Kitty not eating - skip/reduce?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Panic

Member Since 2019
Not sure if time sensitive material counts as 911 tag or not but it's shot time now...Panic hasn't wanted food all day. She's nibbled on chicken and was drinking a lot today and was willing to have some (lactose-free) milk but it's shot time again and she's snubbed her nose at the bowl. No DKA history.
 
I have everything minus the ketostix, mine expired.
I'll double-check but she weighed around 9 lbs last.
My friend said it's the "dissolvable" kind, I'm not sure if that's the standard or not? I can run and get it off her if that's fine.
Yes the zofran is a little square wafer and is dissolvable. Make sure your hands are dry first and just pop it into Panics mouth and it should stick there and dissolve. Wait 30 minutes before offering food.
I’d give 2 mg which should be 1/2 a wafer.......or it is here in Australia. Check the dose of each wafer first before deciding how much.
 
Yes she said they're 4 mg. Thank you so much Bron, I'm going to run and pick some up. It may be an hour before I can get back online (20 min drive one way). How long until I stop giving it?

And in case anyone sees the thread with dose recommendation for tonight - we're almost an hour off schedule so far but any thoughts about reduce/skipping. I won't give anything for now. I will be back!
 
Can you take down the 911 also please before you go....thanks.
Just wanted to ask if you’ve ever tried baby food when she doesn’t want to eat? My Minnie gets nauseated all the time but baby food works and I can get her to eat a jar slowly. Chicken, beef or turkey are my to gos. It’s also easier to add water and syringe feed than regular wet food. Good luck!!!
 
Yes she said they're 4 mg. Thank you so much Bron, I'm going to run and pick some up. It may be an hour before I can get back online (20 min drive one way). How long until I stop giving it?

And in case anyone sees the thread with dose recommendation for tonight - we're almost an hour off schedule so far but any thoughts about reduce/skipping. I won't give anything for now. I will be back!
See how she goes with the zofran and see if she eats. You can reevaluate than as to whether to give a dose then and work your way back to schedule.
You need to find out why she is nauseated if the zofran doesn’t fix it up after a couple of doses. You can give it 8 hourly if needed.
 
The ondansetron (Zofran is the expensive name brand) that I've given is 4 mg pills. Half that amount should be an OK dose.

As Bron said, at least a half dose should be OK. Can you syringe feed if you need to? I only one reduced the dose when Neko was off her food, and that' because I knew she was angling for a reduction, and it was night time. If cats are feeling icky, their numbers are often higher anyway. SS doesn't say what her numbers are like now.;)
 
The ondansetron (Zofran is the expensive name brand) that I've given is 4 mg pills. Half that amount should be an OK dose.

As Bron said, at least a half dose should be OK. Can you syringe feed if you need to? I only one reduced the dose when Neko was off her food, and that' because I knew she was angling for a reduction, and it was night time. If cats are feeling icky, their numbers are often higher anyway. SS doesn't say what her numbers are like now.;)

Oh if it’s the same as ondansetron yes, that’s what I give Minnie half of the 4mg pill twice a day so 2 mg see my signature :cat:
 
SS is updated! Gave half dose. Will offer food in 30 min, fingers crossed :nailbiting:
I just realized I didn't know if I was supposed to half dose in a half hour if she was eating ... uh ...

Just wanted to ask if you’ve ever tried baby food when she doesn’t want to eat? My Minnie gets nauseated all the time but baby food works and I can get her to eat a jar slowly. Chicken, beef or turkey are my to gos. It’s also easier to add water and syringe feed than regular wet food. Good luck!!!
I have given her chicken baby food before, back when she first got sick prior to diagnosis and she did try that!

As Bron said, at least a half dose should be OK. Can you syringe feed if you need to?
I've never done it before but I do have a feeding syringe. Should I attempt after so long if she still won't eat? And while I am wanting to take her to the vet to get her own drugs (friend did give me 4 pills so I should be good) should I take her in anyway tomorrow or?
 
Panic was dropped off about an hour ago, just received an email asking if they could do an overall round of blood work on her which I agreed to. She was due for it anyway but I was waiting for the COVID regulations to lighten up.
Me too but I just made an appointment as well. It’s always a good idea and hope you’ll hear about the results soon! :cat:
 
Just got this email:

All of the blood work looks good except the fructosamine is really high, meaning that overall regulation is not controlled, but his glucose has been in the high 200s so that may be part of it. He did eat for me. I am going to give him a dose of cerenia which is for nausea and then see if we can get him back where he needs to be. I haven’t given him any insulin because I didn’t want to mess up your schedule. You can pick him up at any time.

I'm going to ask for a copy of her lab results. I've also picked up ingredients for the "liver shake" recipe (Spirulina is $20!! I just need a tsp) so I'll fix that up for her as well. We'll see how she does when she comes home. :)
 
Just got this email:

All of the blood work looks good except the fructosamine is really high, meaning that overall regulation is not controlled, but his glucose has been in the high 200s so that may be part of it. He did eat for me. I am going to give him a dose of cerenia which is for nausea and then see if we can get him back where he needs to be. I haven’t given him any insulin because I didn’t want to mess up your schedule. You can pick him up at any time.

I'm going to ask for a copy of her lab results. I've also picked up ingredients for the "liver shake" recipe (Spirulina is $20!! I just need a tsp) so I'll fix that up for her as well. We'll see how she does when she comes home. :)
Did they offer any educated guesses as why she could be nauseated? I wonder if food allergies could be a factor... glad to hear it’s all good news though!!
 
Thank you Diane!

Nope, that's all I got out of them. They forgot to give me her bloodwork so they'll email it later today. She gave me a dirty look when I offered her some chicken so we'll see ...
 
Well she doesn't like the liver shake either. I was able to get her to lick it off her face a few times but then she got tired of it and stomped off to the water bowl.

@Wendy&Neko if I still can't get her to eat by shot time tonight, do I give a half dose again? She did not get any this morning.
 
A little early to tell, maybe get a +10 or +11 to give us a heads up. With the skip this morning she'll likely be high.

Do you still have some zofran? Have you ever tried all meat baby food with her?
 
Will do, thanks. I have 3 1/2 more pills of 4mg I could use, I'm not sure how long the cerenia lasts though. Or can you use them together?

Darn yes, I've been to town 3 times today and never thought about picking some up. Prior to diagnosis when she got sick she didn't eat for almost three days, then I tried some chicken baby food and she took it. I'll pick some up if there's any in stock nearby.
 
Ahh no to baby food either. She'll lick it off her face but doesn't want it. :/
How about tuna? It’s not a long term diet option but it may get her eating for the shot at least... those are my two to go baby food and tuna. There’s also a super carby caloric treat but for desperate times I give to minnie because she eats it all up. It’s called Inaba Churu do you have it in Canada? It looks like baby food and it comes in tubes you squeeze it out. I swear I think they put kitty crack in it. Chewy carries it:

Your pet will love this Inaba Churu Grain-Free Chicken, Tuna, Scallop Puree Variety Pack Lickable Cat Treat, 0.5-oz tube, pack of 20:
 
She doesn't want anything... she tends to go to the water bowl and drink if I make her eat. PMPS was 241, I gave half dose again.
 
She doesn't want anything... she tends to go to the water bowl and drink if I make her eat. PMPS was 241, I gave half dose again.
How about trying baby food, I have seen a lot of members suggest it just to try to get some food into her
Gerber 2nd Foods Baby Food, Ham and Gravy, 2.5oz Jar
Its 2% carbs



You can also try the beef with gravy
Chicken with gravy or the
Turkey and gravy

Nutrition Facts:
1 Serving per jar

Serving Size
1 jar


Amount Per Serving

Calories
80
Total Fat
4g
Cholesterol
25mg
Sodium
35mg
Total Carbohydrate
2g
Protein
8g
% Daily Value*

Total Fat 4g
13%
Total Carbohydrate 2g
2%
Protein 8mg
55%
Calcium 5mg
2%
Iron 0.4mg
4%
Potassium 140mg
20%
Zinc .8mg
25%
Not a significant source of trans fat, dietary fiber, total sugars, added sugars, Vitamin D, and Calcium.

Ingredients:
INGREDIENTS:FRESH HAM, WATER, CORNSTARCH.
 
How about trying baby food, I have seen a lot of members suggest it just to try to get some food into her
I tried the baby food already, she doesn't want it. She'll lick it off her face but that's it. :/

Anyone good with lab results? That FRU test (don't know WHY she ran than, I handed her Panic's chart this morning) looks outrageously high??

upload_2020-5-4_20-40-16.png

upload_2020-5-4_20-40-23.png
 

Attachments

  • Panic_MedicalRecord-1.pdf
    Panic_MedicalRecord-1.pdf
    1.8 MB · Views: 138
  • Panic_MedicalRecord-2.pdf
    Panic_MedicalRecord-2.pdf
    922 KB · Views: 146
  • upload_2020-5-4_20-40-1.png
    upload_2020-5-4_20-40-1.png
    48.4 KB · Views: 87
  • upload_2020-5-4_20-40-16.png
    upload_2020-5-4_20-40-16.png
    166.3 KB · Views: 249
  • upload_2020-5-4_20-40-23.png
    upload_2020-5-4_20-40-23.png
    102.3 KB · Views: 236
How about trying baby food, I have seen a lot of members suggest it just to try to get some food into her
Gerber 2nd Foods Baby Food, Ham and Gravy, 2.5oz Jar
Its 2% carbs



You can also try the beef with gravy
Chicken with gravy or the
Turkey and gravy

Nutrition Facts:

1 Serving per jar

Serving Size
1 jar


Amount Per Serving

Calories
80
Total Fat
4g
Cholesterol
25mg
Sodium
35mg
Total Carbohydrate
2g
Protein
8g
% Daily Value*

Total Fat 4g
13%
Total Carbohydrate 2g
2%
Protein 8mg
55%
Calcium 5mg
2%
Iron 0.4mg
4%
Potassium 140mg
20%
Zinc .8mg
25%
Not a significant source of trans fat, dietary fiber, total sugars, added sugars, Vitamin D, and Calcium.

Ingredients:

INGREDIENTS:FRESH HAM, WATER, CORNSTARCH.
We all suggested baby food, great minds :D
 
WBC and NEU are low ... pancreatitis maybe?? All she mentioned was the high FRU test which sounds like bologna according to her BG readings.

Bloody... she's acting just like she did when she first got sick before she was diagnosed, sans the abominable diarrhea.
 
Last edited:
Hi Elizabeth, did they happen to do a urinalysis? If you have those results, they would be good to share. Did the vet comment on possible reasons for the high hemoglobin and MCH and MCHC values? It may be a few reasons and perhaps nothing significant, but since I don't have direct experience, I can't comment. It might be helpful to put your numbers in the labs section of your SS, along with the normal lab reference ranges, when you get a moment. Any other tests, like potassium, phosphorus, sodium, calcium, etc? I didn't see those in your numbers above. Hope Panic feels better soon.
 
Hi Christie! No, the lab results there were all she sent me and the comment above in the email where she just commented on the fructosamine test was all she said to me. I didn't even see her when I picked up Panic. The receipt only says they did an Illness Exam, NSAID 6 panel, SDMA and Total T4, CBC Complete Blood Cell Count, Fructosamine IDEXX (why why why??), Blood Glucose check, and Cerenia Injectable. That's literally all I have from the visit. I'm a little miffed she said all the blood work looked "good" when it obviously isn't.
 
I'm sorry, I didn't mean to worry you, I trust if she said the blood work looked good, it is fine! I always used to worry about numbers out of range, so that's what I noticed, but again no direct experience there. Those numbers can be elevated with stress and dehydration I believe, and all need to be considered with other data. How is the sweet girl feeling tonight? Appy a little better now? Sending lots of appy vines and chin scritches :bighug: and maybe a wee bit of chocolate treat for you, just to make you feel better too :)
 
No, you're fine! I've been a little miffed since they sent the lab results over and I noticed all the HIGHS/LOWS. Now that you mentioned it I'm surprised they didn't do a Comprehensive Panel. I assumed they would.

Panic seems meh, she's not meatloafing but she's laying on her side sleeping (if she's feeling good she usually sticks her feet in the air to sleep). Appetite is still gone, the vet said she got her to eat but when I asked how much she said it was just a quarter can of her FF which is basically nothing. I gave her 2mg of zofran again earlier but still nothing. I've been finger feeding her chicken baby food. She's drinking a lot of water though so she's getting her fluids at least.

Aha I could sure use a smidge of chocolate right about now!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top