Kitty PMBG 48, +1=54, +3.5=94 - Newbie, eyes please!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Kitty PMBG 48, +1=54 - Newbie, eyes please!

There you go, Sienne! I think I did it right. :)

I fed Kitty around 7:10PM, and she's now at 54.
 
Re: Kitty PMBG 48, +1=54 - Newbie, eyes please!

That's fine Missy!! Looks like Kitty is doing GREAT on just the LC food!

Will keep paws crossed for you and Kitty :-D
 
Re: Kitty PMBG 48, +1=54 - Newbie, eyes please!

You did it perfectly!

The difference between the 48 and 54 is negligible and still very, very green!
 
Re: Kitty PMBG 48, +1=54 - Newbie, eyes please!

oh lookie lookie - what is going on in here?!

Wowie! This is really good and excellent decision to NOT give insulin tonight.

If she can keep going with these numbers for 14 consecutive days without insulin - then we consider kitty in remission and the food change may have been all she needed! But let's not jump ahead. We will take it one day at a time and see what happens.

Remember since you haven't given insulin, only feed her low carb food......
 
Re: Kitty PMBG 48, +1=54 - Newbie, eyes please!

Hillary & Maui said:
Remember since you haven't given insulin, only feed her low carb food......
Will do! When do you think I should test again?

I get nervous at night since there may not be anyone here to help. It would be so awesome if this LC diet could be the solution. My nerves are raw, and my other kitties are giving me the cold shoulder. Haha!
 
Re: Kitty PMBG 48, +1=54 - Newbie, eyes please!

You know, Kitty still hasn't used the litterbox today. Is that normal?
 
Re: Kitty PMBG 48, +1=54 - Newbie, eyes please!

Test her before you go to bed. Then get a good night's sleep and stop worrying. At this point if she stays in these low numbers, that is excellent!

If she goes up overnight, then when you test in the morning you will know and insulin may be needed. But if she maintains and stays in normal range - then skip the morning shot.

No panic, no worries. Do you normally leave food out overnight? You may want to do that - canned food only - no more dry - add water to the canned food and it will stay moist all night or until eaten.
 
Re: Kitty PMBG 48, +1=54 - Newbie, eyes please!

Deb & Wink said:
Normal numbers for a non-diabetic cat are 40-130.
I do want to clarify. Even if Kitty never needs another shot of insulin, Kitty would be considered a food controlled diabetic. The diabetes does not go away. You'll need to be vigilant so there's no breaking into contraband food (i.e., Kitty will not be allowed to eat the dreaded carbohydrates off of your plate and not even one piece of kibble should cross her lips)! You'll want to test her every so often. A rise in BG numbers is an incredible early warning system about health related issue whether it's that your cat needs a dental or there's an infection brewing. Her BG numbers will tell you usually in advance of her showing any symptoms of an illness.

Non-diabetic and diabetic cats can drop into low numbers. The difference is that if you are giving insulin, you need to respond differently than if there's no insulin on board. A cat that's not receiving insulin is in no danger of becoming acutely hypoglycemic (unless there's some other medical issue).
 
Re: Kitty PMBG 48, +1=54 - Newbie, eyes please!

I don't leave food out at night mainly because I won't know when she's eating it. If she were to eat it in the 2 hours before the shot, it might make the numbers off. I'll give her a little bit of food shortly, and some more before bed time (after I test her). I should wait to hear back from someone in the morning before shooting or feeding, right? Is anyone around at 7:00 AM (central for me)?
 
Re: Kitty PMBG 48, +1=54 - Newbie, eyes please!

Post on this board - people are here all the time. B

But use this rule of thumb - if she is 150 or less - NO Insulin -- pretty simple.

If she is above 150 - oh and 151, 152 are the same as 150. - then post and ask if you should give insulin or not.

start a new post - include the date in your subject line - so it looks like this

7/23 Kitty AMPS (or AMBG) #

If you want to add Newbie eyes please - add that to the subject.
 
Re: Kitty PMBG 48, +1=54 - Newbie, eyes please!

Actually, I'd post and ask for input regardless of where Kitty is in the morning. If numbers are high enough to shoot, I think you're going to need to reduce the dose. Like MJ said earlier, though, I'm crossing my fingers that Kitty is giving her Lantus a big old raspberry.
 
Re: Kitty PMBG 48, +1=54 - Newbie, eyes please!

Thank you, Hillary! This is great info. Is it too early to say that I love you guys? Haha!
 
Re: Kitty PMBG 48, +1=54 - Newbie, eyes please!

There's almost always someone 24/7 here to help advise you Missy. There are diabetic cats all over the world, and so there's usually someone here to help any time you need it. I'm also on the 7/7 schedule, so if all else fails, I've been doing this dance long enough to advise you and keep Kitty safe until others can take a look
 
I fed Kitty a pretty big tablespoon of LC food around 9:30 because she had a bunch of small meals today. I'm guessing that's why her BG went up to 94, because of the big meal. Should I give her a little more food before I go to bed, or will she be OK without it? I'm hoping to get to to bed in the next 20 minutes or so. Would that be too soon to give her more food?
 
Since you haven't given any insulin today, Kitty isn't in any danger of a hypo. If you think she's hungry, give her a little of the LC food and go on to bed. You need to take care of YOU too!

If she's not hungry, you're fine to not feed and go to bed...the time to worry is if you've given insulin and she's not eating anything
 
Good morning Missy!!!

Since you didn't shoot last night, you can start anytime this morning you want to, so if you want to be on an 8/8 schedule, that's fine.....just remember, don't feed before testing, depending on her AM number, then you'd shoot/not shoot,, and then feed. It's important that the AM number not be influenced by food.

Hoping Kitty continues those wonderful numbers without any juice!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top