Lantus help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Snowy's Mom

Member Since 2017
Snowy had diabetes 3 years ago, but went into remission. His diabetes is back and I am having an impossible time, with not much help from my vet! His BG was 556 when I took him to vet. Started off with 1 unit twice a day, kept moving up to 2 1/2 units twice a day. His numbers are bouncing all over the place. 2 1/2 is too much, I had to cut it back to 2 because I had to skip shots because numbers were low, then of course with no shot the next BG reading was very high. Vet had me giving many different amounts of insulin depending on what each BG test was. From 1/2 to 2 1/2, he wanted me to go to three but I refused! I decided to just stick to 2 units for awhile unless it dips too low. His numbers have been bouncing all over the place, from 129 to around 500. I know you can't use Lantus the way he's asking me to. Can someone offer some guidance?
 
Welcome :bighug::bighug: The best thing you can do for Snowy is to set up a spreadsheet and continue doing regular testing..before each shot and hopefully get at least one test in between shots to see how low he is going with the dose amount.

This is a link on how to set up a spreadsheet.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/


You are correct that Lantus should not be used on a sliding scale basis. You can post any questions you want on either the Health Forum:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/health-links-faqs-about-feline-diabetes.14/

or the Lantus forum:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/

There are lots of people that can help with suggestions, advice and support while you try to get Snowy back into remission again.
 
I have tried for two hours trying to figure out how to do the spreadsheet! I am using the Alphatrak 2 meter. When I click on that option, the spread sheet comes up but I am not able to enter anything. I have no idea how to do this, can anyone help?
 
I have tried for two hours trying to figure out how to do the spreadsheet! I am using the Alphatrak 2 meter. When I click on that option, the spread sheet comes up but I am not able to enter anything. I have no idea how to do this, can anyone help?


You need to create a Google Drive account first. The you would use this spreadsheet:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1keuM6HfV3dil4glNHt1D3rUOY3yazVll8O3KJWY7J7I/edit?usp=sharing

This is the one for pet meters using US glucose measurements.

I see Kris has tagged a couple of the spreadsheet gurus to help. Thanks Kris
 
After you click on the link for that spreadsheet, in the upper left corner, click on 'File'. Then click 'Make a Copy'. You have to save a copy of your own before you can edit.
Do you have these instructions? It helps to read through all the steps before starting.
 
I have been working on this all day! I started his spreadsheet and I can see it on this site if I click on Snowy's Mom and from there click preview and it's there. I have no idea if anyone else can see it or what to do from here! Any help is appreciated!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top