Kitty's curve today--6/14

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
I have moved this here so it will be easier to look at for tonight's dose. Is this +6 due to the steep drop or the liver reacting from last night?

amps >500 (Hi) shot 4 units
+4 258
+6 344
+9.5. 578 wow
pmps. 558
 
I think this is a 'who knows' kind of situation. All we can do is speculate because you are under a different set of circumstances than before, so you won't see regular patterns right now. Could be liver protection, could be an early nadir, we'll just have to wait and see :-D
 
Actually the #'s aren't as bad as I thought they would be, considering .... probably a combination of everything that went on last night but the +4 is very nice! You're doing well! give Kitty a hug from Payne who feels for other kitties, she cuddles her civvies when they don't feel well :)
 
By the way, I don't know how Kitty is with pilling---Squamee was impossible, so I would always go with injections if I could. If you do pill and use pill pockets, be aware that the regular ones have sugar in them. You need the ones that are labeled allery and are duck flavored.
 
I gave her the yogurt-- she loved it. I don't know what I did to her sugars, but it can't be any worse than the Purina one.

She ate 1/2 can FF and 1/2 container of yogurt.

You want another test?

Just tested ketones again-- negative
 
+9.5 578

Not that it matters, it is what it is, but is this the food?

Should I shoot early?
 
who knows?! What was in the yoghurt? (Very glad to hear she is eating and not vomiting!) Even if you shoot somewhat early, perhaps you should wait awhile---it will impact your schedule for tomorrow.
 
I know the yogurt didn't effect the test because she ate it about 5 mins before testing.

The yogurt was 7 percent carb-- but there was some sugar in it .

The container said contains probiotics????
 
I will look at the container when I get home and double check. Maybe there is a sugar free yogurt.

Robin-- should I shoot early and how much?

I just gave her fluids.

Judy-- the schedule doesn't bother me-- should I shoot?
 
There are lots of yoghurt made without added sugar. The sugar listed in those is the nutritional breakdown from the carbs metabolized as sugar. I don't know how you calculate that for effect on BG levels.. Yoghurt which is made with "active" cultures such as acidolphulus,is a probiotic. That's why doctors often recommend it when you are taking ABs.
 
I am reluctant to advise, but if you shoot early, I would not shoot earlier than +10. And I would get another test. I wish others would chime in.
 
What are you thinking of shooting? It still may be advisable to lower the dose after all that has happened, you don't know where these numbers are coming from, and you don't know if her nausea will return. Don't panic about the high number, you will get it under control.
 
I am at +10.5 now.

If I was just on my own I would probably shoot 4 units--but, that is just because 4 units is entrenched in my head.
 
I'm hesitant to tell you what to shoot because I don't have experience with a sweet kitty that has gone DKA. I am also nervous for you to shoot 4 units and have a repeat of last night. nailbite_smile Would you consider a lower dose? Hopefully others will be on soon. Hang in there.
 
Boy, given the events of the last 24 hours I would reduce the dose. Judy is spot on about there is so much we don't know. So now it is just a guessing game.

I wouldn't shoot this early. I would wait until at least +11 and get another test in.

Since you are basically starting over with a brand new Ms. Kitty, no UTI, dental done, I think I would consider starting over with the dose too at 1 unit.

I'm not going to be around for the next 2 hours so I'm going to vote now, either 1 unit to start but nothing over 3 units. Let the debate begin.

Old school was that after a hypo event you skip the next shot to let the carbs wear off and then give a token dose.
 
I would shoot 3.5 but it is your call .... because of everything you don't want to go too low and maybe bring on other things.
 
Because of the previous DKA .... I would be very afraid to go to 1u. She is maintaining neg. ketones through out this but lowering her insulin too much, I would be too afraid of other things, IMHO.
 
I am scared to death of one unit because of the high numbers and past DKA.

Please continue to throw ideas out.....

I don't know what I want to shoot
 
I havent caught up yet today on all the back and forth
I am praying for her and you.
Sorry she is so high..bounce
I wish I could help with the dosage but I definately can not chime in there, sorry
I will just cross everything that she is feeling better soon

Densie and Shakes
 
One more thing to consider-- I just gave 150 mls of sub Qs-- normally I just give 100. There have been times that I got big drops after giving fluids.
 
I don’t have personal DKA experience but I’d be nervous to go as low as 1 unit with Kitty too.

I am no expert by any means, but after reading all of the above, my vibe is 2-2.5-ish (so like half of her normal dose) and test overnight. Also I think this could be tweaked more after you know her +11 and pmps if you wait that long to shoot, plus see how much she eats tonight. If she doesn’t eat much, I’d lean towards the lower side. If she houses her food and her preshoot is high, maybe you want to go up a little?

All of this is just a non expert, but kitty lover, thinking out loud.....
 
pmps 558

She ate at the most 1/3 can

She is drinking a lot of water. Normally I would encourage this-- but I don't want her drinking too much.

Okay-- give it to me-- what do you think I should shoot.

I'm not looking a lawsuit, just some help!!! So, don't be scared-- what do you think?
 
Have you any more test results? Keep in mind that shooting early is like giving a slightly higher dose. I am leaning toward 2.5. I am thinking better safe than sorry, except for those damn ketones. I am also wondering if some of that elevated number is not just food but a bounce. Oh for some clarity!!!
 
Go to 3u ... but you do know it is a guess with all that has gone on. She is only months from a DKA, I tried lowering Payne last week down to 3.5 t.i.d. and she started going into pre-DKA last week, which we battled for days. I am not saying Kitty and Payne are the same but there are some basics to consider.
 
Nancy has the most dka experience so I think her advise should be weighed heavily here.

But I am wondering if a steep drop would tax Kitty with all this up and down. Plus you gave more fluids than normal and you say this brings her down too. And she isn’t eating normally. If it were my kitty, for tonight I would take the middle road, so half normal dose or a nudge more?

Again, I am thinking out loud. I hope others chime in.

Edit: and I just reread everything again, and again, if it were my kitty, Tom and I would be having a second discussion, and he would probably urge me to shoot a bit more than a half dose....
 
Here is how I see it--

If last night repeats itself, I am 10 minutes from the ER


If I shoot to little-- okay I adjust tomorrow

So either way, I will be okay.

The worse part to me is it is obvious she feels BAD.
 
My gut says 3.5u. I wouldn't go any lower than 3u though. If the yogurt was 7% carbs, it is possible that this latest number was influenced by that. Different kitties process different kinds of carbs differently.
 
The feeling bad part is why I was worried about shooting too much and getting another steep drop. I know in humans that up and down makes people feel bad so I am sure cats are the same. She has been thru so much. Nancy, how are you thinking about this portion of the equation?
 
You can feel just awful from strong ABs and that doesn't mean it is serious. And even if she is not vomiting, she may be nauseous. Hang in there. You are doing a bang-up job and she will get better.
 
I'd feel bad too! just the dental, which doesn't heal all that fast and everything else, higher carbs and the dreaded ER (in hindsight she would have been better off at home .....my opinion) and you keep messing with her (needed) give the old girl some time, time is the healer. Whatever you do, she's going to have wonky #'s and not feel well, I'd get her back on schedule and not reduce dose too much because she is going to bounce, regardless. But you keep her ketone negative, good job SQ but it hasn't always lowered her #'s, better for ketones, which we want.
 
I gave 3.25

Ketones really are terrible!

So, hang out with me tonight and let's hope it Isn't as eventful as last night!

I am really worried about her- she feels bad. I hope she gets better, because this is not the life I want her to live.

I hope her trip up the stairs this week wasn't a sign...
 
kse said:
I am really worried about her- she feels bad. I hope she gets better, because this is not the life I want her to live.

I hope her trip up the stairs this week wasn't a sign...

I'm feeling the same way about Thumper....aren't they the same age? She will be 16 Aug 1st. And her mama is due home next week.....good in a way but bad cause I don't know where this is headed....might be a sad trip for her. :cry:

Hang in there Kim! :YMHUG:
 
GIVE IT TIME!!! oh, and breathe and pour a glass of wine! and Payne wanting to remind you that a cat that lives through DKA, wants to live ..... breathe.
 
Wine-- oh yea that is what I need! Inhale deeply and exhale
slowly....

Maybe just one glass would help! I normally like to make toast when I drink wine so....

Tonight, I toast all my friends that have come to this special Place--for the same sole purpose of providing the best possible life for our kitties. You are a wonderful group and I am glad I found you! Here, here!!
 
I don't have any advice to give, but wanted to offer my support to you and Kitty.

I just read your posts from last night and today and am soooo sorry you've had such a rough time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top