Kitty (tid) and Chewy 3/9- HELP please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning from the Alley!

Let's start with Chewy this morning---- Kitty was due for her shot at 6:30 am, which is +10.5 for Chewy. So, when feeding Kitty, I also checked Chewy and fed him too (so he would leave her food alone!). At +10.5, Chewy was 204 and I fed about 1/3 can of FF (I know that isn't protocal!). I just checked him 1.5 hours later for his AMPS and it is 183-- I actually was expecting it mid 200s due to the food spike. I am not convinced this is Mr.P, as I realize this is within the 20 percent meter variance--BUT, it is interesting. So, I have fed him again and I am going to test in an hour.


Chewy
pmps +10.5 fed and test 204
Amps 1.5 hours after food 183


Kitty (tid)
AMPS 251 shot 3.2
Go Kitty! Pssstt....you are still my Girl Kitty, even if Chewy's numbers are really interesting!


I will update shortly, but I am curious of your thoughts!

Wishing everyone a Great Day from a rainy and cool morning in Diabetic Alley......
 
Re: Kitty (tid) and Chewy--could Mr. P be visiting?!

Kitty is always gonna be your best sugar-girl... but there's always room for another baby that needs some love too!

Great numbers for both this morning! Hope they continue to bring you more!
 
Re: Kitty (tid) and Chewy--could Mr. P be visiting?!

Maybe he is visiting!

30 mins after eating he is 170!

Chewy
pmps +10.5 fed and test 204
Amps (+12)--but, +1.5 hours after food 183
AMPS (+3) --30 mins after more food 170

I fed a little more on the 170.

I need to run out, but I will be back soon...so, I am not shooting the 170. I will recheck in a couple of hours!
 
Re: Kitty (tid) and Chewy--could Mr. P be visiting?!

Thought I should let you know....Mr.P is in the neighborhood.
He knocked on our door last night. He stayed awhile & left sometime after 3:30am. I feel asleep & didnt get to say goodbye. That guy sure is a night owl.
So maybe he left my house & went to pay Chewy a private visit.
If that is the case can you give him a message for me? Tell him thank you for stopping by & I interested in him watching Baxter for about a week. :lol:

Have a happy Friday!
 
Re: Kitty (tid) and Chewy--could Mr. P be visiting?!

Just got home and tested again....expecting a spike, BUT.... 163

So here are the numbers from this morning with no insulin!

Chewy
pmps +10.5 fed and test 204
Amps (+12)--but, +1.5 hours after food 183
(+13) --30 mins after more food 170
(+15)-- no food since +13---- 163

Obviously, I am not shooting into these numbers-- I assume I will just wait it out and see how long it will last?

Opinions?
 
Re: Kitty (tid) and Chewy 3/9--I think Mr. P is visiting!

Four and a half hours past feeding, and no boost from eating? Looks like Chewy is trying to self-regulate. That's awesome!

Yes, you have no choice, I feel, but to wait and see what happens next. You could shoot when you see a 200, but it's going to screw up your schedule. He might cooperate and be "ready" for a shot when Kitty is ready for her next one,

Diabetic Alley is NEVER a dull place!
Carl
 
Re: Kitty (tid) and Chewy 3/9--I think Mr. P is visiting!

That is looking good.

I have no advice on shots as mine hasn't ever been even close to that road- Sneakers prefers the mountain tops to run along :-D .
 
Re: Kitty (tid) and Chewy 3/9--I think Mr. P is visiting!

Hey Kim...did you give Mr.P my message? Can you ask him to come back over to my house tonight? I will have my guest room ready for him in case he wants to stay all night. I have fresh flowers on the night stand too.

Thank you ;-)
 
Re: Kitty (tid) and Chewy 3/9--I think Mr. P is visiting!

It seems to be continuing.....


Chewy
pmps +10.5 fed and test 204
Amps (+12)--but, +1.5 hours after food 183
+13 --30 mins after more food 170
+15-- no food since +13---- 163
+16---160
+18---184
+19---165

I am holding out! This is TERRIBLE timing, if there is such a thing! I have a business meeting out of state Saturday night and will not return until Sunday. Kitty also had to get it on the action...she just threw a 133 at her midshot preshot to mess with her schedule. I have a vet tech coming in, but I had their schedules set up perfectly....uggggg!!!!!

Oh well, so about the only thing I have no experience in is micro dosing! Looks like Chewy might need some. HELP! Or, maybe he will shoot up ....who knows?
 
Re: Kitty (tid) and Chewy 3/9--I think Mr. P is visiting!

Only tip I have is on drawing the shots, my u100 syringes have a slight bezel to the top edge of the plunger. If you set the back edge of the bezel (where it joins the rest of the plunger and becomes a cycinder) level with the half unit lines you get pretty dead onto 0.1u of u40. If you twist the plunger while the needle is still in the bottle you can do micro adjustments down, easier than just pushing the plunger back and forth and missing the mark over and over. My skinny 0.1u is essentially 0.5u, for this you twist past the 0.1u set by using the bezel and go until you can just barely see clear plastic under the zero line, and I mean barely. Even if you end up going to 0.25, this might be helpful...I know my doses are ultra-micro. The other thing is make sure you check your syringes and that the plunger is on the zero line when fully pushed, not all of them have been that accurate for me.
 
Re: Kitty (tid) and Chewy 3/9--I think Mr. P is visiting!

When else would they change things up on you but when you have something scheduled, not last weekend lounging in front of the fire place. :-D

Microdosing Chewy, I would pick your no shoot number, start high until we get some data on shooting lower numbers, start low on the dose so you can work your way up slowely, just like you did when you started him on insulin.

This is so exciting!!!
 
Re: Kitty (tid) and Chewy 3/9--I think Mr. P is visiting!

Chewy
pmps +10.5 fed and test 204 (was up and tested and fed a snack 1.5 hours before amps)
Amps (+12)--but, +1.5 hours after food 183 (was expecting a food spike....BUT)
+13 --30 mins after more food 170
+15-- no food since +13---- 163
+16---160
+18---184
+19---165
+22---185

So, where do I go from here? These numbers do not look a lot different than they did with the .8 dose. Even with the .8, I only saw blues (no, I didn't test this much-- but, I didn't catch any low numbers). The blues were lower on the insulin, but not much different.

So, I need to get a game plan. I am leaving tomorrow afternoon and will not be home for the pm shot or the am shot on Sunday-- so, I would like to shoot tonight and if the morning and then maybe skip the pm shot tomorrow night unless he is above 200. I have someone to test and shoot--but, I don't want them shooting low numbers and leaving him overnight.

I really think I am okay to shoot into the 180s with a .5 dose--I have shot .8 and 1 into 200. But, the question I have is-- do you think his pancreas has just started wanting to help or was it active when I was shooting into the 200? That makes a BIG difference. I tried the food trial on 3/6 and the pancreas appeared absent.

Okay....HELP! Advice, Opinions.....wine....anything!!!!
 
Wow, Kim! what problems you have.
I think I would give a little insulin, but I might me a tad more liberal than some. Even at Alex's lowest numbers, he didn't seem to show any signs of distress.

Maybe you should get yourself a calming collar and go from there. Me, I'm have a mixed berry daiquiri (my own personal calming collar) b/c my job is driving me to drink.
 
Come on Kim, breathe! (or we will need to get out the collar. :mrgreen: ) It will be fine.

Do you have a chance to do the feeding test to see if Mr. P is around? Test, Feed, wait 40 minutes or so and test again to see if the food broke him down.

I think the .5 is good tonight, see what it does and then you have more data for tomorrow.
 
Awesome numbers! And, of course he'd plan this when you're busy; he wants to be sure you know who's in charge! Robin's advice sounds (as usual) spot on. I get fearful of shooting even close to 200, which is why I was up later (earlier) the morning of the 8th waiting for Hershey to rise just a little more. Can you wait a few more hours? If so, that's what I'd do - and see if he gets closer to 200.
 
Sue...I did the test and feed throughout the day and it appears that the pancreas is there...at least a little. He has eaten ALL day and had NO food spikes and at times his numbers have gotten lower. But, there have been no drastic drops. He has had no insulin for 23 hours now. I want to shoot something tonight, because I will be gone tomorrow night and I don't want him off of insulin that long in these numbers.


No Calming Collar....maybe I will just join Ginny!
 
I would try some dose tonight - a tiny one if that is what you are comfortable with - just to see what happens. I have never seen the pancreas join the party and then immediately, no insulin needed. It is more likely to just need smaller and smaller doses. Guess you could start with .25 and work your way up if needed?

I think you need some data so you can plan for your time away. You have a great sense of what dose is safe. Go with your gut.
 
Isn't it amazing how one little +/- 10# kitty can rule our world? And take a perfectly capable human and make them question everything? :lol:
 
I agree with Sue that he will need less and less insulin, soooo I don't think I would shoot more than .5u.

You've shot .8u into similar numbers and he came back up to yellows, maybe fighting the insulin, so see what .5u will do.
 
Okay! Deep Breath!

PMPS 184 (+24 without insulin) I shot .5. I can test the cycle. It will be interesting--truly, I am not expecting a lot of difference-- maybe just lower blues. But, we will see!
 
I already shot before reading "no more than .5"--- I only have U40s, so it was "close" to .5.
 
I am BREATHING!!!! Micro dosing and trying to jump start the pancreas is about the only part of this dance that I have not experienced!

Ginny, I little whipped cream please! :lol:
 
OMG, this is so exciting!!!!! Good job, i'm glad my boyfriend is getting home late for dinner so I can hang out with you guys! I have no good advice :RAHCAT :RAHCAT to offer but i can be one hell of a cheerleader
 
After the week I have had I am having some wine...
Now if you are unhappy with those numbers
please feel free to send Mr P to Jersey...
tell him he forgot something here and needs to stay for awhile!

Good job on the .5 and watching tonight
hopefully that will give MR P the kick he needs to get his a## to NJ!
 
Chewy
PMPS 184 (+24 without insulin) Shot .5
+2 149
+4 104

So far so good....nice and easy drop!

As far as ME.....breathing and sipping! Mostly sipping!
 
Looks like you'll get lucky and not have him be freakishly active on that dose, nice to have some wiggle room on the dose, easy to decrease dose on 0.5
 
+4 104

He probably will drop a little more, but it looks like the dose was safe. About a 45 percent drop at this time.

Good Night! I might get one more test during the night.....
 
Great day Kim!
You know, if you and Chewy keep this up, he'll be going to his "furever home" without vials and syringes! I was going to ask, given the numbers you've seen today with both kitties..... did you just open a nuvyle yesterday? :mrgreen:

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top