Kitty going real long on .3u of Prozinc.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sev

Very Active Member
Kitty has been going long on .5u so on advice from members I recently moved him to .3u.
He cam in long on the 28th @ 202 for the AMPS. I waited till +13.5 to shoot at which point he was up to 364. He spiked to 451. Then came the long drop and the slow rise.
No shot last night.
AMPS this morning was 246. I fed and shot this morning reducing to .25u. +1 is 245.

I am seriously thinking about taking up drinking in the morning. ohmygod_smile

Now Kitty has 3 more days of antibiotics from the teeth cleaning to go. I was expecting wild swings in numbers like occurred on the 23rd.
The consistent long runs have prevented me from shoot quite a few times now.
I would suspect the insulin lasting that long has a low probability.

Yesterday morning he dropped from 202 to 161 after I fed him (I tested on the 1/2 hour). Then went to 242 @ plus 13. I should have shot then but waited till 13.5 and he was @ 364 by then.
Any thoughts on the possibility that his pancreas his kicking more?
 
Re: Kitty going real long on .3u.

Just to clarify for myself before I post anything, So he dropped to 50 on .5 of the PZI so you dropped it down to .3 and now he isnt rising to a shootable number at the 12 hour mark on the .3?

What is the ideal shootable number for PZI and does it weight heavier on the Nadirs or the PS numbers?
 
Re: Kitty going real long on .3u.

It seems 246 is shootable at the lower amount. At least for today. :roll:
I eyeballed .25u this morning. However there is no tell where he will land

+3 came in @ 166.
 
Re: Kitty going real long on .3u.

Well... you could always try slightly increasing the carbohydrate level to give you a shootable number more regularly.

It could backfire. I'm doing that with Spitzer ... and now I'm getting better numbers. That also could be due to his GI issues.
 
Re: Kitty going real long on .3u.

BJM said:
Well... you could always try slightly increasing the carbohydrate level to give you a shootable number more regularly.

It could backfire. I'm doing that with Spitzer ... and now I'm getting better numbers. That also could be due to his GI issues.

He was already up to 391 @ +8
 
Re: Kitty going real long on .3u.

wow, what a spreadsheet.

i think we need a PZI user to advise you on dosing. i would say, however, that most of us do not test hourly. that's gotta be taking a toll on both of you.

can you edit your first post of this thread to ask for advice on PZI dosing? just go to the first post here and click edit, then change the subject line to include that request. another option is to post in the PZI insulin support group. i don't want to give you poor advice and i'm not as familiar with that insulin.
 
Re: Kitty going real long on .3u.

julie & punkin said:
wow, what a spreadsheet.

i think we need a PZI user to advise you on dosing. i would say, however, that most of us do not test hourly. that's gotta be taking a toll on both of you.

can you edit your first post of this thread to ask for advice on PZI dosing? just go to the first post here and click edit, then change the subject line to include that request. another option is to post in the PZI insulin support group. i don't want to give you poor advice and i'm not as familiar with that insulin.

I'm in PZI as well.
Just sharing to get some thoughts on the matter.
The PZI gang has been very helpful and supportive. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top