Klinger, 1/1/13

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Happy New Year!!
It's been a while since I've posted an update on Klinger. He's as unpredictable as ever, but all p's are in place.
Today:
AMPS 402; shot 2 units
+6 266;
+8 143;
+10 82;
PMPS 53 sheesh! Skipping the shot. We've had to do that a few times lately, plus some fur shots and he's all over the board.

Wishing you all a healthy and happy New Year!
 
I was wondering with the late nadir and low PS if he needs a dose reduction? I see that you have come down from 2.5u recently (a week ago?) and that 1/75 didn't seem to hold his numbers, but maybe he is ready for it now?

FWIW, I think you would have better results if you retested on a low PS in an hour or so and shot a reduced dose instead of skipping. Finding the amount to reduce takes time and data, but you could start with 50% or even go to 25% if you weren't sure. Shooting .5u on a rising number (on a day like today, once he is over 100 probably) would at least give him some insulin to work with. That 53 is a really low number and one I would reduce the dose on because it is such a late nadir.

Glad he is doing so well after all he went through last year.
 
Thanks for taking a look, Sheila. I always welcome your thoughts. I debated with shooting a reduced dose for a few hours last night and I should have! Klinger was in the 500s this morning. I shot 1.75 (I probably should have shot 2 units to get him down into better numbers) and he was down to 361 at pmps; shot 1.75. I'll hold him here for a few cycles to see if he'll settle into the dose.

I hope 2013 is a better year for all of our kitties. (fingers and paws crossed)
 
I would have shot 2u into that 500 just to help him down, and then reduced at the next shot. You may find that you have to stick a 2u dose in there to help him along, but maybe give it another cycle to see how he does by Thurs evening.

I was going to post exactly the same thing you did about 2013! Didn't want to jinx anyone or anything.
 
Well Klinger was 466 at PMPS and I couldn't stand seeing him that high again. I shot 2 units. Hopefully he'll be shootable in the morning and then I can try 1.75 again. Or draw the insulin to 2 units and release a drop and see if that will hold?

Hi Robin! Happy New Year to you and yours too!

ANTI JINX!!​
 
That 2 units last night produced a 137 amps. I'll shoot a drop less than 2 units. I'll only be able to get a +2 before leaving for work.

Happy Friday! ~O)
 
Glad he is back down from his bounce. You might be able to go to 1.75u now. Can you get spot checks over the weekend?

Yay for Friday - although I find it hard to remember what day it is since I haven't had a work schedule for 2-1/2 years... :roll:
 
Ugh - he was in the 400s for pmps. I went back up to 2 units. I'll be around this weekend to get a few spot checks.
I used to work 4-10 hour days with Friday off and now I work 5-8 hour days. I do miss my three day weekends.
 
Hi Marcy -

Looks like Klinger and TC are taking the same painting class! What an amazing palette of color he gives you! Kudos to you for keeping your dancing shoes polished!

Hey Klinger - tell your mom you need more scritches! Your buddy, Grayson
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top