Kitty (tid) 2/10

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Good Morning from Kittyville!

Things are still looking good!

PMPS tid (12:30 am) 237--- shot 3.2
AMPS tid (8:30 am) 251--- shot 3.2

Kitty is running around the house this morning and pushing the other cats off of the scratching pad! She seems to feel great! :-D

I am off today---- so, I actually might do a curve on Kitty to see exactly how low she does go on the cycles. I haven't done a curve recently-- might be interesting!

Wishing everyone a great day......
 
Sally (dog) is looking really weird! I have no idea...I increased her dose per the vet (uggg) and her numbers have not been as good. I increased by a greater amount than I wanted and her curve looks like a mountain. Her preshot is her lowest reading-- I test, feed and shoot and for about 5 hours she goes up and then starts coming down around +6. The vet said one or two things were going on ...we are either giving too much insulin or not enough!!!! You think?! :lol:

Other than the weird curve, she is feeling good. I am going to do a curve this weekend and see if I can get a better feel for what is going on with the BG. She goes back to the vet on Monday for more blood work and ultrasounds regarding the ptitis. Thanks for asking!

If you get a chance, look at Sally's SS-- I have it updated and see if you see anything. I assume you still have it.
 
Such nice numbers Kitty is getting, you have done such an awesome job with her. A curve will be interesting to see.

You will figure out Sally too, no doubt about it.
 
Just a thought. If a vet was urging higher doses with a cat and the bean was getting inverse curves and higher numbers , we would suggest going against the vet's advice and lowering the dose. Is it different for dogs?
 
I don't know Sue. The first curves that Sally got were the typical curve that we like to see here. She was on a very low dose of insulin for a dog her size (and yes, size does play a role in dosing of a dog--unlike a cat). But, her curves actually looked great. But, at that time she was eating very little due to the ptitis. Now she is eating a lot and on an increased dose, and her curves look like a mountain.

I have actually seen it referenced that there is a mountain type curve for dogs. But, I can't understand, if that was truly going to be her pattern, why she saw the "normal" curve on the lower doses. I really am lost. One additional thing that I have learned about dogs vs cats is, with dogs you want to hold a dose for five days minimum to let there body adjust before changing anything. The idea of a sliding scale, unless you see low numbers, is not a normal practice.

I hate to "question" the vet right now, as I really need the continued service for the ptitis. Sally was really sick and almost died, and without the supserlative treatment she received she would not have made it. So, I am not really in a position to change a lot. When she goes for the curves, they give the insulin (not me!). I know she is my dog and I can do what I want, but I am not in a comfortable place to change a lot.

I just hope she gets in better numbers SOON!
 
Sounds like the answer is it would be different for dogs. I am truly sorry it is frustrating. I remember with Kitty that you jumped right in, wanted to research it all and find the best answers. And when it became clear Kitty wasn't going to play by the rules :-D you found a way to make it work. I am sure it will be the same with Sally.

Remember that breathing thing, Kim. :mrgreen:
 
Yes, frustrating! I am breathing! Were you impressed with my UPDATED SS and the data I am collecting?! :lol: You taught me well! Thanks!
 
Hi Kim,
I truly cant believe how well miss kitty is doing!!yes I am jealous!!

It has to be so frustrating with Sally, but I am sure you will get it figured out soon! :mrgreen:
 
Tick..tock...tick....tock....here we go again with the schedule!

Kitty Midshot PS (tid) +8 157
+9 164

I do not shoot anything under 200, because she is TID dosed and I need to be assured that we have a rising number.

I keep dreaming of BID, but I know she would be in the 400s in 12 hours! So, I just sit and wait....and wait.....

I am not complaining, I remember the Alamo and the high red and black preshots!

Go Cool Kitty!
 
Do you think a dose reduction would help even out the cycles, that's what we suggest for bid so it seems like that should hold true for tid.

Did you get that curve in today?

I'm sure glad it's Friday.

I'll be having some cheese with my whine tonight.
 
+10 midshot---- 212 shot 3 units!

I did reduce to 3 units tonight. I agree Robin, that I could reduce the dose, but I still get a lot of preshots in the mid to upper 200s and I wonder if a dose reduction would drive those over 300-- what do you think?

I might try to reduce this weekend and give it a chance to see what it produces. It is interesting, when I started tid, Kitty was getting 4 units each cycle.

I fell short on the curve today!!!!! Oh well! But, I did have a nice day!

I just might have me a glass of wine tonight also! Or two!
 
Ginny & Alex said:
kse said:
. The vet said one or two things were going on ...we are either giving too much insulin or not enough!!!! You think?! :lol:

Absolutely profound. :mrgreen:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I'm glad you had a nice day even if you didn't get a curve. Maybe you could do a curve on your current dose and then reduce and do another curve to see the difference. I know, a lot of work for a weekend but it could be very telling especially if you want to realize your dream of bid.

Pass the cheese.
 
Tick...tock..tick...tock.....it is 3:15 am and I am up for Kitty's supposed pm shot.....167 test...like I have said before, due to dosing tid I do not shoot less than 200, so I am waiting!

I reduced the dose to 3 units at her mid cycle and still.....here I am!

Oh well......
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top