Lantus dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yvonne & Freddie

Member Since 2014
3-10 Freddie BG AMPS 332 +3 188
I increased Freddie's insulin this am per vet to 2 units up from 1.5 units.

How much should I be testing him today. If it comes down to 188 at 3 hours will it keep coming down with the time change it was given 1/2 hour earlier because of time change.

Also could someone read the post I wrote earlier that Maybe no one has read.. Thank you ..
I just can not get the hang of posting and I just do not know computers...I have not figured out to set up a profile on Freddie or a SS. Just to much to know and am stressed to the max that FRED has been so sick.

Yvonne
 
I usually recommend 3-4 tests a day

- always before the shot - this is mandatory as you don't want to shoot when too low. As a newbie this too low number is 200 but is reduced over time once you have the data to know if its safe.
- mid cycle - 5-7 hours after morning shot depending on your schedule. This is to see how low the cat’s blood sugar is going. The low point "nadir" is what you base dose changes on since you don't want the cat dropping too low (under 50).
- before bed (2-3hours after Pm shot) to get an idea of what the cat's overnight plans are. If this number is less than the pre shot test number you may want to set the alarm for a test a few hours later as this implies an active cycle.

I would keep working on getting him to eat a low carb wet food - top it with the evo since its lower carb than the WD you were feeding - it might help bring him down a little. Although the steroids will keep him higher until you reach a good insulin dose.

Wendy
 
3-10 Freddie PMPS 279

It will be time to shot Freddie for the night with his reading of 279 would it be safe to give 2 units of insulin or should I take it back to 1.75 or 1.5 I think the numbers are down because I did up his insulin today to 2 units from 1.5 where his numbers were running high. It is time to feed him so will his numbers go up after that.
I am getting him on Cats in the kitchen Goldie lox and Funk in the trunk can food which are both lower then 10 or 8% from reading Dr. P list

Thank you
Yvonne
 
Hi Yvonne, I replied on your other thread in the Lantus Relaxed forum.

KPassa said:
It's what you feel most comfortable with. If you want to continue on the 2u dose, just be aware that you're going to have to test a lot more often to make sure it doesn't take him too low since that is a larger dose increase than we usually recommend. If you want to drop him to 1.75u and continue on as you have been with testing, that's also fine. Just try to get some more mid-cycle tests in for us, please. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top