kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 131

Status
Not open for further replies.

chelle1978

Member Since 2013
im new here and totally confused..

i havent done a proper curve on my kitty..he missed his 11am shot.. but i was able to test him this afternoon (230pm)with a level of 8.9 or 160...tested him tonight which was aprox 2 hours before his scheduled shot and now hes at 7.3 or 131 i am so confused right now..should i lower his dose or skip this next one he's approaching normal range with no insulin.

Toma was diagnosed end of january and has been switched to purina dm dry from iams formula..im aware that dry is not the best for him and will make every attempt to switch him to wet in the near future..he is on 4u's every 12 hours..been told by other sugar cat parents that 4u's to start on a cat is high..my cat is currently on lantus
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

I don't use your insulin, but in general, we ask new diabetics not to shoot under 200 but to wait and retest without feeding to make sure the number is rising and over 200. I am sorry the board is so quiet tonight and there haven't been any Lantus users to reply.
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

I don't think you have enough data -- at least from the information that you've posted -- to shoot that low. On the Health section of FDMB, you're encouraged to skip the shot if your cat's pre-shot numbers are under 200.

When you have a chance, you may want to put your test data into a spreadsheet. That will help you to keep track of your kitty's numbers and it will allow us to give you better help.
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

Thank you for answering Sienne!!! I told her that you or Marjorie would be one the best ones to help out! :-D :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

I would skip his shot tonight. I agree that dose is likely too high.

We use a weight formula for determining starting dose. For cats following a tight regulation protocol, the starting dose is .25u/ kg of ideal body weight but your kitty would need to be on a low carb canned/raw diet. Many cats are started on 1u every 12 hours. We do increases in small amounts or you risk bypassing his good dose.
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

you guys are so great..ill test him in the morning..if i get a number under 200 should i skip that dose as well?
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

toma is 20lbs and he's 6 years old..being so new to this i didnt even think to ask the vet is starting level..does that matter in this case?
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

Is he overweight? Just as an example, if 20 lbs was his ideal weight and he was eating all low carb canned or raw food, his starting dose would be 2u every twelve hours.

As Sienne said, the spreadsheet will help us give you some thoughts.

It's best to post in the morning with his numbers. By skipping tonight, you've drained his insulin depot just a bit and he might go up so you can shoot.
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

i've decided to take the day off from work and do a proper curve..with his 11am-11pm schedule i will test before 11am and get a reading..i'll post the result asap..considering he at that point would have gone 24hrs without a shot..he's currently on 4u's twice daily...keep in mind Toma DID NOT graduate to this dose..but left vets office after his second trip with curve done with this dose ((we know how stressed our kittys can get at the vets..which of course can mess with the readings))...i'm using an Accu-Chek Aviva Nano Blood Glucose Meter..unfortunately in Canada we don't have the relion meter popular and economical amongst the American pet parents :sad:

is testing every hour needed...as toma can be unpredictable at times..and we may not be able to test every hour...can a reliable curve be done every 2 or 3 hours
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

Hi there!

I don't have much to add, but I can tell you that normally a curve is done by testing every 2 hrs, for a 12 hr cycle, if that helps you. :-D

Welcome to the board!

Good luck with your furbaby!
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

Hi,
The accu-check meter you are using is a good choice.
According to the AAHA dosing guidelines, which are based on weight (.25u per kg), your cat would need to weigh over 40 pounds for a 4u initial dose to make sense. Most cats start at 1u BID, or less.

A standard curve would mean a test every two hours over the course of one cycle.

If you see a number under 200 this morning, you should skip the shot, in my opinion.

Sorry for the short answers. I'm on my tablet, on my first cup of coffee, and getting ready for work:-) I'm usually a bit more "wordy"...

Welcome,
Carl
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

Good luck with your curve today.

If you have any questions, just ask ;-) You can add the ? button on the your first Subject Line in this thread and Edit the first Subject Line if you like.
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

The curve isn't going to tell you much about the dose since you had to skip.

For safety's sake, what you might do is start over, using the formula of:
Lean/ideal body weight in kilograms * 0.25 = starting dose

(Pounds / 2.2 = kilis)
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

Checked him again this afternoon (12pm) an hour after what would have been his 11am shot and he's at a 9.0 or 162(had to get my husband to hold him down to get a reading..all stressed)..which has gone up from the 7.3 or 131 he was at at around 945pm last night (all sleepy and relaxed)..should i skip this next shot as again he is under 200? or should i give him a reduced level from 4u to lets say 2u's...which appears to be roughly the estimate given by the weight to dose ratio?..he's 20lbs but is a bigger framed cat..vet said "slightly" overweight
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

I would skip
Carl
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

he had no shots yesterday..so skip this next one too?

he is on purina dm dry 13% carbs...and do want to switch him to even lower carb dry (evo kitten) 7% carb and to eventual wet
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

Yes, skip this shot (hopefully you already have?)

The numbers you are getting are really not bad at all. Because Lantus is a depot type insulin, it's likely that there is still some insulin "left" in his system from the higher doses he's been getting. It can take a few cycles to "clear".

The fact that he's getting such good numbers while he's eating dry food is pretty incredible. That said, this would be a terrific opportunity - while he's not getting insulin - for you to ditch the dry and convince him that low-carb canned food is what he's been waiting his entire life to discover. :-D Usually, when you switch off of dry food to a good low-carb canned menu, the numbers will come down overall. It might be that he does end up needing "some insulin" even if you switch the diet today. But it will be a lot less insulin than he's been getting.

Carl
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

Hey there

I am in Canada too... I do recommend you change to a lower carb canned wet food (under 10% calories from carbs). I feed fancy feast pates. Many people here feed them, or Friskies pates or Wellness with the grain free triangle on the label - heres a list of foods and their carbs http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf

Can you set up a spreadsheet so we can take a look at the results? heres how:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

I am not sure how much you are paying in strips but if you get them in shoppers you can get points to offset the cost. Instead though I use a bayer contour USB because I buy the strips on ebay for under $40 for 100. You can get a free bayer contour USB meter and 25 strips if you go to http://www.bayerdiabetes.ca/BDoffer and use code "BDS 11-14" And then if you register the meter you get a free USB wall charger.

Wendy
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

i tested him today at around noon and he was at 9.0 or 162 tested him about a half hour ago and he's at 8.9 or 160..i was thinking the same thing...might be residual insulin...keep in mind before diagnosis he was on iams which i read was 50% carbs..and is now on purina dm which is 13%...he's low on purina so im thinking of transitioning to evo kitten/cat which according to dr lisa falls within the guide line of what is good for a cat..seems like a good transition dry food

Dr lisa's guidelines
45% protein (or more)
45% fat (or less)
10% carbohydrate (or less)

Evo cat/kitten is
Crude Protein (Min) 50.0 %
Crude Fat (Min) 22.0 %
carbohydrate 6.64%

if i was at the start of the purina dm i would transition from that to wet but i only have less then a week left..and the only place to get it of course is at the vet..i will make every effort to switch him..and with much patience and perseverance..he will be on the wet so help us god *LOL*
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

currently im using Accu-Chek Aviva Nano...strips are pretty pricey at 50 for $48.00...we're still pretty early in the game..he was diagnosed 6 weeks ago..considering we will attempt testing him twice a day...each time before shot..atleast while we're transitioning him..and spot checking once we get steady levels..considering his initial dose was a bit high..if we start getting numbers over 200 we will start off at 1u's and move up in .5 increments (only if we get no change)..slowly..i'm thinking .5 up a week should be ok? what is the best and most safest way to increase dose?
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

That's expensive,, you might well want to do what I do (eBay see above)

We have two dosing protocols for lantus depending on your comfort level etc.

Tight regulation... Aggressive method for getting him regulated fast or into remission.http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Start low, go slow.. A slower steadier method http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Generally dose changes are based on nadir , the lowest point of the day, so you would need to do more spot checks during the day to try and catch that. However if you can get a spreadsheet set up we can help advise on when and how much to change dose. Let me know if you need spreadsheet instructions.
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

I think that may have been why the vet initially put him on 4u's

But with the low numbers we're getting im not so sure i want to give him any insulin for now..diet is our next objective :smile:
 
Re: kitty is due for another shot @ 11pmest level curr at 13

Thats a good plan - try 5-8% calories from carbs if you can and keep monitoring. Ideally you want him 50-130.

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top