Klinger's not eating

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
It started last night. He wouldn't eat his dinner, eventuly got sick and we skipped his shot. He was much the same this morning. We tried a different food and he atere a little of that and pepcid ac. We shot a token dose of 1.5u. Please send good eating vibes...
 
Come on Klinger, baby, you have to eat.

I hope he feels better, Marcy. Sending "eat well" vibes his way. Could he have a fur ball or something he needs to bring up? He was eating OK yesterday wasn't he?
 
Thanks, ladies,
He was eating yesterday morning/early afternoon and then he didn't go for his usually +9 snack. I'm sure hoping it's a hairball and we're trying a little vaseline. He's 478 and I'm not sure what to dose him....he goes for his food, but then turns away from it.
 
Hi Marcy,
I hope you gave him some insulin. Even a half dose is better than none.

It is hard to know when to force them to eat. I usually don't worry unless they are "off their food" for 24 hours.

Did he puke anything up yet?
 
He vomited clear liquid Sunday night and again last night. We did give him 2 units last night and he was 114 at +10 and 102 at amps. He did eat some dinner and some breakfast this morning. Hoping its a hairball and nothing more serious.
 
We skipped his shot this morning because he was 102 and didn't feel comfortable shooting that with the amount of food he ate. He was 316 at his normal PMPS time. That's not normal for Klinger - skip a shot and he's clear into the reds/black. He ate some food at dinner and we shot 1 unit. He ate more when I got home along with his heart pill and pepcid ac, a little more vaseline. He's preening. Anything stomach related and I of course jump to the big C word. Praying that it's not!
Thanks for asking, Sheila.
 
It could still have been a low level p-titis flare. Since Beau's first p-titis episode was a severe one where he completely stopped eating for several days, that was what I thought it was always about, but after his FD dx I realized he would have "mini" attacks where his appetite dropped off over 1-3 days and then slowly increased again.

But I know what you mean about the "C" word. There just seems to be so much of that around everywhere - humans, cats, dogs. It's so scary.
 
Will he let you massagehis abdomen? If he's having a pancreatitis flare, he's likely not to allow it. Then you'd know to check with vet for fluids (limited, perhaps due to heart issues) and pain meds to help him out.
 
Hey there,
Klinger's been feeling somewhat better. I did massage his abdomen and he acted fine. Most of his p's are in place except for playing. His numbers have been a rainbow of color and we skipped some shots this week. 1.75 brought him down from a 552 pmps to 130 amps and he's been in the 200s most of the morning. Last week his dose was 3.75. nailbite_smile

The super moon is coming! fll_moon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top