Kitty off day & Chewy 3/16 +30 127 +42 181 shot!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Good Morning!

Yesterday was a very interesting day for Kitty. She has been having some wonky numbers, but yesterday something just didn't seem right with her. She had a 471 preshot at her midshot test, so I shot the normal 3 unit dose that I have been shooting. During the am cycle, I thought she seemed a little lethargic, but she is old and some days she doesn't seem to feel as well as others. After witnessing her behavior and seeing some high preshots lately....my gut said she might be experiencing some really low numbers. After shooting the 3 units at midshot, I decided I needed to do a curve on her--- she dropped like a rock-from 471 down to 130 in 3 hours-- Way too fast and too much! At +7 on her tid cycle she was 394. I decided to let her go 10 hours before testing again, even though I knew she was climbing, but I assumed it was a bounce and I didn't want any additional insulin in her for her body to fight. AT +10 she was 494 last night-- I decided to lower the dose to 2.5 units on the higher preshot. This morning I let her go 9 hours before testing, once again letting her body clear-- she was 214. I still have not shot, but I am going to shoot a reduced dose again-- maybe even 2 units. I am not liking what I am seeing. I feel like I have either been overdosing her and causing her some negative side effects or something else is going on with her. I will keep her checked and see if I can get a better understanding. She was really off yesterday.


Now to Chewy! At +30 with no insulin he is 127! I wish he would dip into the greens, but I am trying not to be greedy! I am sure at some point his numbers will climb, but for now I am letting him surf in these numbers. I will keep you updated!

Wishing Everyone a Great Day for Diabetic Alley.....
 
Re: Kitty off day & Chewy 3/16 +30 127

Hoping Kitty is okay. Maybe the speed at which she's dropping has changed. She was always so balanced before. You home frequently today checking?

And Chewy? Looks like he's trying to keep up with Kitten!!! Happy surfing little lion man!
 
Re: Kitty off day & Chewy 3/16 +30 127

Kim, you're doing a wonderful job with both Kitty & Chewy. It's entirely possibly Kitty needs less insulin; she's been showing you some wonderful numbers lately. Don't beat yourself up for not.moticing immediately (you've had your.hands full), celebrate instead! I know with tid how hard it is to see where the cycke's going, and if you start getting overlap, things get crazy fast. I think backing off the dose & the timing to reevaluate is the right idea.

Look at how far Chewy's come in.just a few weeks. You're all doing great.

Hang in there; we're all behind you watching miracles happen (even when we lurk & don't say.much).
 
Re: Kitty off day & Chewy 3/16 +30 127

Give Ms. Cool Kitty some scritches from me. I think a lower dose experiment is a great idea to try to see what is going on.

If her current dose is too high, it is a recent development so don't beat yourself up.
 
Re: Kitty off day & Chewy 3/16 +30 127

I reduced Kitty's dose today to 2.5. I have gotten some spot checks in and it looks like she did need less!

AMPS (+8) 236
Went against protocal and fed and waited an hour to retest and shoot...
386 +(9) shot 2.5
206 +4
182 (+8)
fed and waiting again to shoot.
286 (+9) shot 2.5

I am not sure what is going on, but this is different...and she doesn't act like she feels extremely well.
 
Re: Kitty off day & Chewy 3/16 +30 127

Kim,
I don't have a good understanding of her doses, but what would it be based on the 236 instead of the 386? To me, the 2.5 looks still too high and is giving her a long cycle. God forbid she's trying to change your life to BID for everybody!

Carl
 
Re: Kitty off day & Chewy 3/16 +30 127

I normally would have shot the low 200, but after yesterday I wanted to let it rise a little more. I have tried bid recently, but she just zooms up so bad the last two hours. I know the 386 is not all food, so I am assuming that she rose some on her own and the food normally gives her just a small increase. I am not really sure what I am doing! I am going to test this cycle also and see where she goes....knowing her and my luck, she will probably need insulin every 10 hours! She has not be on a true tid schedule for months. I have been shooting when necessary, as she has had many long cycles. Maybe the dose is too high and if I continue to reduce it, I will find a tid dose that will keep her consistent. She has been in good numbers, not a lot of bouncing either, until the last week. Who knows?!
 
Re: Kitty off day & Chewy 3/16 +30 127

Think the changes in the last week may be a reaction to you being outa town?
 
Re: Kitty off day & Chewy 3/16 +30 127

I like your idea of reducing the dose to keep her on schedule and consistant.

She's well regulated so I think staying on schedule would keep her regulated getting consistant doses and keep you out of the loony bin from keeping up a wacky schedule.
 
Chewy just can't make up his mind.....insulin or not?

+42 181 shot .25

I am becoming a servant to these felines! Neither of them are on a schedule...I am shooting both when needed!
 
I am becoming a servant to these felines!

"Becoming"??? How long have you had kitties under your roof? :mrgreen:
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top