Kittys Original Blood Work and Updates.

Status
Not open for further replies.
BJM said:
You're on Prozinc, so feed first, then shoot (about 15 minutes after feeding)

I have been shooting while he feeds. Vet never said when. I just assumed. Its already done. Dammit.
 
MommaOfMuse said:
bare minium...is before each shot and then again at right around +6 to try to find the nadir (lowest point).

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang

Please explain further.
You truncated the explanation to much.
 
Well I test Musette slightly more than what I suggested but at the very least you will want to test Kitty right before you feed and give insulin in the morning and the evening, also you will want to get at least a +6 (6 hours after insulin) to find his nadir (or the lowest point he is going to go on that dose). Since I'm home all day with Musette I test her before her am shot (AMPS) then +3 (3 hours after shot) which is her onset, then again at her nadir (+6 or 6 hours after) then again at +9 and then again right before I feed her and give her insulin at night. Mostly because in Musette's case she has been a tough cat to regulate and likes to ocassionally with no changes in her diet decide to either plunge way down or go soaring up. She is also a DKA survivor so I have to be extra careful to not let her get too high and start passing ketones.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Well I test Musette slightly more than what I suggested but at the very least you will want to test Kitty right before you feed and give insulin in the morning and the evening, also you will want to get at least a +6 (6 hours after insulin) to find his nadir (or the lowest point he is going to go on that dose). Since I'm home all day with Musette I test her before her am shot (AMPS) then +3 (3 hours after shot) which is her onset, then again at her nadir (+6 or 6 hours after) then again at +9 and then again right before I feed her and give her insulin at night. Mostly because in Musette's case she has been a tough cat to regulate and likes to ocassionally with no changes in her diet decide to either plunge way down or go soaring up. She is also a DKA survivor so I have to be extra careful to not let her get too high and start passing ketones.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang

Got it.
What about shortly after feeding?
BJM suggested 15 min after.
Kitty just had seconds like he normally does. Takes a break then comes back a couple minutes later for a few more bites.
 
I shoot Mishka while she is eating. I know Mishka and I know if she doesn't eat something is wrong. She has now decided to eat a little, then go back and eat more whereas for years she would hoover the food down, nothing left. I also would do a spot check somewhere around +3 and maybe a +6 and then before bedtime. Doing a curve you will test, feed and shoot and then every 2 hrs. (+2) you will test so you will get a +2, +4, +6 and so on. Once you see a downward movement you might want to do a test every hour till he starts to climb back up. Not every cat peaks at +6. Mishka can decide to run away with a dose and keep going till morning before peaking so I cannot shoot her because she is too low. ECID and my meter is my best friend :mrgreen: I'm more a believer in spot checks during the course of a cycle them I am doing curves. Once again, Mishka believes that every day should be different...sometimes flat, sometimes curve up, sometimes curve down, etc. After 8 years I'm used to her.
 
ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

That's it. I need bourbon!!!

Needles and shots and pills OH MY!!!!

Heading in to get another reading.
 
You shot 1 unit, right? Okay, food spikes them up, usually, and ProZinc as with other PZI insulin, takes a while to kick in. Remember, you are gathering data on how well 1 unit works. This disease takes a lot of patience to deal with therefore we call it the sugardance. Better a little high one time than too low one time and there wasn't enough info to go on to say raise the dose. Once in, you can't get it back out and you do not add more insulin now either.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
You shot 1 unit, right? Okay, food spikes them up, usually, and ProZinc as with other PZI insulin, takes a while to kick in. Remember, you are gathering data on how well 1 unit works. This disease takes a lot of patience to deal with therefore we call it the sugardance. Better a little high one time than too low one time and there wasn't enough info to go on to say raise the dose. Once in, you can't get it back out and you do not add more insulin now either.

Here is what I got so far as far as going to the vet.
The Feeding was around 5 AM. (Old Diet) Vet was at 7:45 474
Second visit. Feeding and shot was at about 6:30. Vet was 8 AM. 275
Third visit. Feeding and shot was at 6:45. Vet was 9:15. 326

1 unit at feedings.

First home test 441.
1 unit shot.
Second home test about 1/2 hour after feeding 480.
 
When we write up our results in a post, we often do it as follow because we're in lots of different time zones, some exactly opposite the US!

AMPS ###
+2 ###
+4 ###
etc.
PMPS ###

Where AMPS = morning pre-shot, PMPS = evening pre-shot, and +2, +4 etc are how many hours after the insulin was given.
 
BJM said:
When we write up our results in a post, we often do it as follow because we're in lots of different time zones, some exactly opposite the US!

AMPS ###
+2 ###
+4 ###
etc.
PMPS ###

Where AMPS = morning pre-shot, PMPS = evening pre-shot, and +2, +4 etc are how many hours after the insulin was given.

Got it.
Just noticed my post time is an our off on the site. I am on eastern standard.
 
So if I collected this correctly, you have:

441 PMPS, 1 unit
480 + :30
381 + 3

Nice drop of 100 points in 3 hours; it may or may not continue that strongly. Usually a curve has a parabolic shape which may be wide and flat or narrow and steep, or ideally something in between with a smooth drop and rise.
 
BJM said:
So if I collected this correctly, you have:

441 PMPS, 1 unit
480 + :30
381 + 3

Nice drop of 100 points in 3 hours; it may or may not continue that strongly. Usually a curve has a parabolic shape which may be wide and flat or narrow and steep, or ideally something in between with a smooth drop and rise.

That is correct.
 
Ok lets try this fresh from the morning

7:00 AMPS 433 0+
7:10 1 unit given
+1 505.
+2 421
+3 397
 
Not sure why the readings are generally lower at the vet for the same time span.
 
Sev,
KT's spreadsheet is attached to my signature - I have inserted a column for the shot time and another one as a reference of my last pm test. If you so choose, you can just save mine, rename it, remove KT's numbers and go for it. It may already be set up with info that you like to keep.

We never forget that sense of programming regardless of how long ago it was....may have to brush up on today's terminology but the 'logic' is still the same....just a lot easier...

Extra scratches for fuzzybutt....
 
Squeaky and KT said:
Sev,
KT's spreadsheet is attached to my signature - I have inserted a column for the shot time and another one as a reference of my last pm test. If you so choose, you can just save mine, rename it, remove KT's numbers and go for it. It may already be set up with info that you like to keep.

We never forget that sense of programming regardless of how long ago it was....may have to brush up on today's terminology but the 'logic' is still the same....just a lot easier...

Extra scratches for fuzzybutt....
:lol:

Yah well the days of Ascii, HEX, Cobalt, RPG and Pascal are long behind me.
 
Sev said:
Squeaky and KT said:
Sev,
KT's spreadsheet is attached to my signature - I have inserted a column for the shot time and another one as a reference of my last pm test. If you so choose, you can just save mine, rename it, remove KT's numbers and go for it. It may already be set up with info that you like to keep.

We never forget that sense of programming regardless of how long ago it was....may have to brush up on today's terminology but the 'logic' is still the same....just a lot easier...

Extra scratches for fuzzybutt....

Thank you.

:lol:

Yah well the days of Ascii, HEX, Cobalt, RPG and Pascal are long behind me.
 
We generally do 1 post a day per cat, and call it a "condo" in some forums. Take a look under the PZI forum, which also covers ProZinc. Thats where I typically post about Spitzer.

Other posts in Think Tank and Community, for example, which are not specific to a cat, may be multiple for separate topics.
 
BJM said:
We generally do 1 post a day per cat, and call it a "condo" in some forums. Take a look under the PZI forum, which also covers ProZinc. Thats where I typically post about Spitzer.

Other posts in Think Tank and Community, for example, which are not specific to a cat, may be multiple for separate topics.

No problem.
Different forums use different approaches.
It works for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top