George’s Mom
Member Since 2022
Hi! New to posting to this forum. Been getting advice from other posts for a while now.
George, 17.5 year old otherwise healthy kitty, has been diagnosed as diabetic for about 10 mos now. He was on 4 units 2 x a day but the PZI was only lasting about 6 hours and then his BG was shooting up to >500. We have had him consistently on a Libre sensor for about 2 months. His PZI nadir was not going below 200. So he was bouncing mostly between 300 and 500 and rarely below 200 (maybe twice in 2 mos).
So we have switched to Lantus. Vet recommended 2 units 2x a day. His numbers are much flatter which is good (no big bounces liked it did with PZI). However, we are not getting readings below 350 now. Nadir is 350-400 and rest of the time it’s >400.
Feeding him low carb wet food only - Beyond Trout and Catfish (1%) or Duck (3%). He free feeds and eats often.
I after 6 cycles, I bumped him up to 2.5 units 2x a day. That was yesterday morning. Kitty doesn’t feel good and is very lethargic. He also has some neuropathy.
I’ve read the guidelines on tight regulation Lantus administration and have been using this. I’m just wondering if I should bump him up more aggressively since he is so high and doesn’t go low at all?
I do have a spreadsheet but it doesn’t track BG since the libre does. I can post it and post pics of libre sensor graphs if helpful? Thanks! This message board is amazing btw!
Rachel
George, 17.5 year old otherwise healthy kitty, has been diagnosed as diabetic for about 10 mos now. He was on 4 units 2 x a day but the PZI was only lasting about 6 hours and then his BG was shooting up to >500. We have had him consistently on a Libre sensor for about 2 months. His PZI nadir was not going below 200. So he was bouncing mostly between 300 and 500 and rarely below 200 (maybe twice in 2 mos).
So we have switched to Lantus. Vet recommended 2 units 2x a day. His numbers are much flatter which is good (no big bounces liked it did with PZI). However, we are not getting readings below 350 now. Nadir is 350-400 and rest of the time it’s >400.
Feeding him low carb wet food only - Beyond Trout and Catfish (1%) or Duck (3%). He free feeds and eats often.
I after 6 cycles, I bumped him up to 2.5 units 2x a day. That was yesterday morning. Kitty doesn’t feel good and is very lethargic. He also has some neuropathy.
I’ve read the guidelines on tight regulation Lantus administration and have been using this. I’m just wondering if I should bump him up more aggressively since he is so high and doesn’t go low at all?
I do have a spreadsheet but it doesn’t track BG since the libre does. I can post it and post pics of libre sensor graphs if helpful? Thanks! This message board is amazing btw!
Rachel