Jenn & Frank Sinatra
Member Since 2019
Hi everyone--about two months ago, I adopted a diabetic cat named Frank Sinatra (formerly Squeak). He was on 8u, BID of Vetsulin when I got him. I transitioned him over to Levemir under the guidance of a vet in mid-January and he had a scary hypo event when he had his first dose of 1unit. After he recovered for a few days we decreased his dose to .5u and eventually increased it back to 1u after three weeks of mid-to-high 300 readings. He's been on 1u of Levemir, BID for about 1 month. Last night, he had his food and his insulin at 1730. We were going away for the weekend, so we dropped him and all of his food and supplies off with his groomer, who is experienced caring for diabetic cats and went on our way. She reports that Frank had a hard night away from home and that he was very vocal and anxious about his new home away from home. At 0530 this morning, she administered 1u of Levemir and gave him his food, which, when she returned to check on him, he had refused to eat. Luckily, the snow that's hitting the northeast caused us to change out travel plans and we returned to get him at 1200. The groomer said they noticed Frank started to look wobbly when he walked around 1045--but we had called her at that point to say that we were coming home, so she put him in the crate to keep a closer eye on him and waited for us to arrive. As soon as I saw him, I knew something was wrong. He was in a large crate and he was bumping into the walls and stepping in his food. I knew he was having a hypoglycemic episode. I administered a few tsps of Karo syrup, wrapped him in a blanket and rushed him immediately to our vet. They took an initial BG and it read 31. They administered more glucose orally and by IV fluids and by the time we left the vet at 1330 his BG had gone up to the mid 60s. They advised that we keep him there for warming (as his temp was low) and to continue to monitor his BG. The vet called about an hour ago to say that Frank's BG fell down to 30 again, which they did not expect to happen and that he required an increased dose of glucose. She also called to say that as Frank has started to feel better and come out of his hypoglycemic "fog" that he appears to have lost his vision. I checked with the groomer and she reports observing no seizure activity while he was in her care. Would this hypo event have caused permanent vision loss?? I feel terrible. We're going to pick him up shortly, but I just wanted to see if anyone here can offer some additional perspective. Last time he had a hypo event, my boyfriend reported that Frank exhibited symptoms of vision loss during the event, but as his BG increased, he was able to see again. I just don't know what to do--if there's anything that I should be doing in addition to monitoring him regularaly for the rest of the weekend. I feel like I failed. Thank goodness we had a change in our plans and ended up coming home early (we were supposed to be gone until Monday...). Any advice diabetic cat moms and dads?

