Nicole & Baby
Very Active Member
Is the only reason not to feed within 2 hours of shot time because an accurate BG Reading is not assured - due to a possible food spike? Or are there other negatives?
hi nicole. yes, in LL we recommend lantus and levemir users NOT feed within 2 hours of shot time. the reason is we shoot on low numbers... numbers in the 50 - 100 range. some kitties have bigger food spikes than others (as much as 100 points or more). let me give you an example: say kitty ate at +10 or +11, BG was 50 (and you didn't know it), and has a food spike of 100 points. shot time comes. you test, get a 150, and shoot a full dose. when the insulin begins to kick in at +2... the food spike is gone and the full dose is actually working on a 50. if you were home and monitoring, you might catch the low. if you were at work... you'd have no idea and kitty *could* dip dangerously low. make sense?Nicole & Baby said:This is excellent information - I have always been told in Lantus Land to make sure & not feed within 2 hours of shot time due to food spikes & inaccurate BG Readings -- however, I have always been lax in that - I do feed - because if she wants food - I give it -- because she is not overweight & she does not understand. I have thought it makes more sense to feed - because one would want to regulate based on the reality & not skewing the #s based on a controlled setting. Thanks!
Melanie and Smokey said:Bonny - preshot feeding isn't the problem, its the pretest feeding. Are you giving the spoonful of food right before the test or right before the shot? I think its recommended that you feed before the shot, test->feed->shoot.
but the subject of this thread is "Lantus - Feeding within 2 hours of shot time Question" and that seems to be the run of the thread as well...
I feed then give her the shot, but just a snack as I said in previous post and do not test often (see post for details)