Kitty (tid) 2/11 ...Off to the vet! We're back!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Kitty did it to me again! I got up at 3:00 am to test and shoot her midshot (tid) and she threw me a 167...I do not shoot under 200, so two hours later she was 229! I stuck with the reduced dose and shot 3 units-- we will see what today gives us.

But, for now, Kitty and I are off to the vet. Her eyes have been running a little-- clear liquid, not yucky stuff, but this morning she is squinting her eye and not wanting to open it fully. So, we are off to see if she needs any optical meds.

As if enough is not going on, Sally's amps (dog) was 475 this morning...her numbers are continuing to rise. I really need to get on top of her situation-- I feel at a lose, and I should be better than that. It looks like she is getting too much insulin based on her curves, but the vet assures me that she is on a miniscule dose and it is likely she is being underdosed. It is very frustrating!

Wishing everyone a Great Day......
 
Re: Kitty (tid) 2/11 ...Off to the vet!

Hang in there, I hope everything is ok with Ms. Kitty's eye.

Please update us when you get home.
 
Re: Kitty (tid) 2/11 ...Off to the vet!

Good luck Kim. Hope the eye is somethin simple.
(((((hugs)))))
 
BIG sigh! It appears that there is nothing "big" going on with Kitty's eye. The vet perscribed some antibiotic steriod drops and indicated that she thought the drops would take care of the problem.

But, the biggest relief was in the blood work. You know I have been thinking she probably had some declining kidney function---BUT, the blood work is stable and her kidney values, while elevated are no worse than they have been during the last year. Kitty had two great words written on her chart......Stable and Regulated!!! Not bad for a 16.5 year old complex cat with diabetes.

Also, I got a ketone test on Sally this morning....Negative!

So, I am going to put some more wood on the fire and sit back and be thankful that the news was good! The glass is half full for me today!

Thanks for the concern!
 
Great update "Stable and Regulated" party_cat I know how worried you were about her kidney's so whew!!!! there too.

:RAHCAT Sally doesn't have ketones!

Enjoy your day in front of the fire, you deserve it.
 
Thanks Robin and Sue!

Time for Kitty's AM shot....she tested 189 at the vet on the blood panel--- an hour and a half later at home....and she is 137. I assume the stress had her elevated at the vet. I have had my meter tested against the vets and they are normally very close. I need to make some adjustments, I don't think she can hold on to the numbers for 4 more hours, without a big spike, which would allow me to try bid dosing. So, it looks like I need to reduce her dose further and try to level out the three cycles.

So, now I am sitting in front of the fire waiting....tick...tock...tick...tock..!!!!
 
CAnt believe miss litty is regulated!!
wonderful for you!
and especially good news on the kidneys!

All is looking good for kitty!

I will keep everything crossed for Sally

:mrgreen:
 
+9.75 amps (tid) 259--shot 3 units

I would love to try and hold out for the 12 hours, but I know she is ready to zoom! Her BG almost doubled in 1.75 hours. I am going to attempt to find a dose that will let the tid dosing settle down to a schedule.
 
sO HAPPY Kitty is doing so good! I know that has got to be a relief.

Enjoy the fireplace and snuggles with kitty.

Lori
 
Kim,
Glad Kitty got a good report at the vet. Wow! Stable and regulated. That's great news.

We're sitting back in front of the fire here too. Currently watching my KY Wildcats with a glass of wine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top