Kitty (tid) and Chewy 2/24.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Good Morning!

What would life be without challenges?!

So, today from Diabetic Alley, we have Kitty with an AMPS (tid) of 132...tick, tock, tick, tock.....we wait! I do not shoot under 200-- so, I fed the hungry pig a spoonful of FF and will test her in a couple of hours-- I need to go to my office, so she must wait 2 hours! I am sure glad that I plan NOTHING around her dosing schedule. This most likely will have me getting up all hours of the night-- and on the weekend!!! Let's see...this puts her at 11am, 7 pm and 3 am-- most likely! Wow, doesn't that sound like FUN-- no dinner plans and waking in the middle of the night this weekend! BUT, as the saying goes.......the things we do for LOVE!

Chewy aka... Sneezy....had a decent curve last night. It does look like that less is more, but due to the infection and the fear of ketones, I increased him this morning to 1.2 units. He has not gotten good curves on the increased dose, but the need for more insulin might be greater than the perfect curve until he gets over the infection. I will get some test in to see how he does today. He is GREAT about taking the antibiotics and did sleep with me last night!

I just noticed a silver lining in Kitty's change of plans....She and Chewy can both get a dose at 7 pm! So, that reduces my shot schedule by one...for now!

Wishing everyone a Great Day from Diabetic Alley (AKA Kittyville!)......

We are expecting severe thunderstorms with 70 mph wind gusts today-- ugggg! :o
 
Very windy in Htown today. Baxter had some good numbers yesterday. So the wind gust you get are bringing good BG numbers your way today. ;-)
 
~O) Good Morning.

Another exciting day in Kittyville er I mean Diabetic Alley.

It's windy here too and chilly. Stay safe in the thunderstorm.
 
Glad to hear the kids are all doing well... for those that slept last night, what Kim has failed to mention was what a HUGE help she was to me during the wee hours - as I thought my boy was headed to DKA-ville. So on top of the crazy shooting hours she keeps, she was also up half the night being a friend and counselor by phone! Hopefully her children will bring her regular schedules and good numbers over the weekend so she can get a little rest! As for me... that's where I'm headed! I guess I'll call this a vacation day, since my boss might not think a cat situation qualifies for sick leave.
 
Kim, you never cease to amaze me. I really don't know how you manage to do it all. You are my heroine! :mrgreen:

Regarding Kitty...wowwee...those AMPS are looking so good. She can be the postercat for TID.
Chewy...Haven't peeked at his SS yet but sounds like it's manageable.

Love the updates from Diabetic Alley. :lol:
 
Diabetic Alley updates are the best!

So, while most of you were just going to bed in the wee hours, I was awakened by the dreaded 4:30 alarm clock, did a quick check to make sure nobody was still in crisis, and went to work.....so, reading this, I'm sort of drowsy. And I'm reading Kim's original post, and I see this:

He is GREAT about taking the antibiotics and did sleep with me last night!

And I thought "WHAT????, how did we go from Kitty insulin to what could be taken, out of context, as "Too Much Information"..... I had to reread the previous few sentences to make sure I hadn't missed something!!

OK, so good that Kitty and Chewy are having a "routine" diabetic alley day!

Carl
 
Okay, Carl! :lol:

Chewy feels bad today, his nose is starting to have discharge and his eyes are puffy. I am hoping the vet is being aggresive enough. I will watch him today, but if he is not better in the morning----back to the vet.

Kitty-- Here is an example of why tid works for "special kitties"---she was 132 at +8--I didn't shoot, because I never shoot under 200. I had to go to my office, and didn't get back for 3 hours, which would be +11---and Cool Kitty checked in at 501! I shot 3.5 and gave thanks for TID dosing with Prozinc!
 
Perfect illustration of why Kitty needs TID. With rocket rises like that - 350 points in 3 hours - there's no way you could do BID. That's incredible.

Sending healing thoughts to the snotty nosed new brat! I felt that way a couple weeks ago when all the pine trees decided to drop their pollen. Glad that's over for now.

Carl
 
Kitty (tid) is trying to get back into her yellow preshots after the extended cycle and the 501 this morning!
Midshot 327 I shot 3.2


Chewy
PMPS 323 I shot 1.2
He did have some drop on the 1.2 this morning--my gut says he needs more not less.

I think I am catching Chewy's Cold!
 
Kim,
I think your gut is right on chewy. IF the numbers aren't being boosted by the cold. If the ABs drop his numbers, then 1.2 might be the right dose. Sort of have to wait until the infection improves or clears to know for sure. Seems it can't ever be just one thing at a time, huh?

Carl
 
Kim,

That rise from Kitty sounds exactly like Sid!! Lucky Chewy, he has you to give him meds and I hope he feels better son and does not have to go to the vet. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top