kse
Member Since 2011
According to the vet I saw yesterday---DIABETES it is!
I do not have a report of the bloodwork--I am picking it up at 4:00 to take to the other vet.
But, here is what I remember. The T4 test was 1.something (low end of normal she said). I know from Kelly, that I probably need to request the free T 4 test and the additional test to rule this out completely. I am going to see what the actual reading is and the second's vet's opinion. Then I will post that here for guidance.
BG was 406--when I tested her 2 hours later at home it was 367. Well within the range.
The vet said her kidneys are getting taxed by the diabetes. Her creatine was 2.2 and BUN was 72. In Feb. these numbers were creatine 1.9 and BUN 49. I realize that is not a HUGE difference, and the BUN can be effected by dehydration. The vet said she was not in Kidney failure, but we needed to protect them.
So, the first vets suggestions:
Change from Fancy Feast to Science Diet wet Kitten food. She says the protein is a better quality and it would help the kidneys. (please give me your thoughts!)
Start Sub Qs twice a week to help the kidneys, until the diabetes is under better control.
Add Dasoquin as a supplement for arthritis. (said she would check and be sure there was nothing in this to effect the DM--said I can sprinkle it on the food and that it worked well)
Increase PZI dose or change to Lantus (Said she recommended trying a PZI increase first. She was not alarmed about the amout of units)
She was super nice and offered to help in any way possible. I had a lot of admiration for her, as she recommended discussing all of her suggestions with my other vet and get her thoughts. She also encouraged me to continue with the first vet and supported her findings and treatments. Either I really turned her off, or she is a rare breed!!!
So, I am off shortly to get the lab results and visit the first vet.
I will post the results when I have them in hand---but, PLEASE give me your thoughts on her suggestions. I would love to have some feedback before heading to the second vet.
Kim
I do not have a report of the bloodwork--I am picking it up at 4:00 to take to the other vet.
But, here is what I remember. The T4 test was 1.something (low end of normal she said). I know from Kelly, that I probably need to request the free T 4 test and the additional test to rule this out completely. I am going to see what the actual reading is and the second's vet's opinion. Then I will post that here for guidance.
BG was 406--when I tested her 2 hours later at home it was 367. Well within the range.
The vet said her kidneys are getting taxed by the diabetes. Her creatine was 2.2 and BUN was 72. In Feb. these numbers were creatine 1.9 and BUN 49. I realize that is not a HUGE difference, and the BUN can be effected by dehydration. The vet said she was not in Kidney failure, but we needed to protect them.
So, the first vets suggestions:
Change from Fancy Feast to Science Diet wet Kitten food. She says the protein is a better quality and it would help the kidneys. (please give me your thoughts!)
Start Sub Qs twice a week to help the kidneys, until the diabetes is under better control.
Add Dasoquin as a supplement for arthritis. (said she would check and be sure there was nothing in this to effect the DM--said I can sprinkle it on the food and that it worked well)
Increase PZI dose or change to Lantus (Said she recommended trying a PZI increase first. She was not alarmed about the amout of units)
She was super nice and offered to help in any way possible. I had a lot of admiration for her, as she recommended discussing all of her suggestions with my other vet and get her thoughts. She also encouraged me to continue with the first vet and supported her findings and treatments. Either I really turned her off, or she is a rare breed!!!
So, I am off shortly to get the lab results and visit the first vet.
I will post the results when I have them in hand---but, PLEASE give me your thoughts on her suggestions. I would love to have some feedback before heading to the second vet.
Kim