Nicole dorsey
Member Since 2017
Good evening,
Still new to diabetes and the message board. My boy was started on insulin 12 days ago. on day 6 was transitioned from 1u twice a day to 2u. His pcp didn't want me checking his bg but started today anyway. His numbers when he started on 1u were ranging around high 200 - mid 400. On 2 units now for 6 days and bg is hovering around 115-120. Vomiting in am last three days. Is the increased dose too much for him especially if he is not "snacking" during the evening? Difficult to get him to eat anyway, but wondering if this is what is causing vomiting in the am. He saw vet this afternoon and they are running fructosamine, says if comes back around the same lower numbers will decrease dose back, in the meantime, until I get results of that tomorrow, do I give insulin tonight knowing the vomiting has occurred the last three mornings? NOt sure if insulin related, but only correlation it seems, he has never been a vomiter even when really sick from panc etc
Still new to diabetes and the message board. My boy was started on insulin 12 days ago. on day 6 was transitioned from 1u twice a day to 2u. His pcp didn't want me checking his bg but started today anyway. His numbers when he started on 1u were ranging around high 200 - mid 400. On 2 units now for 6 days and bg is hovering around 115-120. Vomiting in am last three days. Is the increased dose too much for him especially if he is not "snacking" during the evening? Difficult to get him to eat anyway, but wondering if this is what is causing vomiting in the am. He saw vet this afternoon and they are running fructosamine, says if comes back around the same lower numbers will decrease dose back, in the meantime, until I get results of that tomorrow, do I give insulin tonight knowing the vomiting has occurred the last three mornings? NOt sure if insulin related, but only correlation it seems, he has never been a vomiter even when really sick from panc etc
Baby steps!