Klinger PMPS 176 +2 112 +3 92 +4 58 +5 55 AMPS 243

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hi there,

Did I say I wasn't going to be a weenie in my earlier post today. Yeah, I don't know if I can stay the course. How do you know when a decrease is appropriate?
 
Re: Klinger PMPS 176 +2 112 +3 92

hmmm...well, I hope you can stay up or set alarm to get +4 and +6 and if either are lower than 50, if it were me, I'd feed regular low carb and test again in 1/2 hour.

For me, sleep would come after +7 AND 3 rising numbers in a row at 1/2 hour intervals.

If you are feeding the low carb and numbers keep getting lower, you'll want to get out the higher carb food...anything under 30 and if it were me, I
d be going for the karo or honey or syrup....

Otherwise, I think maybe just setting alarm for every few hours to test and feed?

See what other say...

Geeze...what is this guy doing to you!?!?! the last decrease brought high numbers and you had lower on higher dose, now you are heading too low on the 2.75u.

I guess, since you'll be testing through the night, you could get a mini curve and see what's what...probably a step down -a decrease is in order...

If you get into trouble over night, please post on health as they are faster to respond through night time generally...

you should be fine as long as you are testing and feeding...
 
Re: Klinger PMPS 176 +2 112 +3 92

How do you know when a decrease is appropriate?

If he hits 40 or below. He could level off in the 60s and be OK. But if you get a 60 the next hour, it would be a good idea to have some high carb food available as he will probably go lower. And next dose probably shouldn't be more than 2.5U as this drop is pretty fast.

With that said, we sometimes see a +4 low that they level off or come up from. Someone called it a wave goodbye from the previous dose. I have seen that. It's upsetting because you think they are dropping too fast, when it's really just carryover remaining as the new dose picks up steam.

Can you be up to get tests till you see steady numbers, meaning no more dropping numbers? I can't be on very much longer tonight, but Sheila usually checks in about 11PM.

There is always the health board if he drops below 40 and you need immediate help. You can bring up a low on Levemir fairly easily, as long as it's not an extreme overdose. Try to get him to eat some regular food if he's in the 50s next time. The goal is to stop the drop, not necessarily to make their BGs skyrocket. And I know it's tempting because it's higher carb, but don't give any dry food - that takes too long to digest and then makes them feel full too quickly so they won't eat when you need them to. Add to that the fact it will make BGs way higher the next day and dry food isn't the best ammunition for lows.

My favorite high carb food to stop low drops is Fancy Feast grilled varieties - 18% carbs and I defy any cat to turn it down! They love the stuff.

Hope that helps ease your trepidation with this turn of events. It's good to know he's reacting so well to Levemir now!!
 
Re: Klinger PMPS 176 +2 112 +3 92

Thanks Melissa. I'm hoping that his numbers will just level out from here (tonight). We've been through hypo before, so I'm good there, but I will post on health if I need to.

He likes to keep me on my toes! Jeez! :smile:
 
Re: Klinger PMPS 176 +2 112 +3 92

I totally missed your post Vicky. Thanks for the added information about the dose. I'll stay up or set the alarm for every 1/2 or 1hr if needed.
I have FF grilled in the pantry and Karo syrup if needed. He usually likes to eat again at +4 (in 25 minutes). I'm going to go test him now to see if he's gone down or is on the rise. BRB
 
Re: Klinger PMPS 176 +2 112 +3 92

We've been through hypo before, so I'm good there, but I will post on health if I need to.

Just remember a long duration insulin can mean a long duration hypo...so, you have hypo experience and know what to do, just know that you may have to do it for longer than before.

Gonna try to check back to see your +4....trying to stay awake! One eye open, the other half closed! @-)

K- see you just posted the 57...don't give him too much food...I think he'll probably need to eat through the night, so leave some room!

Remember if he keeps dropping, go to high carb...small amounts every 1/2 hour or so depending on numbers...
 
Re: Klinger PMPS 176 +2 112 +3 92

The 57 is predictable. Test him in a half hour after he eats. Hopefully it will remain above 50. If below 50, probably a good idea to give him maybe half a can of grilled FF.

Melissa, don't scare her with "extended hypo" talk. That only really applies if the cat has been truly overdosed, when it's units too much insulin, and emergency vets can hardly get the BG to budge even with dextrose drip. Yes, a little too much insulin can extend the duration somewhat, but I don't like needless hypo scare tactics when dealing with longer acting insulins. I have seen a meter reading of 21, where the only symptom was a need to eat. No glassy eyes, no blindness, no stumbling or staggering. What triggers a symptomatic hypo is going to be different from cat to cat, but food usually works well to manage lows on Levemir.
 
Re: Klinger PMPS 176 +2 112 +3 92 +4 58

Ok. Next test time will be in 15 minutes. for +4.5. 1/2 hour after eating.
Vicky, I know you have to go...I appreciate you hanging with us this long. Don't worry. I'll post on health if I need to.
So far, he's acting fine....
 
Re: Klinger PMPS 176 +2 112 +3 92 +4 58

he is holding steady... 58 is a fine number - if he doesn't drop more. Is he eating little bits of food?

The first time Beau dropped low on lev (3rs shot). I freaked 'cause I didn't have HC food. I ended up adding about a half tsp of Karo to reg FF. Don't know the carb count, but someone said that was good because the Karo would raise him up and the FF would keep him up longer.

Any new tests?
 
Re: Klinger PMPS 176 +2 112 +3 92 +4 58

Hi Sheila,
+5 55
Broke out the HC food - giving him a little of that...because it looks like he usually drops lower at the end of the cycle and I really don't want that to happen.
I'll retest in 15 min.

So, 2.5u tomorrow?
 
Re: Klinger PMPS 176 +2 112 +3 92 +4 58 +5 55

2.5u - yeah, that's what I'm thinking. According to Tilly he would have to drop below 40, but I always use 50 as my reduction nadir. He may still be safe on 2.75u if this is as low as he will go in the cycle, but its a little low for my taste. Some people regularly allow their cats to go into the 40s, even the 30s - and shoot full doses on that!

Anyway, you have to take your comfort level into it, how much you will be around to test, etc. Maybe see how 2.5u goes through Fri am and then raise back to 2.75 so you can get some tests on it over the weekend? Weel, that's days away for planning purposes...
 
Re: Klinger PMPS 176 +2 112 +3 92 +4 58 +5 55

Just tested and he's 75...

2.5 may work well. I just know he's not used to these numbers and know he'll bounce hard tomorrow. I just want to slow that bounce because that can't feel good either.
I'm going to set my alarm for an hour...just as a back up...my eyes are getting heavy and if I doze off, I want to make sure I wake up and test.
Be back a little bit later...
 
Re: Klinger PMPS 176 +2 112 +3 92 +4 58 +5 55

Mornin'

AMPS 243 - not too terrible of a bounce
Going with 2.5u for a few days...

~O) Have a great day
 
Hi Marcy,

You did a really good job managing the low numbers!

Glad you are lowering the dose! ;-)

Melissa & Paul-Kyle wrote:
Just remember a long duration insulin can mean a long duration hypo...so, you have hypo experience and know what to do, just know that you may have to do it for longer than before.

Vicky&Gandalf wrote:

Melissa, don't scare her with "extended hypo" talk. That only really applies if the cat has been truly overdosed, when it's units too much insulin, and emergency vets can hardly get the BG to budge even with dextrose drip. Yes, a little too much insulin can extend the duration somewhat, but I don't like needless hypo scare tactics when dealing with longer acting insulins.

Vicky, there was NO intention to "scare" Marcy, I was simply letting her know what she may not have been aware of using shorter acting insulins.

It was a simple statement made out of concern about information she needed to know.
 
Hi everyone,
I just wanted to say thanks again for your support last night...
I am so freakin exhausted...I definitely don't function well on 4 hours of sleep. I'm eating dinner and going to bed.
Klinger has bounced into the 400s. I'll test before I go to bed, but I probably won't get in anything much past a +2 :lol:

Have a lovely evening. I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top