Kitty--red again amps 517

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
You know things aren't going good when you are hoping for pink preshot numbers. Kitty was extremely hungry this morning--ate 1.5 cans of FF. I tested her again this morning and Ketones are negative.

I spoke with the vet last night and told her about Kitty's recent high preshoot numbers---as expected she indicated we might need to go from 3 units to 4 units---I am not comfortable with these big increases. I stayed with the 3 units this morning.
She also indicated she would like to see Kitty get off of FF and go to wet MD---once again I am not interested. She seems to be grasping for straws--she wanted to know if Kitty could be getting into any other food. I have 3 other cats and I am feeding them on the screen porch and taking all food up after they eat--so I told her I was absolutely convinced Kitty is not getting into other food. Then she said she wished I would quit feeding Kitty snacks during the day-- I quit that last week also. Well, I have given her a 1/4 can a couple of days---I can't tell it is effecting her numbers either way.

We got better numbers on the 2 units early on--before DKA. Does anyone think the DKA can still be playing a role in the higher numbers?
One vet suggested that it would be hard to get good numbers, or regulate her for 3 weeks after the DKA--any thoughts?

I found a Cat clinic in Raleigh that advocates home testing, ketone testing etc. that I am thinking about taking Kitty. I really am not sure what to do---but, I am not sure increasing the dose is the answer.

Sue, in looking at the whole cat---she is alert and seems okay---but, I know the numbers are too high.

Kim
 
It seems like your current vet is still stuck in old school practices. With Humulin insulins you would only feed at shot times and not in between. With Prozinc, Lantus, and Levemir, it is actually better to feed small meals throughout the day because it puts less of a load on the system at once. With Humulin you need that load because the insulin hits hard and fast. Does that make sense? Also, the fact that they suggested once a day dosing means to me that they don't really understand feline diabetes.

I also agree with not going up all the way to 4u quite yet. Yes, the DKA could still be playing a part in all this. It is really unclear if Kitty needs a bit more insulin, or a drop down to 2u or 2.5u twice a day. Going from 2u a day to 6u a day is a big difference, but isn't out of the question because of the DKA. Through this week you can maybe try taking up the dose a notch to 3.25u or 3.5u and if that doesn't change things, then this weekend when you can monitor ketones try 2u or 2.5u twice a day.

We need to get her out of those high numbers! But I am really glad to hear that she is acting well today cat_pet_icon
 
I think Kelly and I are both stuck in the same place, Kim. We aren't experts in FD, we aren't vets. My gut says reduce, but that is advice that is scary to give.

Do you think the ketones are completely resolved? Did she have an infection that she is still on medication for? You have tested and seen no ketones since, right? Is she eating and drinking normally? (I would suggest to try adding water to the wet food and seeing if she likes it - it is a great way to keep her hydrated.)

Is there anyone who could come in to check on her for you during the day? Is there anyway to test out this dose while you are around before next weekend? Could you start testing and giving the shot early in the am and be around a few hours after and still be home in time for a shot 12 hours later?

I am with Kelly. Feeding small meals during the day is the best way to keep bg levels on a more even plane and to support the pancreas.

You could try 2.5 and see if the numbers are any better. That might give us some indication if lower is the way to go. Or you could go up to 3.5 and see if anything changes. It is one of those times when you hold the needle and it is your decision to make.

I am glad she seems to be feeling better. But these numbers do worry me.
 
She was on Zeniquin for the UTI--completed last Thursday. The vet checked her on Wednesday and said the infection was gone. I am checking for ketones on an almost a daily basis--negative last night and this morning.

When she was getting once a day dosing, she was eating 4 to 5 cans of FF and I was feeding her small meals all day--along with her breakfast and dinner (larger). No she is eating less often.

Eating good--drinking a little more than normal--urine output is okay. Not so large and not so often---but, enough to cover the input.

I tried a lower dose the end of last week--went to 2.00, 2.2 and 2.5---saw small increases, but not these high numbers. I just can't understand why the numbers are so different in a week.

One of the ER vets said I would see big swings for about 3 weeks due to the DKA.

What do you think about going to the Cat Clinic?

Kelly, what vet does your mom use?
 
I have updated her spreadsheet--I probably need to check more, but she is over it!

Could Liver training be going on?
 
I don't know that it is liver training per-say. If the dose is in fact too high, we could be seeing high curves because the liver is protecting itself from the onslaught of insulin. If the dose isn't high enough, then the liver isn't really involved in this one.

I'll try to get that info about my mom's vet for you today.
 
Also, we may not be vets, but they seem to be at a bit of a loss too. The only thing they have on us is being able to test blood, urine, listen to the heart rate, etc. Sometimes kitties just don't do things by the book. Oscar can tell you all about that :lol:
 
Glad that Kitty is still testing negative for ketones (good news!). Now you just want her numbers to be better. I think your vet sounds "old school" too. Mine is a good vet but is "old school" when it comes to feline diabetes. He recommended the Science Diet M/D dry when Max was first diagnosed. You've probably read some of the same stuff as me that the high protein, low carb wet diet that is close to a cat's natural diet is actually better, but I don't think all vets know about it yet. Anyway, that's a long way of saying don't let your vet talk you out of feeding Fancy Feast low carb. Paws crossed Kitty continues to get better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top