julie & punkin (ga)
Member Since 2011
hi,
i've posted in the general forum for new people - but i have a question specifically about my kitty's dosage. i'm looking at the tight regulations for lantus and it says a starting dose would be 1.6 units for a 14.3 lb cat. i'm assuming that's 2x/day.
the vet has my cat on 3 units BID - today is his 10th day (so 20 doses) at that amount. I was taking him in to the vet for BG tests but started home testing on Sunday. I know i don't have very many numbers on the chart yet, but i just got the hang of testing him today.
Can i get some advice from some of you on whether I should reduce his dosage? Do I understand the tight regulation correctly that unless you get a BG of 50 or less you don't reduce the insulin?
some background:
punkin is 12 years old, has been generally healthy except for annual bladder infections. he's been on dry food from the vet (easy on your bladder kind) until about December 1st, when he was diagnosed with diabetes. We started a major remodeling project the week before, he's a very anxious cat, and apparently the stress of the remodeling triggered the diabetes. He went on canned dm and prozinc, and his BG improved. he went off insulin Jan 4 when he tested 158 at the vet's. At that time, not knowing the impact of dry food, i bought a bag of the dry purina dm.
Jan 27 his blood sugar was 428 and he went back on prozinc, still eating dry dm. His blood sugar remained high despite increasing the prozinc dosage.
so on Saturday, Feb 12 his blood sugar was up to 513, i found this site's food list, changed his food to fancy feast classics and the vet changed his insulin to lantus 2units BID. I had his BG checked at the vet's Tues 2/15 and it was ~350 - the vet increased the lantus to 3units BID. thursday 2/17 it was ~315 and the vet said to increase it to 3.5units BID. I kept it at 3. Saturday 2/19 it was 268 (am+3) and the vet tech told me i needed to follow the vet's direction and increase it to 3.5. I gave him one dose that evening at 3.5 and started testing the next day at home.
the basic daily schedule is
7am insulin, eat 1 can fancy feast
noon 1 can
5pm 1 can
7pm insulin
11pmish 1 can
i'm doing ok keeping the eating schedule and now i'll make sure and test him pre-shot and in-between, especially trying to get the +6 number. I've got the burrito wrap down and will do better in the next few days about regular testing. I'm just concerned after reading the info about "the storage unit" that he'll soon be getting too much insulin. i haven't tackled the ketones part yet.
his chart is below. thanks for any of your thoughts! i really appreciate all the people here. julie
i've posted in the general forum for new people - but i have a question specifically about my kitty's dosage. i'm looking at the tight regulations for lantus and it says a starting dose would be 1.6 units for a 14.3 lb cat. i'm assuming that's 2x/day.
the vet has my cat on 3 units BID - today is his 10th day (so 20 doses) at that amount. I was taking him in to the vet for BG tests but started home testing on Sunday. I know i don't have very many numbers on the chart yet, but i just got the hang of testing him today.
Can i get some advice from some of you on whether I should reduce his dosage? Do I understand the tight regulation correctly that unless you get a BG of 50 or less you don't reduce the insulin?
some background:
punkin is 12 years old, has been generally healthy except for annual bladder infections. he's been on dry food from the vet (easy on your bladder kind) until about December 1st, when he was diagnosed with diabetes. We started a major remodeling project the week before, he's a very anxious cat, and apparently the stress of the remodeling triggered the diabetes. He went on canned dm and prozinc, and his BG improved. he went off insulin Jan 4 when he tested 158 at the vet's. At that time, not knowing the impact of dry food, i bought a bag of the dry purina dm.
Jan 27 his blood sugar was 428 and he went back on prozinc, still eating dry dm. His blood sugar remained high despite increasing the prozinc dosage.
so on Saturday, Feb 12 his blood sugar was up to 513, i found this site's food list, changed his food to fancy feast classics and the vet changed his insulin to lantus 2units BID. I had his BG checked at the vet's Tues 2/15 and it was ~350 - the vet increased the lantus to 3units BID. thursday 2/17 it was ~315 and the vet said to increase it to 3.5units BID. I kept it at 3. Saturday 2/19 it was 268 (am+3) and the vet tech told me i needed to follow the vet's direction and increase it to 3.5. I gave him one dose that evening at 3.5 and started testing the next day at home.
the basic daily schedule is
7am insulin, eat 1 can fancy feast
noon 1 can
5pm 1 can
7pm insulin
11pmish 1 can
i'm doing ok keeping the eating schedule and now i'll make sure and test him pre-shot and in-between, especially trying to get the +6 number. I've got the burrito wrap down and will do better in the next few days about regular testing. I'm just concerned after reading the info about "the storage unit" that he'll soon be getting too much insulin. i haven't tackled the ketones part yet.
his chart is below. thanks for any of your thoughts! i really appreciate all the people here. julie