Kittys Back...curve and all...4/26 amps & pmps

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning--been having computer problems with the tornado damage still looming.

Okay, here is where we are--I did the curve Monday as promised and we did get some blues. But, this morning our amps was 497, and she seems to be drinking more water. The preshot numbers have been high the last two day. She is scheduled to get fluids today. She seems to feel good--just a little grumpy, like most old women! Her arthritis is flaring up in her leg--the vet had suggested Dasoquin (sp?), but got on the plane to England before giving me any. I don't know if that is effecting her numbers or not. I had been feeding FF ocean whitefish and tuna classic--but I really don't like that due to the higher phosphorus and her kidney values being elevated. So, this weekend she has had mainly Turkey and Giblets classic and Tender Beef and Chicken classic. There are slightly higher carbs in the Turkey and Tender Beef & Chicken than the Ocean whitefish and Tuna. I wonder if she could be that sensitive to a few more carbs.

I don't feel like we have made any progress over the weekend--no flirting with yellow preshots etc. I hope we aren't getting ready to go on another ride......

For the GOOD news---negative ketones this morning!

So, what are your thoughts on the high preshot numbers?

We were at 3.5 units bid on the old vial of PZI and getting no where--no movement--I am not jumping up an down for an increase, but I don't want to sit in these reds long. Any ideas?

She is eating, pooping and peeing normal! She is scheduled for fluids today --and though I didn't weigh her over the weekend, it is obvious she is gaining weight!

HELP!
 
Re: Kittys Back...curve and all...4/2

Very nice curve you got. So now you know that the insulin is working exactly as it should be.

I see you raised the dose to 3.2u, I would hold that dose and let it settle in for a few cycles and see where it takes you.

Good job getting the ketone test too, it is so important to stay on top of that too.

Have a great day.

Robin
 
Re: Kittys Back...curve and all...4/26

I truly just gave the 3.2 due to the high number this morning--would you keep it at 3.2 even if I drop back down into the low to mid 300s? (probably wishful thinking!)

Do you think the high preshots are just zooms at the end of the cycle?
 
Re: Kittys Back...curve and all...4/26

I think I would stick with it, your nadir isn't too low and the drop isn't too steep. UNLESS of course you get a much lower PS # then I would shave some off of that dose for that PS. If you're not sure, then post your PS here and get some opinions.

I think she's zooming at the end of the cycles. She'll get used to it. But compared to the last two weeks where your mid cycle tests were pretty shallow I think this is great news.

We'll see what others think.

Robin
 
Re: Kittys Back...curve and all...4/26

That is a beautiful curve there yesterday! I wouldn't raise past 3.2u right now. These higher preshots could be her body reacting to those blues and my guess is she is oscillating between flat curves and dips into the blues because her body tries to protect itself from the drop right now. (just my guess, but that would explain the drinking on days like today). I'd hold this dose until you start seeing some preshot movement downward somewhat consistently. Otherwise, if you increase, you are just going to be increasing the drop and increasing the body's panic toward the drop.

Yay for blues! :RAHCAT
 
Re: Kittys Back...curve and all...4/26

Hey Kelly-- glad you are around. I didn't realize the curve looked that good!

I am getting ready to give her the fluids. I am interested in seeing where her pmps is tonight. Thanks for checking out her SS- I will post her pmps shortly.

Hope you and the crew had a good Easter!
 
Kitty pmps 333-- going to shot 3 units-- looks like 3s are wild! We are happy to be out of the reds tonight!
 
I'd stick with the 3.2 actually, no need to lower IMO b/c of a pink PS rather than red if you didn't hit a green nadir (more or less). I'd only lower if you get a blue PS or maybe if you went from something like a high pink to next PS is low yellow, something uber-dramatic like that. 3u just doesn't look to be enough, and the 3.1 gave you a nice curve, but with room for improvement.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top