Kitty (tid), Chewy, & Sally (dog) 2/22

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning from Diabetic Alley!

Here is a quick update on the gang!

Kitty (tid)--Crazy day yesterday! I got a +5 on her AM cycle and caught a 93! That is really GOOD for Kitty-- I recall very few green numbers in the last year. Since she has had some crazy high preshot numbers (582 last week)- the test convinced me that she was going lower than I had thought mid cycle--so, I tested some last night. She was 229 at her Mid preshot-- I shot 3 units. I tested at +4 and she was 379 :shock: Her PMPS was 278--looks inverse to me! I shot the 3 units again last night. This morning her amps was 307. I am starting to wonder if she needs a little lower dose. So, YES St Sue, I am going to get a curve or two in the next couple of days and see if I can get a better picture! She is on a Crazy shot schedule-- 9 am, 5 pm and 1 am--- so getting midcycle tests is not easy on the am and pm cycles!

Chewy-- His SS is up to date--except this morning's 308 AMPS! Chewy is doing Great. I am not seeing much drop in his cycles. I increased his dose from 1.1 to 1.25 units this morning. I really think he needs at least 2 units, but I don't want to get impatient and miss his dose! I have learned that slow and steady is Best!
Chewy is a Happy Boy!

Sally (dog)-- CRAZY! I am lost with this. Sally went to the vet last week and curved beautifully on 9 units of N. BUT, the curve was nothing like I had seen at home. The vet tested on both my meter and the hers. I was shocked at how good the curve was. Since she came home, I have increased her dose to 10 units and she is flat again. I am playing with her diet to see if I can change anything. The only difference I know of in the vet curve and mine-- the vet only fed 1/2 the food that I feed. So, this morning I fed only 1/2 and shot the 10 units. Maybe this will reveal something! I am totally stumped and furstrated with Sally!

So, that is the world from Diabetic Alley!

Wishing Everyone a Great Day.......
 
You have a great day as well!

Nice to hear that Chewy is loving his new digs with some pet sibs to cuddle up with. Glad to see the 93 on Kitty- I have barely gotten any blues much less greens. As for Sally... it's a new learning curve that you will get.
 
Good you caught that 96, Go Ms. Kitty go.

Interesting about Chewy, he had better drops on 1 u but you gotta love those yellow ps's.

You will figure out Sally, I'm sure of it.

Have a great day.
 
Good Observation Robin on Chewy. And, to add more thoughts to the better numbers on the lower dose for Chewy-- I went home at lunch and tested at +6 and he is higher than his preshot. I have seen no downward movement in the last two days and I increased. Chewy is showing none of the typical diabetic signs---no excessive thirst, ravenous appetite or excessive urination.

What are the thoughts are dropping him back tonight to 1 unit or less? He is eating more now, than he was on the lower doses. The first day or two with me he didn't eat a lot. And I am leaving food out all day--- he needs to eat! He is a skinny boy!



I also checked Kitty (tid) at her +4.5 and she was 257--what a difference a day makes! I need to stay on top of her cycles-- the consistency looks varied.

I also checked Sally (dog) while I was home........with the reduced food intake this morning (fed 1/2 of her normal food)--- GUESS WHAT? She was down to 178 from a 341 AMPS--so, it looks like the food is the culprit. I am going to continue to feed her the "normal" amount, but I am now comfortable increasing her dose!
 
Hummm a possible inverse curve? Maybe experiment and drop the dose a little for a few cycles and see if his curve comes back.

You are figuring Sally out too, yay!
 
Sounds like a house full of fun to me!
I hope you are stocked up on your wine!
Dont forget, misskitty could still be a little upset about chewy..
Good luck with Sally, no clue there!
and I thinkI might drop Chewys dose a little to see what happens
Good Luck!
 
I am heading out the door to a dinner meeting....but, Chewy's SS is updated. He appears to have stayed flat today-- I decreased back to 1 unit to see if the curve comes back!

AND, yes....it is CRAZY in DIABETIC ALLEY!!!! Whew! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top