Klinger - are we in rebound?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hi, I haven't been updating Klinger's ss as often as I should and so I wasn't getting the big picture. I just updated it and took a good look. I think we're in rebound and have been in rebound. Yes?

Please take a look at his ss and let me know your thoughts. He gets a good cycle here and there and then we have strings of 300s.

All p's in place, neg-ketones, eating more, still allergy free (anti-jinx), coat is really soft.

Our neighbor's cat (who he used to fight with) went to the bridge a few weeks ago and Klinger is still on the look out for him. I think he misses him. It's kind of weird to because he won't go on the side of the yard closest to their house. That's the only negative that's happened/changed in his routine.

Thanks for taking a look.
 
HI Marcy and Klinger,

Sending some good juju and vibes your way. Sorry I have no advice to give as I'm still too new to the Lev sugar dance to be able to read SS's like the pros.

Yea for the whole kitty report. Poor Klinger is going to have to find another outdoor "friend" to play with. Maybe Lori can spare some gophers. :lol:

Purrrs and rubs from noir brother Harley.
 
Hi Marcy.
He sure did jump today from his AM reading. It looks like he should be settled in with that dose also. Maybe he does miss his friend, cats do mourn loses. Wishful thinking huh? Just trying to figure out why the jumping around. If you locate the post from yesterday to me from Pamela, she thinks Alley is rebounding also. I had no idea, she suggests a supplement to help level him out. I can't lower his dose anymore since he is at 1 drop, so I am getting the supplement. I wrote it down somewhere on my messy desk, but I think it is Taurine (?). I wonder if she thinks that would help Klinger at all.
Hopefully, the more experienced ladies will chime in with their opinions. I certainly will be following Klinger's ss for the next few weeks.
Good luck Marcy and hang in there, it is so worth it.
 
Oh Marcy, what a pretty spreadsheet Klinger has! So many different colors! The blues and reds contrast so nice, don't they?

Yeah, I'm afraid he's in rebound. It took me a little while to pin it down, but let's look at April 21st. He had been getting a skinny 2U for a while - actually back up to April 11th when he had the 64,72 & 88, that's probably the first best indication that the 2U had done its job and was ready to be backed off of. But he didn't rebound hard off that, so you were right to think it was all good. THEN on the 21st-22nd he had a hard rebound because he had probably gone lower on the midday of the 21st. The result was several days of high flat numbers, which is seen with rebound on the longer acting insulins.

The real kicker for me is when DH was home and Klinger had 50s even a 43 at +12.75! That AM he had a 404 at +2, then it's "Woah, Nellie!" He dropped to the 50s only 10 hours after that. Yeah, too much insulin.

His numbers are a good example of how their system works to protect them. It's not that he's getting a huge overdose, so you keep getting decent numbers sometimes, then greens seem to come out of nowhere and poof, before you know it there's another 400+.

Some of his lows might be occurring overnight when he's not getting tested. That would explain the mostly decent AM numbers, then by PM he's in pink or red again.

The question now is to what to reduce him to stop this rollercoaster. He should get lower than what his best dose might be, so I'm thinking 1.5U. Back in February and March he had some good cycles around 1.5 to 1.75U, so maybe his best dose is between there. You could even go a little lower than 1.5U, just in case he only needs 1.5U. I can see that as possible.

You were able to drop his dose fairly rapidly once he started hitting greens from the end of January through mid-February or so. The reason that happened is in January he had considerable insulin resistance going on, so the dose needed to be higher to break through that. Once you hit 3U, he began coming down rapidly. He's not had so much resistance lately that you should need to go up anymore to break through. You just have to stop the rebound train. The way to do that is lower the dose and work back up once he begins having steadier numbers.

I hope this helps! It's really nice when you have a good spreadsheet with lots of data - even when it is all kinds of pretty colors!
 
Pam & Alley said:
Hi Marcy.
He sure did jump today from his AM reading. It looks like he should be settled in with that dose also. Maybe he does miss his friend, cats do mourn loses. Wishful thinking huh? Just trying to figure out why the jumping around. If you locate the post from yesterday to me from Pamela, she thinks Alley is rebounding also. I had no idea, she suggests a supplement to help level him out. I can't lower his dose anymore since he is at 1 drop, so I am getting the supplement. I wrote it down somewhere on my messy desk, but I think it is Taurine (?). I wonder if she thinks that would help Klinger at all.
Hopefully, the more experienced ladies will chime in with their opinions. (They don't want me to say "experts" anymore.) I certainly will be following Klinger's ss for the next few weeks.
Good luck Marcy and hang in there, it is so worth it.

I have not tested the taurine theory myself. It seems people think the pet food companies don't put enough in their food. I don't think it could hurt for a chronic-diseased cat to get extra. They have to get it from their food and like with people, who knows if the "recommended daily allowance" is really enough.

As for the "expert" thing. The use of the term for some more experienced members has caused a kerfluffle elsewhere on the board in the past and we would like to not start kerfluffles. The use of the term also seems to preclude anyone else from offering their opinions, and we want to consider what others think regardless of their experience. It fosters an "everyone-learns-so-everyone-can-teach" environment, instead of relying on so-called experts to be the only ones with an answer.

And really it's only because we want you all to become your own "experts" so you can help others too! If you haven't noticed, we're a little short handed here. :sad:
 
I'm in 98% agreement with Vicky (nice explanation of what you are thinking and why, Vicky!). He may need less than 1.5u. I can see some early rebounding off of 1.25u in Feb (or maybe it was Mar).

You could try 1.25 or somewhere between that and 1.5u and see how he does.

Good catch on the rebound, Marcy. There is nothing like a SS with the colors to show you a pattern has developed.
 
Good morning, I just woke up and I haven't had my coffee yet...I may go back to bed ;-) I'll have to read everyone's posts again when I'm more awake.

Thank you everyone for replying. Vicky, thank you for that wonderful explaination. I see what you mean and I kept waiting for the same scenario to play out again - where we would have a break through and reduce his dose down quickly. But it makes sense that we wouldn't have that same scenario again, because we don't have the same resistance from when we switched from prozinc.

Since you and Sheila both think his number might be lower than 1.50, I'll drop him down to 1.25 and see how he does.

I truly appreciate your time looking at our pretty colored ss. :lol: Ugh! I should have asked sooner! :roll:
Seriously, thank you all for your time, advice, and support - it means alot.
:YMHUG:
 
I agree with you Vicky...it's always harder for me to see clearly when it comes to Klinger. Some days I think I have this handled and then the next a faint breeze blows in and the house of cards falls down. ohmygod_smile

He had a pretty high day:
AMPS 384, 1.25u
+2 428
+5 410
+8 345
+10 336
PMPS 374, 1.25u
ETA> +2 320 :smile:

He may need time to clear, so I'm not discouraged yet. Especially when he had similar numbers on 5/26 on 2.25u's.

Thanks again ladies.
 
Oh good, he's showing some movement on the second 1.25U. Making that large of dose change will probably cause some funky cycles for a few days even. It's almost like today his body said, "Oh my, where did all the insulin go?" The liver probably had a panic attack just because of that!

Even if the numbers are higher, we're looking for steadier numbers. So where he's at is a good thing. No more bouncy flouncy, Tigger kind of cycles.

And I mean the orange stripey Tigger, not Pamela's Tigger. ;-)
 
:lol: at Vicky's comment.

Well crumbs!
AMPS 434, 1.25
+3 499
+6 379

How long should I keep him on 1.25? Just want to make sure I don't jump the gun and there aren't many people on at 4:20 a.m. :shock:
 
Once the bouncing stops, especially when the dose has been lowered this much, it may be fine to raise dose on the 4th day if they're not getting much movement. What I'm afraid could happen for Klinger, as well as Jack, is that they become insulin resistant due to the high numbers. So if you're not seeing below 350s consistently by Day 3 of the lower dose, it's probably a good idea to increase on day 4.

Going to 1.5U then does not seem unreasonable, though I know we mentioned he may need only that much and wanted to start below that.

Like I told Darlene, it seems like their body wonders where the insulin went when the dose is lowered so much, so you get those 400s. Dose changes in and of themselves can cause the dramatic numbers, not the fact that the dose is lowered so much. He might come around in another day. This is the hard part, none of us want to see them so high consistently.
 
Thanks Vicky! I hope Klinger and Jack aren't insulin resistant. Paws crossed.

Our a/c broke and we've had the windows open. This afternoon, I noticed that Klinger was scratching up his ears. I gave him L-lysine in his dinner. Hope that helps him feel better. I do enough damage to his ears without him adding to it! :YMSIGH:

PMPS 382, 1.25u
 
Marcy...I think these kitties are going to drive us crazy!!! I hate seeing only those 300's and 400's too. Dose too high...too low....it's such a mystery! Sometimes for Jack just one drop more or less makes a big difference. Good luck to you both...hang in there!
 
I don't know if it would contribute much, but maybe he's higher because he's uncomfortable? Some kitties like air blowing on them, Gandalf does, but he's long-haired. I hope you have a couple fans! It's going to be mid 90s here for the next 3 or 4 days, heat indexes in the 100s. Ugh, it's too early for August weather!!!
 
Darlene, these kitties like to keep us dancing!

Day 3
AMPS 400 1.25
+2 480
PMPS 483 1.25
+2 381 - he didn't eat much dinner, so I'm not surprised by this drop. He ate more after the +2.

This heat is a nightmare. I'm on a stay-cation next week, so I'm hoping to get an electrician out to run a separate line for the a/c.
We ran out an bought an a/c for the bedroom and I put Klinger in the room, but he won't stay in the room. I wish he would even go in the basement...it's like 20 degrees cooler down there.
I'll get another check in before bed, but it looks like we're increasing to 1.5u's tomorrow.
Thanks,
Marcy & Klinger
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top