My true feline companion Trixie has been treating for diabetes for going on 4 months, and she is now being injected with Lantus, at 4.5 units/inj, twice daily. She was initially injecting with Novolin N. While she was showing progress with the Novolin, her numbers were short lived, her peak in the high 100's to low 200's and her highs returning to the 400's at end of 12 hours. She was on 5 units Novolin at that time.
She was switched over to Lantus and she is having BG numbers at her peak of 280 - 320, with her highs around 340 at the end of her 12 hour period. Her original numbers were high 400's and low 500's, so she is showing some consistent improvement. We are also giving her B-12 supplement, Vitacoast or Zibaline for her presence of neuropathy. She is mentally alert and vibrant on Lantus, no swings in behavior, like she showed on Novolin.
We currently monitor her BG weekly and I am looking for reinforcement on my quest for increasing dose. Is it advisable to continue incremental increases her doses by .25 to .5 every few days until we get to the measured numbers we need to see, those being in the 100's to low 200's. Her syringe is BD 6mm, 31ga for use in upper shoulder areas. 8mm used in areas more toward the scruff.
At what point would it be said that increased doses of Lantus might be not doing anything. For example, if it turns out she is getting injections twice daily of 8 units per inject but, her numbers are in our desired range, do we just accept that as what is necessary to control her BG numbers?
Her food is Young Again Mature Zero carb food, so we have taken that element away of food with hidden carbs. She is on a 1/3 cup food per day.
Should we also be considering another type of insulin.
I wish some of these other human insulins could be tested and approved for use on cats.
Open for any advice or experiences.
Thanks.
.
She was switched over to Lantus and she is having BG numbers at her peak of 280 - 320, with her highs around 340 at the end of her 12 hour period. Her original numbers were high 400's and low 500's, so she is showing some consistent improvement. We are also giving her B-12 supplement, Vitacoast or Zibaline for her presence of neuropathy. She is mentally alert and vibrant on Lantus, no swings in behavior, like she showed on Novolin.
We currently monitor her BG weekly and I am looking for reinforcement on my quest for increasing dose. Is it advisable to continue incremental increases her doses by .25 to .5 every few days until we get to the measured numbers we need to see, those being in the 100's to low 200's. Her syringe is BD 6mm, 31ga for use in upper shoulder areas. 8mm used in areas more toward the scruff.
At what point would it be said that increased doses of Lantus might be not doing anything. For example, if it turns out she is getting injections twice daily of 8 units per inject but, her numbers are in our desired range, do we just accept that as what is necessary to control her BG numbers?
Her food is Young Again Mature Zero carb food, so we have taken that element away of food with hidden carbs. She is on a 1/3 cup food per day.
Should we also be considering another type of insulin.
I wish some of these other human insulins could be tested and approved for use on cats.
Open for any advice or experiences.
Thanks.
.