Kitty (tid) 2/3.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning Breakfast Club!

I have officailly logged in early enough, finally, to be a member of the breakfast club!

Kitty's midshot (3 AM) was 231--shot 3.2 units. I had a dinner meeting last night out of town. Knowing Kitty would need her PM shot during the time I would be gone--- I took her with me. I am running out of excuses to tell people for why I need to go to the car in the middle of dinner! SO, last night I introduced many to Cool Kitty! Now I am officially "crazy" in the eyes of my co-workers--a cat sleeping in my car, with a litter box in the floorboard, and instead of beer-- insulin in the cooler! Oh Well!

I am off to an early morning meeting and then home mid morning for a much needed day off!

Wishing everyone a Great Day......
 
Good Morning fellow Breakfast Clubber!

Regarding your story:

Yes, your coworkers probably think you are a loon. I, on the other hand, happen to think you rock!!! :razz:
 
I think they are just jealous! :smile:

How did your kitty do in the car? Mine hates going in the car and freaks out.

Doing a great job!

Have a great day!!!

Lori
 
So does mine- and it is only a minute drive to the vet!
Just taking her somewhere and leaving her in the car with a litter box and food and water would just mean spreading kitty litter all over the car and peeing on the seats because she's mad at me.

But still, everyone at my work is interested and asks how she is and my church people know I go home and test. And I had to write about the understanding the support of a social network and i wrote about FDMB- what strengths it has, the encouragement so now all my classmates know I have a sugar cat and have also been asking questions. I go to school in a public health college so they are interested in any health. They said that was the best, well thought out assignment of them all (they did theirs on social cognitive theory as, apparently, the only social network some know is twitter and Facebook and that is no-where health related.
 
Kim, you are not crazy, you are wonderful !! you can adapt to any situation cat_pet_icon my son calls me the crazy cat lady :lol: I could be alot worse !
 
I completed my early morning meeting and came home to test Kitty for her AMPS. We have been on a crazy shoot schedule, due to her having a low midshot test a few days ago. Well, it looks like we will be changing schedules AGAIN! Her AMPS (+8 due to TID dosing) was 113. Other than the low reading, the good news is, I am home for the remainder of the day and can continue to test and shoot her when she starts rising. I really needed to get on a new schedule---this should help!

As far as Kitty traveling in the car, Kitty loves to ride! I do not use a carrier in the car. She sits in my lap or in the passenger seat when we are traveling. You should see the looks that we get at Drive Thru windows!!! I have said this many times, but Kitty really is a Cool Kitty!
 
My husband likes to tell me all the time that he saved me from being the crazy old cat lady!
I still have a good chance though...men ususally die off a lot early then women :mrgreen:
Sorry Carl, just kidding!

Kim
Kitty might be preparing herself for BID...you never know!
 
Ms. Cool Kitty certainly deserves the name and Ms. Cool Kim does too.

I wonder what Kitty is up to now, going to switch things up again?
 
Yeah, Kim is hoping for BID so she can shoot both animals at the same time....that'll last about a week. :lol:
Kitty and Sally are allies now.... Kim is really in for it next full moon!
 
Getting ready to test Kitty for her Mid Cycle test....BUT, Sally (dog) threw the BIG 162 for a preshot tonight. That was her lowest test of the 12 hour cycle and she started at 368. Supposedly for dogs, you are truly not suppose to use a sliding scale-- it is important to hold a steady dose. I am driving the K9 people crazy!!! I am shooting what I think she needs for the next cycle. I need to get a complete curve on Sally this weekend and see if I can figure it out. The vet told me not test Sally and to just shoot the 7 units blind for a week! :lol: I don't think so!

I need to drop her dose back and hold it for a week and step it up slowly, until I can find a safe consistent dose for her.

Going to check Kitty....wonder what surprise this will hold?!

I Dream of BID for Kitty!
 
Supposedly for dogs, you are truly not suppose to use a sliding scale-- it is important to hold a steady dose.

Kim, have you gotten a feel for whether or not that really is so? Is it just one of those "because this is the way it is done" deals, or do other people try to manage like you are? Are you the droolerdiabetes rogue? It doesn't really make sense to me to hold a dose if there's a change in her numbers a couple days after you start on the dose... Is there like a "protocol" posted that you are supposed to follow?

Dang, this must be so "foreign" for you. :?

Do droolers bounce?
 
Carl, I have read a lot and I am convinced that Canine Diabetes is very different from Feline Diabetes. Metabolism is very different in dogs than cats, and that plays a big role in the management of diabetes. I have also, almost, been convinced that you do need to hold a consistent dose. But, I think the vet increased Sally too much in a week. I was shooting 4 units and the vet went up to 7. She might end up needing 7 units, which really is a very small dose for a dog her size, but the increase should have been to 4.5--hold and test for a week. Then 5--hold and test for week....etc..... The increase is/was too much in my opinion. When the vet gave me the discharge papers on Tuesday, in BIG BOLD letters it said....DO NOT CHANGE the dose without consulting with your vet!!!! I figure they won't know! She goes back for a curve on the 7 units Monday (I have a credit, or I wouldn't take her back!)

Weight does play a role and gives guidance in insulin doses for dogs.--there actually is a protocal for units per pound. It really does seem to be very different-- and some of it is hard for me to accept! BUT, I will continue to try and learn and be open-minded! I said, I would try!!!
 
I've been lurking over there following along (does that make me a Sally stalker :shock: ) and was wondering the same thing. Is the holding the dose for a week (although they have said unless you get a low PS) really the deal or have they drank the vet cool aid.

Of course you have to reduce the dose on a lower PS.

Also, they were liking the 5 units so maybe her consistant dose is more like that. Just thinking out loud.

You might just rock their world.
 
Robin, I agree, you have to reduce the dose-- there is no way that you should shoot the same dose into 162 as you do 368. I think the increase was too large. I have a feeling, I might end up rocking their world! Wait until I throw the Speadsheet on them!!! I need to get St. Sue to fix me one up-- She should have plenty of time, considering the snowstorm in Denver!

Thanks for keeping up with Sally! It is a new world for me, as always I appreciate your support!
 
I think you have unrealistic expectations of my abilities, Kim. I can set up our spreadsheet, no problem, but not sure I could adapt it to work for canine bgs. What do you have in mind? Send me a pm.

Yes, we have 12 inches and still snowing. Denver got more than we did. Love snow days!
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I think you have unrealistic expectations of my abilities, Kim. I can set up our spreadsheet, no problem, but not sure I could adapt it to work for canine bgs. What do you have in mind? Send me a pm.

Yes, we have 12 inches and still snowing. Denver got more than we did. Love snow days!

You underestimate your abilities Sue. Why would it be any different with doggy bg's, bg's are bg's no matter if they are human, feline or canine, right? It's the patterns we are looking for. Why couldn't they use the google docs ss for their dogs?

My sister lives in Denver, I better call her to see if they are ok.
 
There is a signature line on the K9 site, just like here. If I had a SS set up, using our template, could we/YOU attach it to my signature in doggie land?

Let me know if you think it would work. I will PM you the site info and the signature line.

Thanks St. Sue!
 
That shouldn't be a problem. It's a google doc and I think anyone signed on to Goggle should be able to access it. (I think)

The part I don't know about is the color coding. Different numbers mean different things, right? An 80 would be a nice number for cats but wouldn't that be a low number for dogs?
 
I think the color coding that we use is okay. If we have a cat with a 23, it is shaded green just like a 99-- But, they are very different in reality.

Let's go for it and fix one for Sally this weekend. It will be our way of giving to the canine diabetics of the world. Maybe, this is the "purpose" of Sally's diabetes. Maybe? I believe in fate!
 
You better add it to your sig here too! Just so we can razz you the first time you don't update it! :mrgreen:
 
Well, there is one thing the K9 site has in common with our site.........I have just been told to sit down and BREATHE!!!!!! :lol:
 
I usually don't add the "sit down" part.... I figure you must be sitting down if you're typing in front of a computer! But yes, honey, BREATHE.... :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top