Kitty (tid) and Sally (dog) 2/17......

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Good Morning!

Kitty did it--her amps this morning was 374! I knew she would throw a wonky numbers sooner rather than later. Who knows why? Bounce, poor absortion, who knows? I shot 3.5 units. I can live with these wonky numbers, I just don't want them to become the norm.

A quick Sally (dog) update--- The vet wanted me to increase Sally's insulin (N) from 9 units to 11 units after her vet visit on Monday. But, her numbers were dropping daily-- due to changing her diet to a more diabetic friendly food. I was apprehensive to increase her dose by 2 units until I totally transitioned the food. Now that her food has been completely changed, her numbers have stopped dropping and have even been higher the last two cycles. So, today, I increased from 9 to 10 units. She is scheduled for a curve Monday on the 11 units, that I am not giving!!! So, I am going to cancel the appointment and stick with the 10 units for a few days and see what type of numbers I get. She is feeling better and is playful-- my focus now is on getting her diabetes under better control! Sound familiar?! Wish me luck!

Wishing everyone a Great Day from Kittyville......
 
Hate you got the 374. Hope these numbers get down fast for kitty.

Glad to hear Sally is getting regulated. Curious, do you have to only feed wet food to dogs too? Always wondered if the dry food is as bad for dogs as it is cats. Which food do you fee her? I have an 11yr old doggie and wondered if i should have her on canned food too.

Thanks!

lori
 
Hey Lori!

I am feeding perscription WD now-- it is dry. I really am not sure about the diet for dogs-- what I have found out is that diabetes in dogs is very different than in cats. Most people with diabetic dogs, either make their food (boiled chicken, vegs., etc) or use perscription food.

I am not much help! But, as I continue to educate myself, if I run across any information concerning diets for dogs that could potentially lead to diabetes-- I will share it with you.
 
Go Kitty!

Midshot preshot 267 Shot 3.2! Glad it is down from the morning.


Off to see Chewy!
 
Kim,
What's the URL to the yahoo canine diabetes group or other group you recommend? I need to test SassyPup, she's suddenly started drinking and peeing like crazy. I've seen you talk about it in your condos....

Thanks in advance and HUGS! AND CONGRATS! Can't wait to see pictures!
 
Here you go!

k9diabetes.com
This is a great site. Go to Forum on the home page to get to the message board.

doggydiabetes.com
This is Rebecca's site--there is no message board, but it is very imformative.

Good Luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top