Christine & KR
Member Since 2012
Hi, everyone. I'm still out of the country, but I wanted to thank everyone for their advice over the past month. Kitty Rabbit passed away yesterday, Nov 7th.
The morning I had to take KR to the boarding facility (which I highly recommend to anyone in the Buffalo, NY, area) her bg was 82. I skipped her shot (with a lot of advice from people here), and took her to Cara Mia Pet Resort. The staff received written instructions, pictures, and a sample syringe with .25u so they'd know how much insulin to give her. When I left she was sitting on a table watching a video of mice playing. Later that day I received a text telling me she was settling in fine, complete with a picture of KR fascinated with the TV scree. This for the 19-year-old who'd never been boarded in her life.
From the time I dropped her off Friday until Tuesday evening I received texts and photos showing all was well. Wednesday, however, the day shift arrived to discover Kitty Rabbit unresponsive. They rubbed her gums with honey, got a slight response, and rushed her to the emergency vet. When her regular vet opened she was transferred to their care. When the vet finally got in touch with me (we were, of all things, at the funeral of my MIL, who we'd buried three hours earlier), he'd already watched KR's bgs go from extremely low to extremely high in the short time he'd been treating her. She was still unconscious and had been having seizures since she'd arrived in his care. I made the decision to let her go.
I truly believe that as much as KR disliked having her ears poked (particularly the days it took me multiple tries to get a blood drop!), the insulin, along with the advice and moral support I received here, made the last month of her life a happy month. I saw my "young" KR again: playing with string, batting at balls, running around the house. I wish she would've lived until I came home to say goodbye, but she's always been a cat with attitude and had to have the last word about everything. I specifically told her to be good so I could see her again when I came home; she just had to make "home" somewhere other than this mortal world. I miss her terribly.
Thank you again,
Christine
The morning I had to take KR to the boarding facility (which I highly recommend to anyone in the Buffalo, NY, area) her bg was 82. I skipped her shot (with a lot of advice from people here), and took her to Cara Mia Pet Resort. The staff received written instructions, pictures, and a sample syringe with .25u so they'd know how much insulin to give her. When I left she was sitting on a table watching a video of mice playing. Later that day I received a text telling me she was settling in fine, complete with a picture of KR fascinated with the TV scree. This for the 19-year-old who'd never been boarded in her life.
From the time I dropped her off Friday until Tuesday evening I received texts and photos showing all was well. Wednesday, however, the day shift arrived to discover Kitty Rabbit unresponsive. They rubbed her gums with honey, got a slight response, and rushed her to the emergency vet. When her regular vet opened she was transferred to their care. When the vet finally got in touch with me (we were, of all things, at the funeral of my MIL, who we'd buried three hours earlier), he'd already watched KR's bgs go from extremely low to extremely high in the short time he'd been treating her. She was still unconscious and had been having seizures since she'd arrived in his care. I made the decision to let her go.
I truly believe that as much as KR disliked having her ears poked (particularly the days it took me multiple tries to get a blood drop!), the insulin, along with the advice and moral support I received here, made the last month of her life a happy month. I saw my "young" KR again: playing with string, batting at balls, running around the house. I wish she would've lived until I came home to say goodbye, but she's always been a cat with attitude and had to have the last word about everything. I specifically told her to be good so I could see her again when I came home; she just had to make "home" somewhere other than this mortal world. I miss her terribly.
Thank you again,
Christine