Kitty vomited - how much insulin now?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozzy Pawzbourne

Member Since 2016
Ozzy has been hungry loving on me this morning since 4 am but I was still sleeping and not ready to get up for a few more hours. Plus, it is not his breakfast time and I want to test him and not have his AMPS influenced by food.

Well- about 30 mins from time I am about to get up, he vomits in the hall. This is the first time he has vomited since we brought him home from the hospital (at least that we can tell)

Just tested him (BG=323) and he is eating
now. How much insulin should we give him? I was still thinking 1 U because it is a low dose already and he is hungry and eating breakfast. What do you think?

Any ideas why the vomiting? He used to do this in the past if we didn't get up early enough to feed him. Should we get up in the mornings and put down food when he hungry loves or wait until his regular feeding time?

Thanks.
 
What did the vomit look like?

How many hours since his previous meal?

When did you last check Ozzy's ketone status and what was the result?


Mogs
.
 
What did the vomit look like? i.e., was it food or just clear liquid?

Some cats will "anticipate" their meals and, if it doesn't appear on schedule, get a slightly upset tummy and throw up the liquid generated by the anticipation. My Amber used to do this almost every morning until I got a timed feeder to give her a small meal in the middle of the night. If Ozzy otherwise seems fine and is eating, I don't see any reason to not give the usual dose.

If he seems to be in pain or otherwise feeling lousy, that's a potentially different story and will take more investigation....
 
Just tested him (BG=323) and he is eating now. How much insulin should we give him? I was still thinking 1 U because it is a low dose already and he is hungry and eating breakfast. What do you think?

You need to wait 30 minutes after Ozzy has eaten a fairly good meal before giving the Vetsulin. It should give you time to check he's holding it down OK.


Mogs
.
 
It was clear liquid with a few chunks of food in it. Ozzy ate dinner last night around 7:30 pm. He gets 1 can of FF classics and usually will eat half of it at first. Then will come back and munch of rest later. He will usually finish his brother's food too if Figgie doesn't. He probably hasnt had any more to eat since midnight. We have had been leaving out a little more food before we go to bed (because you probably recall he had been dropping low and fast in first few hrs of shot) but last 2 nights he has been dropping slower. Plus- he has high AMPS so wanted to see if it is because he is still eating before breakfast.

Ketones were negative last night- made a post about that last night also.
 
Thanks ladies. He ate pretty good. Will try to get him to munch more before shot. Gotta get ready for work now- gonna be late due to all this cat fuss! Have a great dayaa:bighug:
 
As Nan advised above if a kitty has fasted for a several hours they can sometimes vomit up liquid. Her suggestion about leaving meal out in a timed feeder can reduce likelihood of vomiting due to fasting too long is a good one.

Glad he ate OK. Especially with a ketone-prone kitty it's more important not to skip insulin doses (note: for general info, depending on circumstances there may be times when a reduced dose may need to be considered).


Mogs
.
 
Sounds good-- no ketones, good appetite. As long as he doesn't do a scarf-and-barf on the food, should be fine (and, with the DKA, he needs the insulin unless there are clear contraindications).

Good luck making it to work!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top