Lactulose + Prednisolone Sugar Spike? (More Details Inside)

Status
Not open for further replies.

razorsdaddy

Member Since 2020
Hello Everyone,

Long post coming up...

I've been lurking here the last few weeks and decided to finally make an account and post. My cat Razor is 16 and was diagnosed with diabetes earlier in June at his comprehensive exam. His blood sugar had been iffy for a little while, likely due to his prednisolone usage (He has/had HORRRRRRIBLE allergies and the prednisolone is still necessary).

Well, we had Razey on 1 unit of Vetsulin in the AM for about a week and a half. I changed his diet from his usual wet breakfast / dry free feed / wet dinner, to mostly all wet with some glycobalance kibble here and there. We also cut back his prednisolone from 1.4 ML every 2 days to 1 ML every 2 days. Everything was going pretty good.

Then unfortunately around last Friday, Razey's appetite started to wane a bit and I noticed he hadn't pooped in a day or two. I took him to the ER last Saturday, they gave him the works. Glucose was fine (that was a day with no insulin, mind you). He had a blockage/constipation, gave him an enema and sent him home after he passed it.

Took a day or two for his appetite to come back, but it did! Things were great. I was testing his glucose at home without any insulin & everything was wonderful, even a curve day (90-118 scores consistently). The vet spoke with a specialist and said it's very possible that Razor's diet change & medicine cutback kicked the diabetes in a matter of weeks.

Unfortunately, I noticed that yet again he was becoming constipated. After 2 days of not pooping I decided to be proactive and take him back to the ER this past Friday. He yet again got flushed out, fluids, etc. But this time they sent him home with Lactulose.

I read that lactulose should be OK for cats that have had diabetes problems. However, I have also read conflicting reports. Even my vet told me to let her know if something was awry.

He pooped yesterday (Saturday) and his appetite returned almost instantly after his ER visit. His glucose was fine yesterday as well on my spot check (116).

However, today, when I tested his glucose at 11:30 AM it was 156. This was after he had 2 small wet food meals (6 AM, 9 AM) and took his prednisolone (10 AM). I realized I had never actually tested him at home while on prednisolone, the days he was at the ER were prednisolone days so I didn't feel like prodding him more when he got home. I think administered his first dose of Lactulose of the day around Noon and out of curiosity tested his sugar again around 2:30... I saw the number was 222 and was shocked!

Is it possible that he's having adverse blood glucose spike to both the lactulose & prednisolone? Or, god forbid, his diabetes came back already? I'm hoping it's the former. Tomorrow is a non-pred day & I'm thinking of not giving him any more lactulose to be safe and perhaps trying miralax if he doesn't go by tomorrow morning (which would be a shade over 30 hours).

Any thoughts or help? I plan on testing his glucose once more this evening & tomorrow morning and hopefully conferring with my vet tomorrow when she's back in.

Thank you!
 
Welcome Razor and Razor’s dad!!

I can’t help much but to say that yes, prednisolone is a corticosteroid that can definitely raise the BG levels. I’m not sure about the rest but hang in there for more experienced members to respond!

PS - how many hours after food was the 222?
 
Welcome Razor and Razor’s dad!!

I can’t help much but to say that yes, prednisolone is a corticosteroid that can definitely raise the BG levels. I’m not sure about the rest but hang in there for more experienced members to respond!

PS - how many hours after food was the 222?

No problem, I appreciate any help and insight!

I believe the 222 was about 2, 2.5 hours after eating. That was around the same time frame of the lactulose dose. And about 4.5 hours after the prednisolone dose.

As mentioned, things have seemingly been fine for a little over a week now with just the diet change. But I never did any at home testing on prednisolone days due to circumstances. So I’m just hoping it’s a spike due to both of the meds on the same day.

Obviously I’m hoping if I cut out the lactulose that he doesn’t get Constipated again.

The whole diabetes journey and fallout from random things has been stressful so far. Just when I thought I was in a great place yesterday, those blood readings happened.

BTW razor was always a free feeder. So his current meal schedule is usually wet fancy feast pate at 6/7, 12/1, 3/4, 7/8. Then Glycobalance kibble throughout the day. Razor was never one to eat two big meals.
 
Welcome to FDMB as you already know, this is a great community of people dedicated to their kitties with diabetes. You're already above the curve by home testing. Thank you for doing that for Razor. Hes one lucky kitty cat to have you! I dont have any experience with Razors issues, besides diabetes that is. But I just bet there are folks here that do. So stay tuned for more replies.
Again welcome to the best darn site on this planet that will help you help Razor.:bighug:

jeanne
 
Yes, managing the prednisolone can make dramatic changes. It is a question of finding the right balance. There may be alternatives to the pred. Hopefully members experienced with pred and allergies to weight in.

The ingredients of glycobalance dry: Chicken by-product meal, barley, wheat gluten, corn gluten meal, soy protein isolate, tapioca.

It is around 30% carbs by my reckoning. There is nothing special about glycobalance except the price.

You can freeze cubes wet Fancy Feast and it will slowly unfreeze and can be left out. Some people use an automatic feeder.

The only two dry foods acceptable for diabetic cats are Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein and Young Again (if you contact the companies, they usually send a sample).

Also, check out https://felineconstipation.org/ – an excellent resource.

Stay tuned for more responses. We can help.
 
Yes, managing the prednisolone can make dramatic changes. It is a question of finding the right balance. There may be alternatives to the pred. Hopefully members experienced with pred and allergies to weight in.

The ingredients of glycobalance dry: Chicken by-product meal, barley, wheat gluten, corn gluten meal, soy protein isolate, tapioca.

It is around 30% carbs by my reckoning. There is nothing special about glycobalance except the price.

You can freeze cubes wet Fancy Feast and it will slowly unfreeze and can be left out. Some people use an automatic feeder.

The only two dry foods acceptable for diabetic cats are Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein and Young Again (if you contact the companies, they usually send a sample).

Also, check out https://felineconstipation.org/ – an excellent resource.

Stay tuned for more responses. We can help.

Hmm, very interesting regarding the Glycobalance dry food. Maybe I should stop free feeding him If that’s the case? That’s odd that they would market it the way they did, but I also noticed there were definite grains in some of my “grain free” food in the past.

I’m going to take Razors glucose later again tonight and tomorrow when presumably the medicine is out of his system. I will keep everyone posted!
 
Hmm, very interesting regarding the Glycobalance dry food. Maybe I should stop free feeding him If that’s the case? That’s odd that they would market it the way they did, but I also noticed there were definite grains in some of my “grain free” food in the past.

I’m going to take Razors glucose later again tonight and tomorrow when presumably the medicine is out of his system. I will keep everyone posted!
Free feeding or feeding small portions throughout the day is totally fine for any cat even the diabetic ones. I’d switch to one of the dry foods Red recommended or stick to wet food throughout the day as well. Having said that, it’s important not to feed 2 hours prior to pre shot testing in the am and pm so the number is not up due to the food. Other than that it’s okay to feed multiple times a day. Most cats are grazers and it’s also easier on their pancreas.

The “special” foods prescribed by vets are just marketed that way so they can charge more and you think you’re getting a better quality food. There’s nothing special about them, like one member here says, other than the price. It’s just clever marketing :rolleyes:
 
Ugh, it actually hurts me that they market stuff like that. I know we all do because we’re on here, but I care about my old man so much and to know that what I’ve been told is good for him can potentially reverse his progress really bothers me.

Some decent news though... as mentioned, I only have one dose of Lactulose today and tomorrow is a non prednisolone day. His glucose readings today were 156, 222, and 177. So at least it went down a bit. I’m just hoping he poops without the need of the lactulose. He never had constipation problems at all until the diabetes journey started.

The plan is to discontinue the lactulose, no pred tomorrow, and pull back the Glycobalance drastically. I’ll take his blood in the morning and update there as well.

I’m hoping this spike is simply from the double dose of meds and never actually testing at home before on a medicine day.
 
Also just an update... I was debating trying to get Razor on pred once every 3 days, 1.0 ML. His allergies have been the best they have EVER been this June! Even with reduced medicine.

Although, he started sneezing here and there the last 2 days. Nothing like when it gets bad though.

Also for reference... poor Razor has the worst allergies I've EVER seen. When he's unmedicated & pollen is high, watch out. When I first adopted him and we didn't know what was wrong with him, I had snot rags on every level of my house.

We're talking snot rockets bigger than humans! Occasionally if it all gets too bad he's had a few bloody noses too. I bet I wouldn't have to worry at all about him being diabetic/borderline diabetic if it wasn't for his dang allergies. But such as life!

I guess also to shed some more light on Raze, he's also deaf and has a head tilt. A special needs buddy, love him so.
 
Hello Everyone,

So I have a bit of an update. I don't believe Razor pooped yesterday, which is a concern given his recent constipation issues. He had pooped at the ER on Friday (a lot) after his enema. He also pooped on Saturday evening around 7:30/8. But to my knowledge, he did not poop yesterday (We have 2 cats, but different poop styles and I'm around Razor most of the day when I'm awake).

As far as his glucose. Him being a kibble addict, I didn't want to stop him cold turkey again since I believe that's part of the reason he's had bowel issues (We basically stopped him cold turkey for a week+ and then the constipation started). I decided to for now, restrict his Glycobalance dry food to between 12 midnight and 5/6 AM which is the time that I typically sleep. So he will not be allowed to free feed on it during the majority of the day. I also give him a pretty big Fancy Feast pate dinner to help tide him over most of the night.

That being said... he obviously ate some overnight. I think there was a small session between 12-1, and then another around 4. I took his glucose at 6 AM before his wet food breakfast. It was 180.

So the last 2 days, with various times of the day, medicines, eating schedules he was at: 156, 222, and 177 and this morning 180 (but he did have dry food before that). Prior to that, all last week he was in the "normal" range. This has all been without insulin for 9 days.

Is it possible that the lactulose sent him into higher levels? Or some combination with the Glycobalance (which we're working on removing here slowly)?

This all is just very frustrating. I'd be less frustrated if he wasn't having these constipation issues because they are both pricey & exhausting for the both of us.

Also he definitely had his worst allergy day yesterday of June sadly. I still want to try to not give him prednisolone tomorrow, but if he's really sneezy I'll have to. *sigh*

Trying to contact his vet this morning, hopefully she's in (She works at an animal hospital, so she's not there all week).
 
Hi! I'm no expert but I do pick up various info here. My Trouble only knew dry food before he came to live with us. Thats all he was ever fed. (that would include dog kibble :rolleyes:) It literally broke my heart taking his dry away even though he ate his Fancy Feast with pure joy and gusto lol. He would sit n front of the spot his dry use to be for hours. :(.

Theres nothing special about the glyco stuff but the price. I hear thees days there ARE low carb substitutes such as Young Again and Dr Easley...(these were not offered back in Troubles time) But maybe one of those would work? I would give it a go.

We all do what we have to, if steroids HAVE to be a part of Razors life, that can be worked with. We just have to find the right combinations. Hold on as always for more replies.
jeanne
 
Last edited:
I had a non-diabetic cat who had chronic constipation and motility issues. She was given cisipride for the motility issues. Lactulose didn't do the trick so we went to miralax. We tried adding pumpkin and slippery elm bark but she was having none of that. She also had kidney disease and was given fluids for that – it helped.

Miralax works by drawing water into the gut. It is a preventative. You can buy it over the counter.
Some people find success with pumpkin. It must be straight pumpkin, not pie filling with sugar and other ingredients. The excess pumpkin can be frozen in small amounts. If you can find baby food single ingredient squash, that will work too. Basically, you are adding fiber.
Slippery elm bark is worth looking into. You add water to make a small slurry then add it to food or syringe. It helps to coat the digestive track. You can buy the capsules at a drug store or health food store.

All three of these possible solutions are inexpensive and do not require a vet visit.

Do read: https://felineconstipation.org/prevention.html
 
Who can we tag here about allergies and the constipation? @Red & Rover (GA)

did we give you a link for the signature and spreadsheet yet? It would be really helpful if you could set both up. You can add all the BG numbers you’ve been getting to the ss so it’s easy to access and see them

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

Hello,

I don't have a spreadsheet, but I have been taking notes for my Vet. I will link it up in my signature. This is Razor's post-insulin glucose readings, as I never had the tester while he was on insulin:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1KEYR_WekTOjBTpw4T5N0axu7hWC0wA8CmAG3wnbTWxU/edit?usp=sharing

That should be viewable to anyone with a link.

Good news was that his glucose went down to 132, which was the lowest it had been in the last 2 days. Wondering if it was indeed spiked by the pred, the lactulose & the glycobalance dry?

Also, kind of important... the constipation issues. Is it OK to give him Miralax instead of Lactulose? I want to give him a dose before dinner. The Lactulose was working, but I think in conjunction with other things was throwing off his glucose.

He was actually eating glycobalance dry food for the past 2 weeks with no issues until yesterday, so I'm thinking the meds played a big part.
 
I had a non-diabetic cat who had chronic constipation and motility issues. She was given cisipride for the motility issues. Lactulose didn't do the trick so we went to miralax. We tried adding pumpkin and slippery elm bark but she was having none of that. She also had kidney disease and was given fluids for that – it helped.

Miralax works by drawing water into the gut. It is a preventative. You can buy it over the counter.
Some people find success with pumpkin. It must be straight pumpkin, not pie filling with sugar and other ingredients. The excess pumpkin can be frozen in small amounts. If you can find baby food single ingredient squash, that will work too. Basically, you are adding fiber.
Slippery elm bark is worth looking into. You add water to make a small slurry then add it to food or syringe. It helps to coat the digestive track. You can buy the capsules at a drug store or health food store.

All three of these possible solutions are inexpensive and do not require a vet visit.

Do read: https://felineconstipation.org/prevention.html

Thank you! Sorry, you posted while I was typing my last post, haha...

Does Miralax have any affect on the BG? Or at the very least, minimal? I think I want to start trying that tonight. The Lactulose made him poop on Saturday, but I kinda stopped giving it to him due to the BG rise and my fears getting the best of me.
 
Miralax shouldnt interfere with his BG's

Thank you. I think I'm going to try that on his next Fancy Feast pate meal tonight.

Anyone know of a good dose for a kitty that has been constipated (and cleared out with Enemas) for about 10 days? I heard 1/4 teaspoon?

I have to get him regulated again. I don't want to spend another $200-300 and more importantly, I want my old man to relax for a week!
 
Miralax does not affect BG.
Both lactulose and miralax work by drawing water into the colon. Now, I'm going by memory here – it will take 2 days or so to see the results.
Miralax dosing is 1/8 to 1/4 tsp twice a day in food. Mix it with a bit of water and let it sit for 10 minutes or so, then add it to the food. The miralax will swell. It is tasteless.
One dollar off coupon: https://www.miralax.com/coupons-and-offers

Pumpkin can be used with both lactulose and miralax. And don't forget fluids. Add water to the wet food and to wet food snacks to make it thick soupy.
 
Miralax does not affect BG.
Both lactulose and miralax work by drawing water into the colon. Now, I'm going by memory here – it will take 2 days or so to see the results.
Miralax dosing is 1/8 to 1/4 tsp twice a day in food. Mix it with a bit of water and let it sit for 10 minutes or so, then add it to the food. The miralax will swell. It is tasteless.
One dollar off coupon: https://www.miralax.com/coupons-and-offers

Pumpkin can be used with both lactulose and miralax. And don't forget fluids. Add water to the wet food and to wet food snacks to make it thick soupy.

Thank you so much. I'm going to try giving him Miralax tonight.

As mentioned, he had Lactulose 2 ML doses twice on Friday after his ER visit. Then 3x on Saturday, which he pooped around 8 PM. Yesterday, I gave him only one dose and stopped due to BG spikes and being cautious. He did not poop yesterday.

So hopefully it'll get him going soon!
 
@Red & Rover (GA) you mentioned fiber and I remember I tried it in Minnie for the opposite actually lose stools and it made it worse so wondering if it would help with the constipation as well? I was giving her her 1/8 of teaspoon of psyllium fiber mixed with food daily. Pic attached

I assume all of these can be given in conjunction so miralax, pumpkin/squash and fiber since they’re all natural right? And sometimes you need a combo as one thing only is not enough
 

Attachments

  • A7281F8F-9F75-4C6B-841A-D25B0F141302.jpeg
    A7281F8F-9F75-4C6B-841A-D25B0F141302.jpeg
    44.3 KB · Views: 265
Hello,

I don't have a spreadsheet, but I have been taking notes for my Vet. I will link it up in my signature. This is Razor's post-insulin glucose readings, as I never had the tester while he was on insulin:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1KEYR_WekTOjBTpw4T5N0axu7hWC0wA8CmAG3wnbTWxU/edit?usp=sharing

That should be viewable to anyone with a link.

Good news was that his glucose went down to 132, which was the lowest it had been in the last 2 days. Wondering if it was indeed spiked by the pred, the lactulose & the glycobalance dry?

Also, kind of important... the constipation issues. Is it OK to give him Miralax instead of Lactulose? I want to give him a dose before dinner. The Lactulose was working, but I think in conjunction with other things was throwing off his glucose.

He was actually eating glycobalance dry food for the past 2 weeks with no issues until yesterday, so I'm thinking the meds played a big part.
Thank you but members here need for us to use their template so all ss look the same and can be easily interpreted. If you don’t mind, please use the template from the link and transfer all your numbers into it. There’s also a tab for lab results. And as for the signature, it’s a helpful way to have all the main info about your kitty at a glance so members don’t need to go looking for it in a thread won’t multiple posts, see mine below as an example. Here’s what we’d love to see in it. I copied and pasted from the link I gave you earlier:

Make sure your signature is up-to-date.
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
@Red & Rover (GA) you mentioned fiber and I remember I tried it in Minnie for the opposite actually lose stools and it made it worse so wondering if it would help with the constipation as well? I was giving her her 1/8 of teaspoon of psyllium fiber mixed with food daily. Pic attached

I assume all of these can be given in conjunction so miralax, pumpkin/squash and fiber since they’re all natural right? And sometimes you need a combo as one thing only is not enough
https://felineconstipation.org/prevention.html
 
I had a non-diabetic cat who had chronic constipation and motility issues. She was given cisipride for the motility issues. Lactulose didn't do the trick so we went to miralax. We tried adding pumpkin and slippery elm bark but she was having none of that. She also had kidney disease and was given fluids for that – it helped.

Miralax works by drawing water into the gut. It is a preventative. You can buy it over the counter.
Some people find success with pumpkin. It must be straight pumpkin, not pie filling with sugar and other ingredients. The excess pumpkin can be frozen in small amounts. If you can find baby food single ingredient squash, that will work too. Basically, you are adding fiber.
Slippery elm bark is worth looking into. You add water to make a small slurry then add it to food or syringe. It helps to coat the digestive track. You can buy the capsules at a drug store or health food store.

All three of these possible solutions are inexpensive and do not require a vet visit.

Do read: https://felineconstipation.org/prevention.html
Was wondering what you thought of the wet cat foods that have pumpkin in them in my search I have seen a few . Do you think that would help ? They are more costly then FF or Friskies though
 
Thank you but members here need for us to use their template so all ss look the same and can be easily interpreted. If you don’t mind, please use the template from the link and transfer all your numbers into it. There’s also a tab for lab results. And as for the signature, it’s a helpful way to have all the main info about your kitty at a glance so members don’t need to go looking for it in a thread won’t multiple posts, see mine below as an example. Here’s what we’d love to see in it. I copied and pasted from the link I gave you earlier:

Make sure your signature is up-to-date.
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Alright, thank you. I'll try to get to this later tonight when I have some time.

Just to update you all, at this point since the glucose is relatively normal, my main goal is un-constipating my boy again.

I gave his first dose of miralax about an hour ago. Going to do one more later tonight w/ his dinner. Hopefully we see some action.

Luckily I can see my vet tomorrow if I am feeling iffy about it and he doesn't poop. We also have a quick follow up on Thursday I believe that was pre-scheduled a few weeks ago.
 
Alright, thank you. I'll try to get to this later tonight when I have some time.

Just to update you all, at this point since the glucose is relatively normal, my main goal is un-constipating my boy again.

I gave his first dose of miralax about an hour ago. Going to do one more later tonight w/ his dinner. Hopefully we see some action.

Luckily I can see my vet tomorrow if I am feeling iffy about it and he doesn't poop. We also have a quick follow up on Thursday I believe that was pre-scheduled a few weeks ago.
Ask your vet about all the options we suggested as well like the fiber and probiotics. Good luck! :cat:
 
Hello Everyone,

Another Razor update!

Luckily he was able to poop a bit this morning (which was close to 2 1/2 days at this point). I still took him to the vet to get some fluids.

We now have Razor on a plan of Miralax + fiber (half pill) 2x a day with his wet food. If he goes 36 hours without pooping, she said to give him some Lactulose. We are trying to NOT have to do enemas anymore.

I have also severely limited his Glycobalance down to only a few hours a day, so his diet is primarily 80+% Fancy Feast pate wet food.

Will take his glucose tomorrow to make sure we are back towards the 80-130 range and not the higher 100's like he was on Sunday. Last I checked yesterday, he was 132.

Also more good news, he pooped again! You can tell he's a little backed up, but my old saying is some poop is better than no poop at this point!

EDIT: He also gained 1/10th of a pound!!! Our long-term goal besides kicking his diabetes & constipation was weight gain, so we are on the right track. He was 9 LBs when I adopted him, went up to 11 a year later, then 13 a year after that, back down to 11, and recently almost dipped to below 8 when the diabetes was clearly taking it's toll. But we are back to bulking!
 
Out of curiosity I did test his BG a little while ago, it was at 217. Which was close to the peak rating on Sunday, which was also a Lactulose + Prednisolone day. Yesterday (non med day) it was normal.

I'm definitely thinking that the mixture of those 2 medicines spike his BG a bit. So hopefully the pooping keeps up for no more lactulose & the sneezing subsides so I can lower the pred a bit as well!

Does anyone here have any specific info on how much pred would spike the BG during a medicine day?
 
And if you can do your signature too, that will be helpful:

Make sure your signature is up-to-date.
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Thank you!
 
Did I ever tell you what a cutie pie Razor is? I suspect he got his name for obvious reasons??? :p

Thank you! I actually went to the shelter with the intention on adopting another cat, but Razor is the biggest cuddle bug ever. He basically wouldn't leave me alone and I couldn't say no despite his age & health problems.

He's actually named after Razor Ramon the old WWF wrestler haha. But I figured it fit perfect due to his claws. His original name was Bootsie apparently, but since he's deaf I guess his name doesn't matter to him :)

The amps is the reading you get when you test before the shot then it starts counting from there on. So +1 is one hour after then +2 two hours all the way to 12 hours when it’s time for the next shot. Another link for ya ha!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

OK, thank you. Now that all makes sense! Haha. I might have to make some adjustments. Since like I mentioned, Razor has not had a shot in over 2+ weeks. Hoping to keep it that way!

The general consensus as been that on non medicine days his readings have ranged between 90-150 for the most part. On days where he's had meds, they have went as high as 222.

A good test will be tomorrow. Tomorrow will be a pred day, but NOT a lactulose day as he's been pooping woooo. So if his BG still hovers in the 200-225 range, I know the lactulose didn't really do anything to him and it was strictly the pred.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top