Kitty Rabbit GA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christine & KR

Member Since 2012
Hi, everyone. I'm still out of the country, but I wanted to thank everyone for their advice over the past month. Kitty Rabbit passed away yesterday, Nov 7th.

The morning I had to take KR to the boarding facility (which I highly recommend to anyone in the Buffalo, NY, area) her bg was 82. I skipped her shot (with a lot of advice from people here), and took her to Cara Mia Pet Resort. The staff received written instructions, pictures, and a sample syringe with .25u so they'd know how much insulin to give her. When I left she was sitting on a table watching a video of mice playing. Later that day I received a text telling me she was settling in fine, complete with a picture of KR fascinated with the TV scree. This for the 19-year-old who'd never been boarded in her life. :-D

From the time I dropped her off Friday until Tuesday evening I received texts and photos showing all was well. Wednesday, however, the day shift arrived to discover Kitty Rabbit unresponsive. They rubbed her gums with honey, got a slight response, and rushed her to the emergency vet. When her regular vet opened she was transferred to their care. When the vet finally got in touch with me (we were, of all things, at the funeral of my MIL, who we'd buried three hours earlier), he'd already watched KR's bgs go from extremely low to extremely high in the short time he'd been treating her. She was still unconscious and had been having seizures since she'd arrived in his care. I made the decision to let her go.

I truly believe that as much as KR disliked having her ears poked (particularly the days it took me multiple tries to get a blood drop!), the insulin, along with the advice and moral support I received here, made the last month of her life a happy month. I saw my "young" KR again: playing with string, batting at balls, running around the house. I wish she would've lived until I came home to say goodbye, but she's always been a cat with attitude and had to have the last word about everything. I specifically told her to be good so I could see her again when I came home; she just had to make "home" somewhere other than this mortal world. I miss her terribly.

Thank you again,

Christine
 
Oh no, not Kitty Rabbit! I woke up this morning thinking about her for some reason, and just saw your message....

Christine I am so very sorry for your loss.

What a beautiful tribute you've written for your lovely girl. I have no idea what happens when we leave this world, but it is my sincere hope that you and Kitty Rabbit meet up again one day.

With love to you and to KR,

Elizabeth x
 
I am so sorry to hear about Kitty Rabbit- I remember her.

Her picture is of a love-able floofball just wanting to be rubbed on the tummy!

(((Hugs Christine)))

Heather
 
Farewell Kitty Rabbit - she did live a long, happy life with a wonderful Mamabean looking out for her. I'm sorry for your loss, Christine. :YMHUG:
 
I'm so sorry.

You've shared so much of your life with Kitty Rabbit; 19 years, that's longer than most marriages.

It's those years spent together and experiences shared that makes it so very painful. But it is also in those memories that you will find comfort, and happiness.

I did post this quote recently for another FDMB member whose darling kitty had left him, but I find it so relevant I will post it again:

"Not the least hard thing to bear when they go from us, these quiet friends, is that they carry away with them so many years of our own lives."

You shared many happy years with your beloved Kitty Rabbit. It is so terribly sad that this must ever end.

H x
 
Kitty Rabbit looked like a furry piece of fluff in her profile picture. Nineteen years......what a long and wonderful life you gave her and my heart goes out to you on her passing. So sad that KR didn't wait for you to come home. May all those years of memories help you through the "moments" and you have my deepest and most heartfelt sympathy on the loss of your beautifull Kitty Rabbit.
 
I am new here but reading your post it struck me that Kitty Rabbit passed while on vacation at the spa. What a wonderful way to leave this life.
My sympathies to you and your family.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top