Hi,
Has anyone ever heard of a vet prescribing 2 units in the morn., and two units at night as a starting dose for a 9-10 pound cat?
Thank you.
I am not sure where you are getting this from.As far as I know, for high BG numbers (>400) this start dose is part of TR (start with half of the weight in kilograms(9 lbs.= 4 kg) ).
I would not start on any higher than 1u, if you were following TR.
What are you feeding your kitty? is he on an all wet Low Carb Diet?
I am not sure where you are getting this from.
The TR protocol that we follow on this board is the following: Taken from the tight regulation protocol sticky
STARTING DOSE:
The weight based formula for determining a starting dose of Lantus or Levemir when following the Tight Regulation Protocol:
I've never seen anyone start on a dose using the calculation you stated above, this is not a calculation used on the TR we follow on this board, maybe you are getting it from another site? Or it's something a vet has recommended to you??
- the formula is 0.25 unit per kg of the cat's ideal weight
- if kitty is underweight, the formula frequently used is 0.25 unit per kg of kitty's actualweight
- if the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
FWIW George never got above 3u BID, he's a 8kg cat,and since his numbers were over 400 at diagnosis (red and black) following your calculation that would have seen him start on 4u BID (twice a day), I can't imagine what would have happened had I started with 4uBID(, and I tested a lot. Following the TR protocol on this site it took 4 weeks, but he soon started seeing blue and green numbers, became very well regulated and went OTJ 6 months later and still is OTJ 18months later. I followed the TR protocol here, taking his dose up quickly when he was mired in red (0.5u steps every 6 cycles, then slowed down once his numbers got below 300, holding 6-12 cycles depending how low his nadirs were. This took his dose up safely and quickly, and I remained in control, I think if I had started with 4u BID I would have had a symptomatic hypo on my hands or worse, no matter how much I tested.
Thanks for the link, going to have a proper read of it, but on a first scan,. It says Lantus nadirs at +12??? And has a duration of 24hrs???One of them is here:
https://www.veterinarywebinars.com/...urnal_of_Feline_Medicine_and_Surgery_2015.pdf
This one says 0.25-0.5u/ kg ("The higher dose of 0.5 U/kg may be appropriate if BG is >20 mmol/l (360 mg/dl)")...but there are many sites saying the same.
Not all the TR from internet agree to the small details, it's up to the owners and the vets to take the decisions.
Personally, I believe the TR from this forum is one of the safest and more conservative ones out there, fitting everybody even if not possible to test the BG every single hour - which is good.
Yes there are safeguards built in but it's still a relatively aggressive approach. A regime that pushed a cats BG lower/faster would worry me, even though I was with George pretty much 24/7 and was a self confessed testaholic.Personally, I believe the TR from this forum is one of the safest and more conservative ones out there
Thanks for the link, going to have a proper read of it, but on a first scan,. It says Lantus nadirs at +12??? And has a duration of 24hrs???
we know from our experience on this site, that typical nadir is +6 and typical duration is +12. I wonder how accurate their info is?? Going to have a hard time trusting it.
The TR we follow here is based on the Romp Rand peer reviewed study, and I believe it's the only one to have been published for lantus.
Yes there are safeguards built in but it's still a relatively aggressive approach. A regime that pushed a cats BG lower/faster would worry me, even though I was with George pretty much 24/7 and was a self confessed testaholic.
Neko was started on caninsulin because that is what her vet was most familiar with. But in spite of Neko have a higher BG, and being over 6 kg, we still only started on 1 unit. Caninsulin can hit hard and there is a much greater chance of hypos with it, so I think it was a good idea to start conservatively.