Kitty's AMPS is 77!!! NEED ADVICE!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sev, don't remember if you said earlier, but did you shoot on the side today instead of the scruff?
Carl
 
carlinsc said:
Sev, don't remember if you said earlier, but did you shoot on the side today instead of the scruff?
Carl

Yes I did. @ +4. .75 units.
he started rising rapidly after that.
Any food that was consumed during the day was turkey.
 
the rise after the shot makes no sense to me. you tested him every hour and never saw a dip. why is it still rising?
I think you have to let the cycle play out till 11 if that's "+12" and see what he does in the next 4-5 hours.
Stick with the plan to feed him on schedule. At least if we see a rise after that it'll make sense.... confused_cat
Carl
 
oh, I didn't see the last two tests.....ok, so he dropped, which I assume is the insulin kicking in at +4 from the shot. All he's eaten is turkey? I don't see how just the turkey would cause that big rise.....
 
Here is what I am thinking. I shoot .75 and not .5.
It would seem to me if the thinking 1.5 was to high. Then removing a full unit would make it to low.

The question is. When do I shoot. And if there is a disagreement on the amount. How much?
 
I think you get the prize for the craziest spreadsheet.

I may be in the minority but I would like to see you give .5 units for a few cycles, testing for ketones daily and see if his numbers settle in and improve. I am wondering if he is just overdosed.

Can you wait till +12?
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I think you get the prize for the craziest spreadsheet.

I may be in the minority but I would like to see you give .5 units for a few cycles, testing for ketones daily and see if his numbers settle in and improve. I am wondering if he is just overdosed.

Can you wait till +12?

To shoot?
And what does that do to my morning shot?
 
Sue,

Granted I only know Lantus but I went back and looked at Kitty's original bloodwork here http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=57070

He was much lower when dxed, so I like you have been wondering if he is being overdosed. Especially since the highest his bloodwork went was 310 when first dxed, now he is hitting the 400s & 500s This was exactly what Musette was doing before I got her and reduced her dose down. I had to take her below her ideal to get her to stop bouncing all over the place, then start slowly upping her dose again.

Just a thought.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Your morning shot would then be at a new time....12 hours after tonight's shot, so 11?

If you don't want to do that, or it just won't work going forward, then we need to plan around that.
In a perfect world, when would you want to shoot AM and PM?

Carl
 
carlinsc said:
Your morning shot would then be at a new time....12 hours after tonight's shot, so 11?

If you don't want to do that, or it just won't work going forward, then we need to plan around that.
In a perfect world, when would you want to shoot AM and PM?

Carl

Thats not going to be doable. Once I get this project going I have to be out of the house by 9 AM at the latest.
How about going down to .25-.3 at 7PM or skipping the cycle till morning.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I think I would skip till morning. Then .5 or .75 for a few cycles?

I dont mind reducing to either.
I just need to keep the shoot times where they are possible.
Missing another cycle will not cause problems?
Also he is at 371 right now. Its been pretty level for 3 hours.

Also I need to schedule getting his teeth cleaned.
 
Yes, skipping can make him higher tomorrow. Where are you - + 6 or +7?

I am just not positive that he will continue up. He makes me nervous.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Yes, skipping can make him higher tomorrow. Where are you - + 6 or +7?

I am just not positive that he will continue up. He makes me nervous.

Right now I am at +8 from the .75 unit shot.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
At +8 you should be okay to shoot. I would try the .5 or .75 and test again tonight. Sound okay?

I can wait till Plus 9. Which is 8:00PM. However I am trying to keep the morning feeding around 6:30-7:00. They get miffed any later than that.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Then you would have to put off testing till 1.5 hours (at least) after they eat. Then shoot. Will that work?

I dont know. Are the injections supposed to be close to feeding time to keep spikes down?


Its going to be 8.5 in a minute.
I think I will shoot at .5 tonight just to be safe. That will keep me within a closer range and I can ease the shoot time back over the course of a day or so.
 
If you want the AM shot to be at 7am going forward...... then the longer you wait tonight, the lower the dose should be. That's because the time between 7am and now is less than 12 hours already. So in effect, tomorrow morning would be an early shot in relation to tonight's.
Once you get to 7am, then it would stay at 7am and pm and you won't have to adjust due to time issues.

I would not go with more than .5 tonight or tomorrow. But like anything, Sev.....we advise, you decide.....sort of like Fox News, only better!

Carl
 
carlinsc said:
If you want the AM shot to be at 7am going forward...... then the longer you wait tonight, the lower the dose should be. That's because the time between 7am and now is less than 12 hours already. So in effect, tomorrow morning would be an early shot in relation to tonight's.
Once you get to 7am, then it would stay at 7am and pm and you won't have to adjust due to time issues.

I would not go with more than .5 tonight or tomorrow. But like anything, Sev.....we advise, you decide.....sort of like Fox News, only better!

Carl

:-D

I did .5 units.
Lets see what happens.
 
i don't have any words of wisdom for you or anything, i'm new, too but i can tell you that i read some of your posts and i'm inspired by your love and dedication to your babies! sending you and your posse healing thoughts!
 
fredrika said:
i don't have any words of wisdom for you or anything, i'm new, too but i can tell you that i read some of your posts and i'm inspired by your love and dedication to your babies! sending you and your posse healing thoughts!

Why thank you.

Its the least an adopted human can do. ;-) :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top