Lantus Curve – Low Numbers, Too Low – What Should I Do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ross & Ash

Member Since 2018
Hi everyone,

As you can see in Ash’s spreadsheet, I tested her pre-insulin hoping to fix the situation with food. But the vet and I put her on Lantus 2 weeks ago.

I didn’t test her for those two weeks, and I am doing the curve today as the vet instructed. The results were a little scary.

AMPS - 100 / +2 - 42 / + 4 - 43 / +6 - 31 / +8 - 87

I gave here some food at +2 and all of the sauce from a Fancy Feast with Gravy when BG hit 31.

She’s been on 1 unit of Lantus for two weeks, and the number may have been low all along. I told the vet a couple days in that she was doing some deep sleeping, but then she seemed more normal.

What do you think of those numbers? What should I do about tonight’s shot?

NOTE: BG testing is a problem. She doesn’t like any part of it. I don’t know if I can test her before every shot.

Thanks for your help!
 
You did good. You want to bump up numbers that are below 50 with either high carb food (aka "gravy") or with syrup (corn syrup, such as Karo, maple syrup, honey, etc). Once you see a numbers that's below 50, feed a bit of HC. There are instructions in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky note.

I suspect testing will get easier the more that you do it. Giving Ash a treat every time you test will help to reinforce that getting a poke gets a treat!

As for tonight, it's likely that Ash's number will bounce into a higher range. However, I cannot in good conscience tell you to shoot without a pre-shot test. You have no way of knowing whether it's safe to shoot with out test data. Judging from today, you really don't know if Ash's number were this low throughout the past 2 weeks.

You should reduce Ash's dose to 0,75u though. If you decide to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol, dose reductions are given if numbers drop below 50 whereas with the Start Low Go Low method, reductions are given when numbers are below 90.

 
Hey there and welcome to L, B and L! I don't think I ever posted on your thread before. I am so glad you found us as there is so much great information here and a lot of experience with FD and Lantus. ( please put Lantus in your signature)

I agree with every thing that Sienne said to you. Please, Please, always get a pre shot test so you know if it is safe to shoot.

Get some low carb treats to reward her for her pokey test. Some give a little piece of poached chicken, or a few bonito flakes or pure bites. She will start to equate the test with those yummy treats. Tonight, take her to the test station and just rub her ears a little bit and give her a treat. Then let her go. Do that a few times. Then add the test and the treat. Soon, she will associate the testing with a treat and she won't mind as much.

Good luck with the new dose of .75 unit and keep asking questions as that is how we all learned. If you post every day, we can keep an eye on you. But, start a new thread with Ash's name, the date and her pre shot number.

Again, welcome!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top