Klinger Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please He's HOME! HCM

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Sending prayers and violet flame reiki to Klinger and to you.
I pray you will get positive news about Klinger and he'll continue to fight.
(((hugs)))
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Sending prayers and violet flame reiki to Klinger and your family.
I pray he will be improved this morning.
love & light
Angela & Henry
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

(((((((Marcy & Klinger)))))))
We are sending very positive thoughts to you this morning: thoughts, prayers, and healing vines for Klinger to make a complete recovery.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

My heart and thoughts are with you today Marcy. What a frightening thing to happen during a dental. (((((Marcy and Klinger)))) I hope Klinger makes a full recovery. Sending strength to you as you help him get well.
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

I just got off the phone with the internist. She was very pleased with his progress considering he did die yesterday. She's running another blood panel to make sure nothing's going wrong with his internal organs and will have those results later this afternoon. We'll be visiting him between 12-2 pm. The very BEST news is that he ATE!!!!!!!!!!!!! This morning he ate maybe 5 tablespoons before they started messing with him and he started growling and fighting them. That makes my heart soar. He's still blind and that can take a few weeks, if ever, to recover from.

Thank you for all the prayers, healing light, and support. Please keep it coming. We're so thankful to each and every one of you.
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Oh THANK YOU LORD!!! Keep eating and fighting KlingerBaby. MamaBean can deal with blind, that's an easy one, just keep eatin' and fightin'.

HUGS and HUGS Marcy,
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Woohoo for the eating and the being pissy with them when they are messing with him! If he has enough strength to fight them then he has enough strength to fight his way back to you guys...When love is strong, miracles happen!

Come on Buddy fight, fight, fight your mom, dad and little brother need you back so badly. And your extended family is sending you all their love and strength too.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Dearest Marcy,

I'm so glad to hear this news! It means he is a fighter and has a will to live! Not only did he eat but he fought them. Way to go, Klinger!!! :RAHCAT

Hang in there! He's probably going to look very rough when you visit him, please prepare yourselves for that. It's hard to see them like that. ((((((Marcy))))))
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Considering all that's happened this is the best possible news right now.
flip_cat

Continued prayers, support and healing and eating vines are coming your way.

C'mon Klinger baby, the world is rooting for you, there is still so much to live for. Please come home to Mama soon. And don't forget to nom, nom, nom, nom...
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Sounds Better! Come on Klinger keeping fighting!
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

I'm so glad to see a good report! Come on Klinger keep fighting! Still sending prayers for all of you. :YMHUG:

Barbara
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Marcy,

I am posting over here on the Lev board to tell you I am praying for Klinger. I am so sorry. I will be watching for updated posts.

Terri
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Marcy, you and Klinger have been in my thoughts all day (and half the night - it was prayers for Klinger that I fell asleep to). Still sending prayers and good thoughts your way.

Yay, for eating! Yay, for being pissy! Keep fighting Klinger, but also rest and gain your strength.

Klinger, Beau and especially Jeddie send their healing thoughts your way, sweet boy.

S-
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Oh my GOD Marcy-I am SO sorry!!!! My thoughts and prayers go out to you and Klinger. There is hope though - don't give up. It sounds like he's a fighter. I've seen cats on this board who have had temporary blindness and getting their site back again. He's special....he's gonna pill through! Come on Klinger!!!! Keep fighting!
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

I hope the visit today went well Marcy. Everyone is so pulling for your boy. Keep fighting Klinger - your Mommy loves you so much as do all of us here on FDMB. (((Marcy)))
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Thank you so much for keeping Klinger in your prayers. We just got back from visiting him. They moved him out of the oxygen cage :thumbup His blood pressure is normal. His potassium was a little high, so they removed that from the intravenous fluids he's receiving. His liver value is elevated, but she's pretty sure it will come down soon. He ate the smelts and shrimp we brought him. :-D He was pretty growly with us, but he usually is at the vet, so we weren't discouraged. He has an appt with the cardiologist tomorrow morning.

Vicky - they called us yesterday when they were still trying to revive him. He was gone for 10 minutes...10 minutes is a heck of a long time. We were there and saw him at his worst - it was scary and I won't go into detail here...I still picture him like that when I close my eyes. Anyway, he looked awesome today compared to yesterday. Here he is in his non-oxygen "room"

He still needs your prayers, love, and support. We still can't thank you all enough.
 

Attachments

  • Klinger 02192012.jpg
    Klinger 02192012.jpg
    9.5 KB · Views: 2,352
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

That sounds hopeful, Marcy. Especially that he is eating. he must feel better. Maybe he is confused about where he is because he can't see? In some ways, maybe that is less stressful. But he must be able to smell that he is in a vet hospital. Have you taken in a t-shirt or something with your smells on it? That might be helpful.

Did they say how his ketones are? I can't remember and the link to him profile wasn't working yesterday, did he have any cardiac issues before this?

Hang in there. We are all pulling for Klinger.
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Hey Marcy, I heard from Claudia about your sweet boy and want you to know we're praying for the best. Such a beautiful boy!
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

I was expecting him to be hooked up to tubes or something I guess. I'm sorry you had to see him on the operating table. That had to have been horrible. Hugs. Cats are amazing creatures - the fact that he didn't have a heartbeat for 10 minutes and is still with us is astounding. I applaud your vet's staff for trying so hard to help him. The best staffs are prepared for such events and yours is certainly one of the best!

I pray for his continued improvement and that the cardiologist can identify what happened.
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Thank you for the update! Thank goodness he's better. Keep going Klinger!!!!
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

10 minutes?! I'm surprised they called you & you were able to get there so fast but sorry you had to see him like that. I'm so glad he's doing better. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Marcy, this is such positive news! Keep up the good work, Klinger. All FDMB is rooting for your complete recovery.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

So sorry to hear this happened Marcy. We're sending love and healing light your way.
(((((hugs)))))
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Ketones, liver values, and potassium are all back to normal values. His latest BG number was 225 - he's still on R insulin.

Ok, uh, Klinger might be coming home tomorrow after his ultrasound with the cardiologist. I'm so happy, but terrified at the same time. How can we make him more comfortable in his surroundings with his new blindness???
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Marcy, just saw this post today, I am so sorry this happened to Klinger. Sending lots of prayers for his complete recovery. He knows his home, he knows the surroundings, his eyesight will prove not to be a problem for him. Keep positive thoughts, he has come so far, nothing can stop him now.
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

I'm so so so relieved! I'm sure he'll do fine with blindness...except when that spunky kitten Radar gets in his way! He knows your house and how it's set up. It shouldn't take him long to figure it out. He'll know he is home and he will find so much comfort in that. He's done so well fighting to get back there- I know he's got more fight in him to overcome the blindness. Sending you all so much love and anxious to hear more updates!
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Very happy to hear this...what a trooper! you may want to keep him confined to a small area at first so he feels more in control of his surrounding.
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Marcy & Klinger said:
Ketones, liver values, and potassium are all back to normal values. His latest BG number was 225 - he's still on R insulin.

Ok, uh, Klinger might be coming home tomorrow after his ultrasound with the cardiologist. I'm so happy, but terrified at the same time. How can we make him more comfortable in his surroundings with his new blindness???

Marcy,
What about starting a new post with a subject like
Need tips for preparing blind-proofing home for newly blind cat

I know that Nancy and Cody can help with some tips like closing off places Klinger can get into but then be stuck and can't get out.

I am so relieved to hear Klinger's recovering so well; I love to hear of the feistyness.
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

I agree with Gayle about starting a new thread to get help with him coming home - but start it on Health. It will get more eyes there - and maybe link it here on lev since people are checking her for updates?

Also, agree about blocking off areas he can get stuck in, especially at first. And have a safe area/room to confine him to when no one is home. Some place he can't get stuck under, behind or through something - like cords and such.

I had a cat that had a couple of strokes and while he didn't loose his eyesight, he was mentally effected and circled the rooms (always counter-clockwise, for some reason) along the wall and did not seem to have a "reverse" gear. He managed to get stuck behind a radiator at night. It was going full blast, of course, and all I could think to do was reach down behind it and pull him upward. I burned my arm doing it, but he seemed to be OK - my point being that even a place you think they can't get stuck - like a few inches between a radiator and a wall - they can get stuck there if they are determined, confused, and/or scared.

I don't mean to alarm you and you are already nervous about it - just look around, under, behind things and think like a cat. You, and Klinger, will be fine. And all of us will start praying for his sight to return.
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Continuing to send prayers and healing reiki to Klinger.
Cats can do very well with blindness, especially in familiar surroundings, it just takes some adjustments.
Hopefully, the blindness is temporary, he truly is a miracle cat and he has made so much progress already.
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

I know I dont belong in this condo but I just HAD to say how proud I am of you and Klinger What BRAVE fighters you are! God bless you both.
jeanne
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

jt and trouble (GA) said:
I know I dont belong in this condo but I just HAD to say how proud I am of you and Klinger What BRAVE fighters you are! God bless you both.
jeanne
Jeanne, why do you think you "do not belong"? That's just silly. Everyone is welcome on lev and to post encouragement and good wishes to anyone. It's Marcy's thread, but I think I can speak for her on this.
 
Re: Klinger Dental -Cardiac Arrest/ICU Prayers Please

Klinger is HOME!! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
The echo revealed that he does have Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy (HCM) and was rx diltiazem. He'll be starting that tonight and they want me to reduce his insulin to 1 unit and hold it there until our follow up appt on Friday.

He's a little unsteady when he walks, but he is walking. We've blocked off the basement stairs from him and of course he's hanging out in front of them. He ate and drank as soon as we got home and he's now lounging out trying to figure out what the heck's been going on since Saturday.

Radar is very happy to have him home, but he's back to his tricks of trying to play with him from under the bed. I think we'll have to separate them when we return to work.

More to come...
Going to search the internet for HCM.
Thank you all, big HUGS from us.
 
Happy homecoming, Klinger! Marcy, you must be so happy to have him home.

I don't know if you remember, but Beau has HCM. He was dx at age 3 and have been on diltiazem every since (plus lasix in the beginning and pred for severe pancreatitis). He was given a 2-5 year prognosis. That was 10 years ago. I can't remember what his starting dose on diltiazem was, but his maintenance dose has been 1/4 tab (of a 30 mg tab) once a day. So, this is doable.

I will be praying that Klinger does as well with HCM as Beau has - and that he gets some or all of his sight back.
 
AWESOME NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So glad Klinger is back home where he belongs, with his loving family. I'm sure he will adjust well and Radar will keep him on his toes!
Been thinking of you guys all day...great news to come home too. Please give him some hugs and kisses from me and Jack!

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT flip_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Great News! Nothing like being home safe and sound to make a complete recovery. So very happy to hear this news!

Continued prayers and healing vibes.
 
Oh Marcy, so very glad to hear he is home.

I am sorry that I don't have any experience with HCM to share like Sheila and others. If you go to the Health forum and put in HCM in the Search box you will get lots of info from others on the board that have cats with this - I got 95 hits.

Jess and Earl often replies to HCM posts since that is her specialty so look for posts that she has replied in. You might also edit the title of your post on Health with the HCM dx too and maybe she will see it.

Poor baby, I hope his sight comes back soon. Here is one person's experience on Ask the Doctor and the doctor's response....scroll down - it continues to the end of the page. Maybe something here that might help although it looks like you got some excellent responses here and on Health too.

http://www.justanswer.com/cat-health/4rawg-cat-went-cardiac-arrest-getting-spayed-last.html

Were they able to do the dental before this happened? Just curious.....I know that is the least of your problems right now. (((Marcy and Klinger)))
 
Hi again Marcy! congrats that the big boy is home, eating, and possibly regaining some vision!

Cody also has an enlarged heart. It's part of his acromegaly. They found it about 2.5 years ago when they did an US for possible triaditis and his megacolon. He's been on enelapril, which like your diltiazen, also is a drug that dialates the arteries, to decrease how hard the heart works. FYI I looked it up on a drug interaction checker, and it looks pretty safe with your levemir. I wondered, because many of the other acro cats are on either enelapril or benazapril for their large hearts, and both of them do note interaction warnings. Benazapril is favored by some vets treating acro, because it seems to favorably influence protein in the urine, which is an issue for so many cats . Benazapril has really dropped the insulin needs of some of our super high dosers. I've never really noticed much difference with enelapril.

Anyway, just wanted to reassure you that HCM kitties can live long lives! and to send cyber hugs to your boy :-D
 
This is the BEST news I've heard! Klinger is home!!!

He must have had some Angels sitting on his shoulders to recover from such a frightening ordeal. 10 minutes!!! OMG

Hugs and more hugs to you, Marcy, and to your miracle kitty, Klinger. ((((((((((Marcy and Klinger))))))))))
 
YAY!!! WELCOME HOME KLINGER!!!!

10 minutes!!! OMG!!! I have to tell you this has me more than a little concerned for my two extra sweet babies, Musette & Maxwell both go for their pre-dental exams this Thursday. If my vet thought I was going to grill him on how they are going to handle their dentals, I think I have added like 200 more questions to ask now before I schedule either one of them to actually have their teeth done. :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Musettte & Fur Gang
 
Oh Marcy, what an awful weekend! I am so sorry to hear about Klinger, and of course you all have my prayers. I read your posts and glanced at others, but FWIW, if the blindness has anything to do with the diabetes, it is possible that Klinger might regain his sight. dB had a couple of very bad hypos and had temporary blindness. His vision wasn't perfect afterward, but he did regain most of it. Sending you lots of prayers, white light, vines, snowflakes, and whatever else I can muster! Keep the faith!!!!!
 
Sorry there's been no update. I had to go back to work today. Klinger appears much the same as yesterday, content to be on his cozy bed. I was able to catch him in the LB and thankfully no ketones appeared! Yay!

It's amazing the things you forget...Craig asked if I told anyone at work and I said no (they're not furbaby people and often tell me I'm crazy for treating a diabetic cat). Craig did and he was telling one of his coworkers how cool it was when we got there that Klinger's oxygenation was 60% and they were getting ready to but the tube down his nose into his lungs and Craig said to me - go over there and talk to him, which of course I did and his number immediately increased to 93%. Isn't that awesome!

Pamela - they didn't get to do his dental. This all happened as soon as they put him under. So, what ever shape his mouth is in, he'll have to live with it for the time being.

They can't really say for sure if he'll ever regain his sight. They say that it might take a few weeks or he may never get it back. He's been doing pretty well so far.

Going to spend some time with Klinger. Thanks for thinking of him and keeping him in your prayers.
 
Thanks for the update Marcie. I know you've got a lot to do & of course you need to spend all the time you can with Klinger. Give him kisses & tell him what a fan club he has here!

That is an amazing story about his oxygenation coming up when you were talking to him! I'm so glad ya'll were able to get there so quickly, especially since your voice helped him out so much.

I don't have any experience at all with a blind kitty but I'm impressed he's using the LB. Take care & keep us upated when you can. Praying he continues to do well. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top