KUMA CAT POSSIBLY IN REMISSION? - AMAZING!

Status
Not open for further replies.

KUMA CAT

Member Since 2015
I am wondering if my sweet, gentle Kuma Cat is going into remission from his diabetes. This is what has happened: Kuma was diagnosed with diabetes this past May (after suffering several bouts of Pancreatitis a few months apart). He has been on ProZinc twice a day since May (was currently on 4 units morning/3 units evening over the last month, as his blood sugar was still in the mid-300's up until then). He was acting very good over the last month, and I didn't even think I needed to test his sugar during the last month, as the vet had been gradually bumping his insulin upward, and it seemed he was finally acting like he felt very good. I had noticed that he wanted to go upstairs to take a nap after his morning shot, however, for about four days in a row toward the end of the month. So, I tested his sugar 3 1/2 hours after his morning shot (4 units) - it was only 52! I was VERY surprised. When it came time for his evening (9:00 PM) shot that same night, I tested him again before giving the shot. He was at only 91. I therefore wasn't sure what to do about his shot. Everyone on the board said DON'T give a shot at that level, so I didn't (thank goodness for everyone's help at 9:00 at night!). I tested him the next morning, and he was 65 before his shot (so I again gave no shot). That evening, I tested him again before shot time, and he was at 88 (so, no shot once again). Since then, he tested at 81 yesterday (with no shot at all), and 61 this morning (still no shot at all!). Something definitely has happened for the good, but I still can't explain it. I am just keeping my fingers crossed that he is going into remission. Maybe the pancreatitis attacks last spring had put a strain on his pancreas, and giving him the insulin gave his pancreas time to rest so it could again start making its own insulin (simply my own inexperienced theory?) It is amazing, however, as his blood sugar had been at: 412, 312, 480, 430, 330. So, this can maybe give other people hope that their cats may not always have diabetes, even though I still don't absolutely know if Kuma is completely over it. But time (and regular blood testing) will tell. One other thing that may help other people: I was having so much trouble getting a drop of blood from Kuma's ear with the 28 gauge "FreeStyle" lancets. So, I finally tried a slightly thicker gauge lancet: "26 gauge ReliOn" lancets - which, by the way, were much less expensive (about $3.45 for box of 100). I finally began to get a drop of blood from his ear using these. That had been a big part of why I think I cringed so bad (and wasn't testing as regularly as I should have been) when testing his ear. I would have to poke his poor ear about 20 times before I finally achieved the poke that gave me a little drop of blood. The 26 gauge lancets give me a drop with only a few pokes. But, just remember that a little poke on the ear doesn't feel nearly as bad as high blood sugar would feel. That is what I keep reminding myself, and I had to keep reminding myself of that every day before I gave him his shots, too. Thanks again, everyone, for your priceless help. I'll post with updates.
 
Lucy and Squallie: Thanks for your email. Is Squallie's blood sugar pretty normal now on insulin? I was scared to death at first when I had to begin shots. And the testing was almost scarier. I am lots better at it (even though Kuma Cat is possibly going into remission). I started out using some big, thick, long needles the vet prescribed (“Monoject U-40 ½ mL Insulin Syringe, 29G x ½”). Kuma screamed every time I gave him his shot. I was desperate, and found out they were too big. So, I got a smaller needle, smaller barrel ,syringe that took away the stress: "U-100 BD Insulin Syringes 31 gauge x 5/16” long needle". I had to convert the dosage using the U-100 syringes (as I was still using the same U-40 ProZinc insulin) - I used the conversion chart here on the forum. It was so much easier to give shots, and Kuma didn't feel them most of the time. I wish everyone new to their cat's diabetes would know about smaller needles. I also use a ReliOn Confirm glucometer. It works really well.
 
Lucy and Squallie: Thanks for your email. Is Squallie's blood sugar pretty normal now on insulin? I was scared to death at first when I had to begin shots. And the testing was almost scarier. I am lots better at it (even though Kuma Cat is possibly going into remission). I started out using some big, thick, long needles the vet prescribed (“Monoject U-40 ½ mL Insulin Syringe, 29G x ½”). Kuma screamed every time I gave him his shot. I was desperate, and found out they were too big. So, I got a smaller needle, smaller barrel ,syringe that took away the stress: "U-100 BD Insulin Syringes 31 gauge x 5/16” long needle". I had to convert the dosage using the U-100 syringes (as I was still using the same U-40 ProZinc insulin) - I used the conversion chart here on the forum. It was so much easier to give shots, and Kuma didn't feel them most of the time. I wish everyone new to their cat's diabetes would know about smaller needles. I also use a ReliOn Confirm glucometer. It works really well.
Squallie is doing pretty well, thank you for asking! I was terrified when this was all new to me, lol! It is certainly a learning experience, isn't it? And we all seem to develop our own individual tricks and rituals that work for us, thanks to all the wonderful advice and help from everybody here. FDMB is a life-(and sanity, lol)saver!

I really hope your Kuma is headed for remission, how wonderful that would be! :bighug:
 
Go, Kuma Cat GO!!!
What a story ... & wonderful news! All fingers, toes & paws crossed that your Kuma's headed straight for Remission Land!:D
 
How exciting for you. They can go into remission so quickly but they can also relapse quickly. So just keep up with testing at least once a week and monitor for signs of high glucose always.
 
Hi everyone. Kuma Cat is still testing within normal blood sugar with no shots since four days ago. I still don't know what would suddenly happen in their body to put them into remission, but it is such good news. I am testing his blood once or twice a day. It has been at: 52 and 91 (these were his test results four days ago where I suddenly realized something was going on - while he was still on his 4 units morning/3 units evening insulin - so I gave him no insulin that evening and none since). Since then, I've tested twice or once a day. He's been on insulin at all now for four days and he's now testing at: 65, 88, 81, 61, and today he was at 53 right after a nap (he got up right after that and ate). I am wondering if a blood sugar of 53 seems abnormal? He acts very normal when he's at only 53. Does anyone know if it is just natural for some cats to go down to that level at times?
 
P.S. I made a typo in my post above. It should have read: "He's been on NO insulin at all now for four days..."
 
Kuma Cat is still testing within normal blood sugar with no shots since four days ago.
...and I can tell that you're still walking around going, "I can hardly believe this is happening!" It sure does feel like a dream, doesn't it?
But ENJOY!!!:cat::):bighug:
 
How exciting for you. They can go into remission so quickly but they can also relapse quickly. So just keep up with testing at least once a week and monitor for signs of high glucose always.
How exciting for you. They can go into remission so quickly but they can also relapse quickly. So just keep up with testing at least once a week and monitor for signs of high glucose always.
Anita and Squeaker:

I noticed in your signature that Squeaker has had reoccurring Pancreatitis attacks. Did his diabetes come on after those attacks first started? I am wondering if my big Kuma Cat developed his diabetes due to the two Pancreatitis attacks he had in the 6 months prior to his being diagnosed with diabetes. Or, that maybe he had diabetes before his Pancreatitis attacks, which I was unaware of, and that is what brought on his Pancreatitis attacks? Have you ever heard which would be the most likely? Kuma was overweight before any of this happened (22 lbs.), which definitely did not help matters. I decided to take all dry food away to keep his carbohydrates down, and really watch for the right proportions in his canned food. He got down to 16 lbs., which the vet said was good. He is creeping back up a little, but I hope to never let him get to be 22 lbs. again.
 
How exciting for you. They can go into remission so quickly but they can also relapse quickly. So just keep up with testing at least once a week and monitor for signs of high glucose always.

I noticed in your signature that Squeaker has had reoccurring Pancreatitis attacks. Did his diabetes come on after those attacks first started? I am wondering if my big Kuma Cat developed his diabetes due to the two Pancreatitis attacks he had in the 6 months prior to his being diagnosed with diabetes. Or, that maybe he had diabetes before his Pancreatitis attacks, which I was unaware of, and that is what brought on his Pancreatitis attacks? Have you ever heard which would be the most likely? Kuma was overweight before any of this happened (22 lbs.), which definitely did not help matters. I decided to take all dry food away to keep his carbohydrates down, and really watch for the right proportions in his canned food. He got down to 16 lbs., which the vet said was good. He is creeping back up a little, but I hope to never let him get to be 22 lbs. again.
 
Kuma was overweight before any of this happened (22 lbs.), which definitely did not help matters. I decided to take all dry food away to keep his carbohydrates down, and really watch for the right proportions in his canned food. He got down to 16 lbs., which the vet said was good. He is creeping back up a little, but I hope to never let him get to be 22 lbs. again.
You're smart to be keeping an eye on his weight and maintaining portion control. My cat used to weigh 18+ lbs (pre-diagnosis); later she was underweight by the time her diagnosis was made. Her wt. these days stays within 10.7 to 11 lbs. and her DM is well-controlled on a tiny dose of ProZinc.

I'd highly recommend weighing Kuma once a week; as I've found that creeping up (at least in my cat's case) by even a pound or so can affect her blood glucose #s. (It helped me to look at it this way: An extra 1 to 2 lbs. on a 10-lb. cat, for example, is equivalent to an extra 10 to 20 lbs. on a 100-lb. human! ) A baby scale is a great tool to help keep you Kuma's weight on track.:)
 
Robin&BB: Yes, I have to be diligent in keeping his weight down. Too much love, I guess. Did Bat-Bat ever have any issues with Pancreatitis? Kuma started to get Pancreatitis attacks about 6 months before his diabetes diagnosis. His blood sugar was high during his attacks, but the vet thought it may simply be due to the pancreatitis. But even after the pancreatitis resolved, his blood sugar was still high. So, I still am confused on whether diabetes was the cause of his pancreatitis attacks, or whether his pancreatitis attacks caused his diabetes.
 
I noticed in your signature that Squeaker has had reoccurring Pancreatitis attacks. Did his diabetes come on after those attacks first started? I am wondering if my big Kuma Cat developed his diabetes due to the two Pancreatitis attacks he had in the 6 months prior to his being diagnosed with diabetes. Or, that maybe he had diabetes before his Pancreatitis attacks, which I was unaware of, and that is what brought on his Pancreatitis attacks? Have you ever heard which would be the most likely? Kuma was overweight before any of this happened (22 lbs.), which definitely did not help matters. I decided to take all dry food away to keep his carbohydrates down, and really watch for the right proportions in his canned food. He got down to 16 lbs., which the vet said was good. He is creeping back up a little, but I hope to never let him get to be 22 lbs. again.

Squeaker's case was a little unique. He was not overweight, did eat dry, but was otherwise healthy. He was diagnosed with HyperT and put on medication for that. He was in the rare 5% that couldn't tolerate the medication and began self mutilating. He had I-131 and that ended the HyperT but the self- mutilation continued for a year. In the mean time I had to switch vets. The new vet, when I suggested food allergies told me that wasn't possible, then they gave him an injection. This cleared up the issue. Being stupid I trusted them and over the next year he had 2 more injections. I noticed after the 3rd injection his drinking and urinating had increased dramatically. I took him back to the same vet and requested blood work and they told me it was all normal. Well, it wasn't. One day Squeaker collapsed on the floor and couldn't move. I rushed him to the ER Vet and well, everything went to hell quickly. He was diabetic, extremely dehydrated, critically anemic, enlarged heart/liver/kidneys, severe kidney infection, sky high blood pressure, and severe pancreatitis. Ultimately all of these issues damaged his heart and he had a grade 2 murmur and diagnosed with restrictive cardiomyopathy. All of this was caused by 3 injections of DepoMedrol over the course of a year. He was not expected to survive the first night, the second night, and on the third night they expected him to die from a stroke. He did survive and I brought him home on the fifth day. Squeaker was put on Lantus and 2 months later he was in remission but two weeks after that the heart damage caught up with him and he lapsed into congestive heart failure, he again was expected to die. Yet, again he survived. The prognosis after the CHF was death in 6 months but 27 months later he is still alive. All of that started in July 2013 and in May 2014 he developed pancreatitis again (Spec fPLI of 36) and went back on insulin for 6 weeks. Now unfortunately due to the heart damage he is in Stage 4 renal failure and has pancreatitis every 6 months regular as clockwork but not as serious as the first 2 bouts.

Squeaker's diabetes was medically induced. But I do believe that his pancreas was damaged and that is why he has pancreatitis every 6 months. So, to answer your question I do believe that an inflamed pancreatitis (pancreatitis) or a pancreas that "malfunctions" does cause diabetes. The pancreas produces insulin; insulin regulates glucose. When the insulin isn't produced or the production is insufficient, then the glucose isn't regulated---hence diabetes. Given that a pancreatitis test is not a standard part of testing I would suspect that all diabetic cats suffer from some degree of pancreatic issue before they become diabetic and diabetes is the noticeable end result. The big clue that makes me believe that my assessment is correct came after Squeaker relapsed in May 2015. The internist that was treating him wanted me to continue to give 1 u of Lantis BID even with a BG of <100 (no I didn't do that). His statement verbatim was: "The theory is that continuing the insulin will give his pancreas the chance to heal and function normally."
 
Anita and Squeaker:

I feel so for you and Squeaker. I hope more research is done in the future as to why cats develop pancreatitis. I hope it isn't something in the commercial food we are feeding, but I sometimes wonder. I have even tried making my own cat food from Dr. Lisa Pierson's recipe. They liked it, but they seemed to like the canned store canned food somewhat better. My Kuma Cat that developed pancreatitis and then diabetes, ate the homemade food really well and didn't develop any pancreatitis attacks while he was eating it. His weight even normalized (22 lbs. down to 16 lbs.). His weight seems to be creeping back up now after I haven't made it for a while. I think I will start making it again and feeding him at least half that and half store bought canned (low carbohydrate, high protein). And, yes, I have had some disappointing experiences with veterinary care also. Kuma's blood sugar tested about 90 (when he began to go into remission from his diabetes). I immediately called my vet to ask him what to do about whether I should give Kuma his shot that evening. He never suggested that I test his blood before his evening shot, or to possibly not give his evening shot and then test the next morning before his shot - just told me to continue on with shots (Kuma was getting 4 units morning/3 units evening at that point - so a substantial dose). Something in that advice from the vet did not seem right to me, and I went on this forum to ask what everyone's opinion was. They said DO NOT give a shot at a blood sugar of 90! If I hadn't gone on this forum for advice that evening, I may have killed my sweet Kuma. I can't believe all the help I've received from all the kind, educated, people here. You are doing such a good job of taking such good care of your Squeaker.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top