eternalblue
Member Since 2012
Just wanted to give an update - I started him back on Lantus after a missed shot and his BG was 93 this morning. Instead of skipping a shot again, I decided to give him 0.25u (half the already reduced dose). Since we were both home and we had all the supplies we need (Karo and some FF with Gravy) we thought it would be okay. We tested him now, an hour before his next shot and his BG is 95. If I can keep it at this stable range I will be quite happy! We did not test him mid cycle because he got so aggravated yesterday after not getting any blood try after try when we tried to take it (check out my spreadsheet!) that I didn't want to do it and I was afraid to get another inaccurate reading bc of stress. Is it possible his numbers are so low because he's not eating a ton (just about 5oz per day)??? I hope this meter is still working properly! It just seems unusual to be this low so early in this regulation process. Maybe its the strict low carb wet food? He still doesn't have a ton of energy though, also because he's a little too thin. Will the energy pick up, and will he start putting on weight now that he's more stable???
We bought some treats for him, purebites and beefeaters that are low carb that seems to be helping after the ear prick so I'm hoping I can do it more often to get an accurate picture of the nadir.
I also noticed he definitely has some form of neuropathy...his front paw is kind of squished at the wrist. I think this may be causing discomfort when he walks? I ordered some Zobaline and going to try to crush it into his food. Anyone have experience with this?
We bought some treats for him, purebites and beefeaters that are low carb that seems to be helping after the ear prick so I'm hoping I can do it more often to get an accurate picture of the nadir.
I also noticed he definitely has some form of neuropathy...his front paw is kind of squished at the wrist. I think this may be causing discomfort when he walks? I ordered some Zobaline and going to try to crush it into his food. Anyone have experience with this?