? Kitty pmps=221; +6=50 + 7=70 (after food) Reduce dose?

Carina Josefine

Member Since 2018
We were planning to follow the TR protocol.

Is it okay to reduce the dosage? Back to .75 or at least to a skinny 1?
I know techincally we didnt see her drop below 50, but so so close. Two cycles she was in the 100s at shot time, and I cowarded out and gave her only .5 for two cycles , which made her go right back in pink.

I guess I was too much of a scardycat there, but I really didnt feel like I knew her reaction pattern well enough yet to shoot at those numbers.

Do we reduce or hold?


Ay advice would be appreciated :)
 
Last edited:
It's a bit hard to understand your spreadsheet. Normally we just put the dose in the Units cell. Any additional tests go in the AMPS/PMPS cells. For example, for last night, I don't know if you shot at the 8.5 or the 8.8. For any other readers - yes, this is World version numbers. If you shot at 8.8 - I am guessing you stalled 15 minutes, then put 8.8@+12.25 in the PMPS cell. That let's us know you stalled 15 minutes and shot after the 8.8. In the +11 cell, put 8.5@+12. And put 0.5 (I think) in the units cell. Then you have to go over to the US version of the spreadsheet, and manually change the World version of the numbers to the US version, for those that don't read World. That is the majority of the people here who help with dosing.

If you can fix up the spreadsheet, and confirm whether my assumptions are right, then I can talk about dosing.

I also want to know, why are you giving a reduced dose at those blue preshots? TR assumes that you do consistent dosing unless either they earn a reduction or you need to increase. Lantus and Levemir are both great at giving flat cycles if you shoot low. In addition, Levemir has later nadirs, you have to learn to shoot lower. My girl's nadir was often at preshot. The good thing is that I had quite a few hours before onset, so I knew she was going to be a lot higher when the insulin started working (onset).
 
I'm sorry you completely lost me there with the spreadsheet.

Why does wether I shot at 8.5 or 8.8 a few cycles ago, affect dose going forward?

Maybe if I can understand these things, I can understand how to get it right.

I just wonder if a 50 could earn her a reduction. Even if the limit per protocol is 49.


I explained why we reduced the dosage. I don't feel like I know her reaction well enough to shoot in blues yet. I think it has stuck with me from last round when we were told not to, until we feel familiar with her reactions. I will learn to shoot lower. Thank you :)
 
Looked at what might confuse you on the sheet. Yes, I believe the second reading was about 15 min later. But the first time she did have food in the meantime. My boyfriend misunderstood and fed her while stalling.
 
First the dose. With TR, we reduce if we see a number under 50. But you hold the syringe should you decide to reduce to 0.75 units.

On the spreadsheet, let me try again. The Units cell should only have the number of units you shot. Was it 0.5? Not sure, there was a bunch of other text in there. The AMPS and PMPS cells should only have the value of the test you did just before the shot. If you did an earlier test and then delayed, the value of the earlier test goes in the +11 cell but with something telling you when it was.

As far as shooting blues, you do have some data showing you what happens when you shoot full dose at 182. If you have a cycle where you can monitor, you have plenty of test strips and high carb food, it's a perfect time to try shooting blues. On this forum, we suggest that if you are following TR, and you get a number below 150, stall and post for help. That means not feeding. Over 150, you are fine to shoot. Actually you are fine under 150, but people here can help you decide what to do. Eventually you should be able to shoot green numbers over 50 when you get the data to do so, but not yet. And with Levemir, it's even easier to shoot low, because the onset is several hours away and they will be rising until then.

As an aside, you might wish to do a curve some day when you have time, to try to figure out when Kitty's onset and nadir typically occur. You have a lot of day time +6 data, but not tests at other times. Typically Levemir onset is around +4 (between +3 and +5), typical nadir around +8 - my cat was later. Knowing onset and nadir will help you understand better how Kitty reacts to Levemir, and when you need to make sure she has food available to keep her safe if you have to be away from the house. That's why many people use autofeeders.
 
We will try to do a couple of curves. Doing one today, and will again in a few days. Kitty is luckily not alone much. One day a month we are gone for a few hours shopping, but apart from that, she is monitored around the clock :)
 
Back
Top