitely possible. I do actually prefer to encourage people to start with SLGS and wait until they feel "ready" to graduate to TR. There's nothing saying you have to choose one and no backsies. You can change your mind.
Julia --
You may want to consider posting on the Lantus board. Here on Health is a great place to get started and learn how the Board works. As you're getting more experienced, you may find it helpful to move to the insulin-specific board. Many of the same people post there but there are also a lot of people using Lantus who can offer guidance and support.
Thank you, I will check it out. : )Julia --
You may want to consider posting on the Lantus board. Here on Health is a great place to get started and learn how the Board works. As you're getting more experienced, you may find it helpful to move to the insulin-specific board. Many of the same people post there but there are also a lot of people using Lantus who can offer guidance and support.