Kitty (tid) and Sally (dog) 1/31....

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning Brunch Club!!!

I have been up almost all night, so I am not sure what club I belong too!

Kitty's shot times are all messed up due to the low numbers a couple of days ago. Last night, I went to bed early and set the alarm, so I could get up at 2:30 and do her midcycle test and shoot. She was 215 at midshot -- I shot 3 units. Kitty actually has better cycles, when her preshots are in the mid 200s. She seems to have a little bounce, regardless of what I shoot into low 200s. She is with me at work, waiting to get her amps (10:30) test and shoot. (My co-workers think I have become unsociable-- I have the office door closed!!! Oh well!) She is STILL drinking too much water. Her vet was out sick yesterday, so Kitty's blood work has been post poned until tomorrow.

Sally (dog), is at the University Vet hospital for a recheck today. This is the other part of me being up all night! I woke up at 5 AM, so I could get ready and have her at the 7 am drop off appointment. Sally, Kitty and I need some Sleep! I am picking Sally up late this afternoon in Raleigh, with hopes of improved blood work and a good glucose curve!

So, we are doing a lot of Dancing in Kittyville!

Wishing everyone a Great Day........
 
Oh goodie, a Brunch club and a Breakfast club. Love all the activity here.

Any chance you and Miss Kitty can keep the door closed for a quick "cat nap"?
 
AMPS--- 231! I shot 3.2 :-D

Now, if I can find a way to go home early and take a nap before picking Sally up!
 
Kitty mid preshot 241--shot 3.2!

I picked Sally (dog) up at the Vet Hospital this afternoon. She got a good report on the pancreatitis, BUT the vet feels certain that the diabetes is not transient and that Sally is a true diabetic. Her blood glucose numbers are continuing to climb, and dogs do not handle diabetes and the side effects as well as cats. The vet explained the importance of driving Sally's numbers down as quickly as possible and becoming aggressive. A lot of dogs develop cataracts from the diabets and eventually go blind. The vet said, she has seen dogs develop cataracts in as little as 2 days. So, we are increasing her dose to 7 units of N and the vet thinks that will probably not be enough. ALSO, The Vet, advised me to QUIT testing Sally and to just give the 7 units bid. I know that dogs' metabolism is much different than cats and insulin effects them a lot differently, BUT I am not comfortable shooting without testing. The bad thing is, I don't know enough about the readings to know when not to shoot or when 7 units is too much. I am very uncomfortable with this thing called-- Canine Diabetes! I am off to the dog board to see if I can get some advice!
 
Believe it or not, I do have a little SS I am keeping on Sally! I don't know if you caught it Sue, but the Canine message board I joined, does NOT have Spreadsheets! I thought, maybe once I got better aqauinted over there, I would take you along and we could introduce the SS. It could be "My"/ "Our" gift to the canine diabetic world!
 
ALSO, The Vet, advised me to QUIT testing Sally and to just give the 7 units bid. I know that dogs' metabolism is much different than cats and insulin effects them a lot differently, BUT I am not comfortable shooting without testing. The bad thing is, I don't know enough about the readings to know when not to shoot or when 7 units is too much. I am very uncomfortable with this thing called-- Canine Diabetes! I am off to the dog board to see if I can get some advice!

We always say to new people "think of it like kitty was your child....would you shoot your child without testing?" So why would a dog be any different? What is it with the anti-test mentality of some vets?

And try not to worry about the "how much is enough or too much" on dosing....Think back you your 2nd or 3rd week here with Kitty....I bet you know more about canine diabetes at this point than you did about feline diabetes then, right? Your gut instinct so far with Sally seems to be right on target.

Kim, do/can doggies go into remission like cats can?

Hugs to all,
Carl
 
It is highly unlikely that a dog will go into remission--- it is not a goal when starting insulin.

I posted on the K9 site about the vet discouraging testing...they are in complete agreement with us about testing!
 
Always praying for Sally and Kitty. Glad you got the support for Sally. Curious, what food do you feed sally?

Lori
 
Lori, at the present time Sally will only eat boiled chicken or boiled hamburger due to the Pancreatitis. The vet has recommended some perscription foods and over the counter punina foods as future possibilities. Just like with cats, it is difficult to get a diet that is both diabetic and pancreatitis friendly!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top